We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a low-cost downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Josef to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Josef
Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Hochschulen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect for a low-cost downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Instead of staying out at the airport, we decided to stay in downtown Zurich for the one night we had there before our 10:30AM flight back to the States. We were glad we did since Zurich is a great city and the Hotel St. Josef was fine for one night.

Our room was in the back and quiet even with the window open. The walls were quite thin and we were disturbed by noise until about 11pm, but after that all was quiet. The hotel staff was very helpful suggesting an evening walk and possible restaurants for us. The breakfast was varied and delicious. The proximity to the train station was very good, but be sure to take with you the other reviewer's directions for avoiding the stairs to the hotel in case you have a lot of luggage or take a cab.

The hotel had the feel of low budget, but it was immaculate and the clientele appeared to be businesspeople, not sightseers. They did have free wireless, but I could not get it to work on my Ipod Touch. They have a computer terminal for CHF5 for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    177
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
150
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Of the 4 hotels we stayed in on our trip to Switzerland, this was by far the nicest. The room (although small) was fine for our two night stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the bathroom was spotless! The shower was powerful, there was adequate shelf space for toiletries, and it had a heated towel rack. We appreciated the mini fridge in the room and the electric hot pot. It was so nice to have a cup of tea at the end of the day. The room also had a very nice lightweight fan for background noise and ventilation. Breakfast was typical of all Swiss hotels (breads, rolls, jams, jellies, lunch meats, 4 cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs)….and the coffee was excellent.
The front desk staff we exceedingly friendly and helpful. I asked for an extra pillow and had it immediately. From the hotel we went directly to the airport. She allowed us to pay part of our bill with our remaining Swiss francs.
The location is ideal. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station and the heart of the tourist areas of Zurich. It is less than ten minutes to the Central Tram stop. We rode the trams using our Swiss Pass (also good for boats). You can buy a Zurich card if you want. As another poster noted, do not follow the hotel directions to get there…..unless you like to carry luggage up many stairs! Exit the train station (follow signs for Gate one and eventually on left you will see a sign for Central). Exit (up escalator)…walk straight ahead crossing the bridge on Central but staying on the left side of the street (this reduces the number of street crossings). The rail station is located between two bridges. When you exit, you want the bridge on your right (Central). After crossing the bridge, you will see a wall…..turn right……and you will see the stairs in front of you……stay on the sidewalk instead of taking the stairs and walk uphill to the first traffic light. Then make a u-turn (counter clockwise) and walk up that ramp……the Hotel is right there. I don’t know why they don’t post this on their website.
We asked for a room in back and it was very quiet. The internet access was superb! I understand this is better in the main building than in the second building. I would return to the St. Josef if I ever returned to Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights with our 6 year old and my husband's Mom, who is 66 years old. We loved the proximity of the hotel to all the major attractions in Zurich.
I particularly appreciated the fresh smelling linen on the beds, great mattresses, and the cleanliness of the bathroom. This is really what one needs when travelling - a clean room and bathroom close to all the main attractions.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly ,and Katarina needs a special mention as she went out of her way to suggest excursions for us, and we really appreciated and enjoyed her recommendations!! Thanks Katarina.
...And the tram (no 10) to the airport from Central Station allows one to relax while seeing other areas outside of the main city centre. It is so easy to get the luggage on the tram - the levels are the same allowing you to pull the luggage effortlessly onto the tram. .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is located within 10 minutes walk of the main train station and 5 minutes of the Central tram stop. To get to the hotel if you have rolling luggage, walk along Seilergraben until you reach the first traffic light. There you will find a ramp leading up to Hirschengraben where you can roll your luggage. Otherwise you can take the steps near Central tram stop.
The hotel occupies two buildings, a main building where the reception and restaurant is located, and another building across a courtyard. Our room was large, clean, with modern furnishings and faced the street. There is no air conditioning so when sleeping with open windows, the traffic is loud and non-stop.
Free wi-fi internet access is available in the room. Breakfast is served in an airy, bright room and consists of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, juices, coffee, tea, cereals. There is also a restaurant on-site but we never tried it.
To get to the airport, tram #10 (direction Flughafen) at Central tram stop can whisk you there in half an hour (saves the hassle of struggling with your luggage on and off trains). Overall the hotel provides good value and was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We had 2 doubles and a triple for a night. All the rooms were clean and comfortable and of good size. We also liked the closeness to the old, pedestrian part of town with its nice ambiance, stores and restaurants, and to ETH. It's also within a reasonable walking distance to Bahnhofstrasse and the train station. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was very nice with a big buffet offering good choice. Great value hotel. Will definitely return when we go back to Zurich

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Though this was a bit above our price range, after seeing what else was available in Zurich, we figured we'd have to pay a bit more to get a clean and comfortable room. We were glad we did. The room is very spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was clean with a good shower, and they offered a good breakfast buffet as well as wireless (albeit slow). I liked the location because it was close to the medieval section of town where all the touristy bars and restaurants are, but it was in the quiet section of town near the university. It's a 10-15 min walk from the train station, though you have to go up a hill on the way from the train station to the hotel. We never ate in the restaurant for any meal besides breakfast, but it looked nice enough.

Basically, if you're looking for a hotel that won't make you feel like a backpacker but is in a decent price range, this is it. Given it's higher price than comparable hotels we stayed at in other cities, I do wish they included some amenities like hair dryers, etc. but overall a good place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Despite booking many months in advance and asking for a quiet room away from restaurant or traffic noise, I was given a room in the annexe which overlooked a busy street with tram and traffic noise which continued all night. I requested an extra pillow and when it hadn't arrived 2 hours later and I was ready to go to bed, I had to go to the next door building to reception and fetch it myself. There was no apology. The room was clean but basic. The breakfast spread was excellent and included in the room price, but the surly waitperson spoiled the atmosphere. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the excellent location 5 minutes walk from the train station and in the heart of Zurich. All up, a 2 star rather than a 3 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#23 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Josef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.