We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorite meals in Zurich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sternen Grill

Sternen Grill
Theaterstrasse 22 | Bellevue, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
044-251-4949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,443 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Swiss, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“one of my favorite meals in Zurich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I agree with the last guy -- on a day when the weather's nice in Zurich this is the ultimate Zuri meal! ;-)

This place used to be attached to the restaurant nearby and is now a "truck" near Globus @ Bellevue. I hope they keep it out in the truck... it's kind-of fun.

Best brat in town and their french fries are just right: golden & extra crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. The traditional thing here would be brat und burli (hard, crusty roll), mustard (senf) and beer, I guess. I skip the burli & beer as don't do gluten. The potato salad is very good.

When you're tired of paying a fortune eating out in Zurich, this is the place to go. Brat & burli = 7.50 chf. Was just there for dinner last night before a movie right across the street at the Corso.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    115
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NoVa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best brautwurst!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Located in an airstream near the Opera house, this is the best place for Brauts & frites! Filled with locals that will line up and wait for a spot to perch while eating. Counter service for food & order your beer separate. Delicious~ my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious Bratwursts at Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Arguably my favorite meal during my last trip to Europe. I had read about the place but had a little difficulty in finding the place but sure enough, the crowds led us to a "food truck" type area where people were patiently waiting for a bite of the amazing bratwursts.

And amazing they were! Thick and juicy, the sausage had a really great flavor. Also, the crusty bread was great too (you grab one yourself from the container near the cashier). And finally, the spicy mustard (with a strong horseradish kick) was one of the best I've ever tasted. Good beer too.

At Fr 7 for a bratwurst, it's really good value for Swiss standards. There is limited seating as well as small tables you can stand around.

If ever in Zurich, do not pass up the opportunity to check out Sternen Grill .. you won't be sorry!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The BEST of the WURST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Brats from Sternen Grill are TRULY "the best of the wurst." (They serve rotisserie chicken too, but I haven't gotten around to those yet...)

Choose between their signature St. Galler Bratwurst made of veal and pork, or the Servelat which is a thicker red sausage made entirely of pork. Both are fantastic and served beautifully grilled & piping hot.

Whatever you decide, make sure to grab a "Gold Burli" (a super crusty roll) from the communal bread basket, and DEFINITELY don't forget to take a cup of mustard! It's much spicier than your average dijon thanks to the addition of fresh horseradish. Seasoned Sternen-goers claim you should never need the mustard because the sausage is good enough alone... but I personally LOVE it and couldn't get enough. I even took a chance and asked a worker if they sell their mustard separately, and luckily he said yes! I purchased a tub to take home & enjoy whenever I miss Zurich (all the time).

Lines may be long during lunchtime & there is a separate line for sides & drinks, but don't be discouraged because they move fast! Grab a table or a spot near the lake & enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Zurich's Shake Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

So said our 16 year old son, which is high praise indeed! Stick to the wonderful bratwurst and crusty burli, be prepared to sneeze when you taste the essential hot mustard, don't blanche at the SF5 for a bottle of water, and enjoy a true taste of Zurich, for insiders and tourists alike.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sternen Grill also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Sternen Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sternen Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.