We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Josef to your Saves list
Hotel St. Josef
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Hochschulen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We will come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have spent a week end at St Josef hotel and we were very satisfied

The +
Not expensive for an hotel close to the center
Rooms are fine and clean
breakfast is good

The -
Our room was a bit cold
We have to walk 5 minutes to find a tram's stop
Stairs to climb to reach the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    208
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
87
173
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

It's not easy to find a nice hotel, close to everything in Zurich, for less than the cost of a small city. The Hotel St Josef ticks all the boxes. The location is in the old city, which is beautiful and it is less than 10 mins walk (up a steep hill) from the main railway station. We stayed in the building next door and this was quiet, clean and reasonably spacious for a European hotel room. The staff were helpful and the breakfast offered plenty of choice. We went out one day, leaving an iPad to charge, forgetting that the room key activates the electricity. Cleaning staff noticed and put a card in when they did our room, meaning it was fully charged when we got back. It's the small touches like this which make us happy to return to a place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located. Close to fine bars, restaurants and the entertainment district, the train station, the university, the lake and a host of tourist sites. The rooms are small, clean and tidy with beds close to each other. But at the price and such a great location, these are small discomforts to write about.

The receptionist was most friendly and helpful. Gave us a map with marking for a quick sight-see of the near by atractions.

There is a wonderful restaurant in the hotel, Time out. Breakfast is part of the room plan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

nice hotel and extremely convenient location. The price is very reasonable for Zurich. The bed was comfortable and the room and the bathroom newly renovated and functional. The breakfast served in a cozy hall and of food quality.

My single room was relatively small but still comfortable. The only negative aspect the lack of a wardrobe. Just 4 hangers in plain sight in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at around 12 at the hotel, by car.
I read that they had a parking for 15 chf a day, which to me was paramount since parking in zurich is ridicolously expensive. When we get there, we are greeted by a very rude man, who claims that they are full right now (the parking) and that I should simply go "finding a parking in the city" (I am quoting him). I tell him no, I wiill not do that, and he proceeds to mention that this is not his problem. I ask him to call the manager, because we wouldnt stay if the hotel did not give us the parking slot. He said that he will not call the manager, nor his colleague because he is supposedly very busy and away. After that, he literally leaves us in the middle of the street with our luggages. At that point I walk in, and find a concierge (a girl) and she is much kinder. She tells me that they will have parking after 5 pm, because they were having construction vehicles. She instructs me to park the car at a nearby garage for just a few hours. After that, we will put in their spot.
She was very kind and curteous.
After that, our stay got better. Once the car was parked, I could finally enjoy the time there.
I must say that everyone has been kind to us except the first man.
The rooms are fairly decent and new, although very very small (especially if you are accustomed to american standards). MY fiancee and I were very tight in the room and almost had no space for th luggages.
OVerall, a decent hotel, nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel had the best value of any hotel I've stayed in the world! It is extremely cheap compared to other hotels in the vicinity. It's located near the metro and many sights. Despite it being cheap, all the amenities were in place and most of all...it was clean! The breakfast that was offered was very "Swiss" food which was good. The only bad thing about this hotel was that our room had a smell. All in all, this is a good hotel for it's value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

a small and very quiet hotel in downtown Zurich...close to the river, the train station, the university, the museum...close to everything and yet super quiet. Zurich is our hub for europe travel and the St Josef is our base in Zurich. The staff is always helpful and attentive, and the breakfast buffet is superlative. Their in-house restaurant is quite good.
We always reserve the "double room with shower on the floor"...these rooms are on the top floor with mansard roof lines, unbelievably quiet due to thick walls and double-pane windows. I love a good night's sleep and the St Josef always delivers.
Oh, did I mention...the St Josef is half the cost of most other rooms in Zurich! Give it a try...you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: choose a top floor mansard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#28 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming hotel you will find everything you wish for your holiday or business stay. Our house is located close to the main station of Zurich , only a few steps from the Old Town and the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Theater, cinema, opera house, museums , ETH and University are within easy walking distance . A short walk takes you to the beautiful lake promenade of Zurich . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Josef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.