We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Josef to your Saves list
Hotel St. Josef
Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Hochschulen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent two nights in between Christmas and New Years. The hotel is an easy 15 min walk with luggage from the train station and a 5 to 10 minute walk to downtown Zurich. The room was quiet and comfortable. A typical European breakfast was included and good. Free Wifi as well. Would return the next time in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    196
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
79
166
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Hotel St Josef during 20hr (overnight) layover from Malaga to NYC. After being shocked by the $64 cab ride (to go 7-10 minutes, that's double NYC prices), we were really happy with the hotel. It's in a great location, right in the heart of the Old City, shopping, restaurants and a 10 min walk down the river to Lake Zurich. It's in a picturesque area, the quaint side streets are fabulous to wander in the evening. We had delicious hot cherry wine with rum and candied almonds while strolling along the river. The hotel itself is immaculate (as is ALL of Zurich), everything is very modern and the beds were the most comfortable I've slept in in a hotel. We forgot an adapter to charge out phones and iPad (packed in checked luggage), and the hotel had extras to lend us. The also have a shuttle to the airport, $35 for 2ppl. Since we had to leave at 7am and breakfast didn't start until 7:30, they made us a brown-bag lunch (cheese sandwiches, fruit, drinks) to take with us (breakfast was included with our room price). I would highly recommend this hotel! They go that "extra-step" that is so rare to find anymore (and without us having to ask!!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hotel St Josef is in an excellent location in the heart of the city. It is only a 10 minute walk from the main train station. While it is just off a main road through the city, it's position, set back from the road means the rooms are quiet.

The rooms were modern and clean. We visited in winter, when the temperatures were freezing outside, yet the indoors at the hotel the rooms were very warm and comfortable. We slept well and heard no noise from our neighbours or outside.

The breakfast was included in our room rate. While I have seen a more generous selection of produce on hotel buffets in the past, there was a good selection of continental food available (fresh meat, bread, cheese, eggs, cereals, yoghurts, fruit etc).

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Chosen by us for location it was pleasant after a transatlantic trip with no sleep to find the staff had contacted our friends in Zurich to arrange a dinner meeting. The next day after storing our bags for us as we toured the city, they pleasantly suggested a lift by their personal car to the train station. Great service! We were able to walk to the Train station with little effort. Very convenient.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the Old Towne, river, train station and trams.
It is well maintained, clean and quiet.
Breakfast was sufficient.
Being in Switzerland, price was high, which is the norm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We only stayed here for one night passing through Zurich n November but were very happy with the Hotel.

It is a very easy 5 minute walk form the main train station and was also easy to get a tram to the Airport at the end.

A 5 minute walk also takes you into the old town and the tourist parts of Zurich.

The room was very clean and large enough the beds comfortable. FREE Wi- Fi was a bonus that was great and was not limited to numbers of devices.

Checking in and out was very friendly and the staff very helpful. My Partner was ill on our departure day and they let us stay on in the room for an extra hour at no charge and were very kind.

The breakfast was only continental which was a shame but was still of god quality.

We can be quite fussy but really you cannot go wrong staying here - highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Close to main train station. Within walking distance to most everything. Helpful staff. Clean. Great price for Zurich. Big room. Our room, on the 3rd floor, was facing the Main Street, except for busses driving by, it was pretty quiet in October. We borrowed a couple of complimentary umbrellas one day when it rained. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Josef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.