We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #72 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very clean and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel is just outside of downtown and has a tram line running directly in front of it.There are 2 wings one in the main building and the other one behind.The rooms in the main building facing the road can be a bit noisy as the trams start running at 6am and ends at midnight so one will be able to hear it every few mins.
Checkin was quick efficient and polite.Lobby was pretty shabby and in need of a makeover.Off to one side is the restaurant and opposite the checkin counter is the lobby bar.
My room was small with a queen size bed,work desk and no actual proper closet.Just an open hanger area.Not much place to put luggage.Minibar wasnt cold as the drinks inside were warm.
Bed was comfortable though and the bedsheets very very clean.I could smell the crispness.3 pillows were really flat and soft and even piling all 3 up it still wasnt high enough to support my neck.There was a small square pillow which had a very strong smell of goose or duck feathers which i did not like at all.
Aircon worked pretty well...but if you like a warmer room..and set the temp above 27degrees..the aircon just turns off and it gets quite stuffy.
Toilet was of average size and again very clean.Shower had good pressure and temperature control worked well.Their own house brand toiletries was supplied.
Room was facing behind towards a new apartment building.Very quiet except for the banging of doors by the housekeeping in the morning and early afternoons.As the walls were pretty thin and the doors to the rooms very close to each other...i could hear my neighbour opening/closing his door and using the security chain.A bit unnerving but after awhile just got used to it.
The housekeeping did overlook replacing an already opened and 1/3 consumed bottle of complimentary mineral water by the former occupant.
Not a fantastic hotel but certainly not a bad one either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed feedback and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Zurich ! Your constructive comments have been forwarded to our team and responsible managers and actions have been taken promptly to improve our housekeeping service. Kindly let us apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
We would like to ensure you that our windows are sound proof. We also offer a wide scale of pillows and provide them upon request.
Knowing that you have many alternatives when lodging in Zurich, we hope that you will consider our hotel again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    380
    180
    64
    40
See reviews for
95
252
88
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I used this hotel when I travelled to Zurich for business. I found it nice, clean, with reasonably wide rooms. Personnel is friendly, and in general the hotel was at the level you expect from the CP chain. It is not in the center, but just in front of the hotel you can take the tram #2, that brings you in the center in a few minutes (and you avoid the trouble of car parking in the center). Inside the hotel at floor -1 there are a very nice fitness (professional level) and a small pool. There are two internal restaurants: one is where you have breakfast in the morning, and it has good food for a pretty reasonable price. The other one "Les relais des arts" is a more formal restaurant, nicer look, more expensive, and also good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for staying at our hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your positive impressions. Kindly let us mention that our fitness and wellness area is undergoing complete renovation until the end of 2013. During the works we offer a fitness room with several machines, daylight, flat screen tvs, etc. We are looking forward to providing extended fitness and wellness services of highest quality soon. The access for hotel guests will be complimentary as well.
We hope to welcome you in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Hotel was updated and the staff was excellent. A/C was not working well and was difficult to cool room down. Windows opened and allowed a cool breeze in. Very average setup but good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich recently and publishing your review. We have forwarded your comment to the responsible manager and actions have been taken promptly to investigate the problem with the air condition. Kindly let us apologize for the inconvenience. We are sorry to read that you regard the setup only as average. By offering newly renovated rooms and many complimentary services, we are keen to surpass the expectations of our guests.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is a bit away from downtown Zürich, but streetcars are within easy access and get you to the main railway station within some 15 minutes.
Check-in was swift, with a nice touch: a glass of prosecco as a welcome gift.
My room was rather small and, especially the bathroom was really cramped and the wash basin and tap are not all that ergonomically placed. Still, what you need is there, even free internet, if you can stand the really slow connection. Too bad the coffeemaking facility is instant only.
Zürich is ill-famed for its really small and very expensive hotel rooms and this was no exception: I paid around CHF 250 a night. Then again, a collegue paying around CHF 200 in the downtown area had no airco and when outside temps are around 95F this might be something worth considering.
Dining in the hotel restaurant is not cheap, either: a starter, a main course, a dessert and some beer easily adds up to CHF 80. Then again, there’s a really nice Korean restaurant almost next door that is reasonably priced.
Breakfast, too, is fairly expensive (CHF29) but, again, that is normal in Zürich since the Mercure across from this hotel charges CHF 27, and that is definitely a more modest hotel.
Sound insulation is perfect and also the airco is very quiet.
The bar is inviting, with a very friendly staff. Outside seating is available, both for drinks and dining.
Overall this is to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay. Your kind comments are much appreciated. Kindly let us mention that the complimentary internet access is limited to 256 kb/s and we offer free of charge high speed internet in our lobby and the business corner.
Since July 1, 2013 all elite members of the IHG Rewards Club receive complimentary high speed internet (both wired and wireless) in all hotel areas.
We also would like to add that our Deluxe rooms and Junior suites are equipped with a Lavazza coffee machine. (Members of our loyalty programm enjoy complimentary room upgrades as well. )
It would be a great pleasure for us to be your host during your next stay in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The moment I checked in, I realized the fridge is not working, next, the water boiler not only is dirty and rusty, it stinks. I called housekeeping for a change of water boiler, I waited for more than half n hour. Then I called again, it was on the way.. The second boiler came, it was also stinky and rusty! I've attached the 'better' water boiler's picture. Next I've got to wait for the technician to repair the fridge.. Waited until I fell asleep..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We are sorry to read your negative feedback. Our main goal is to provide an outstanding service and we apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
Based on your feedback, prompt actions have been taken to double check the room equipments including the water boilers.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Let's face it: Zurich is a pricy place. And this hotel is no exception. But you get a really nice hotel room for your money. I have stayed in other hotels in Zurich that cost the same or were even a bit more expensive but the Crowne Plaza was the place where I felt that I got the best experience for my money.

The best thing about this place is that it is very close to the the train/bus station "Albisriederplatz". It only takes 2 minutes to get the the station and from there you can catch several bus and tram lines to the city (takes only 10 minutes to get there)

The other positive thing about the location is the grocery store "Migros" right next to the hotel building - very convenient since I prefer to buy water, fruits and snacks etc. else where!

The hotel room is clean and the service is good! They do charge you for a WiFi account though (10 CHF for 24hours). I generally think that WiFi should be complimentary for guests. They do offer a free internet option but that is of no use!!! C'mon people! - it doesn't cost you that much and it would make your guests so much happier. I don't expect a broadband super-highspeed internet connection for free but a decent connection that allows you to check you emails and look up some stuff online.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to read about your positive impressions and appreciate that you took your precious time to share them with other travelers. Kindly let us mention that high speed internet access (both wired and WiFi) will be complimentary for all Elite members of the IHG Rewards Club as of July 1, 2013. During 2014, this service will be also offered free of charge to all IHG Rewards Club members.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here three nights and enjoyed staying at a relatively spacious room. Nice and clean, pretty modern and a good selection of coffee/tee sweets available in the room.
Not a lot of international TV channels except CNN on the TV.
There's free wifi connectivity in the rooms, but the "free edition" is only suitable for emails and surfing....if you want to use it for IP telephony or similar, you will have to pay for a higher bandwidth.
I would have preferred a place to iron your shirts in the room, but this was not available.

They claim the breakfast buffet is "american", not really sure what they mean by that, but the buffet is nice and like any other breakfast arrangement you would expect in this pricerange.

Easy access to public transportation within walking-distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your friendly review, the constructive comments and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.
Concerning the tv channels, we would like to mention that we already offer 68 international tv channels (6 in English) but we take an effort to extend our offer soon.
Upon request, our team is happy to bring an ironing board to the guest rooms.
Kindly let us inform you that American breakfast means a lavish buffet breakfast offering both cold and warm dishes like freshly prepared scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, sweet pancakes additional to a wide variety of bakery products, Swiss cheese, salads, flakes, milk products, etc.
We would be delighted to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Zürich in the future again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Address: 420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Zurich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.