We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice, and at reasonable distance from the center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com IHG
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #70 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Monza, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, nice, and at reasonable distance from the center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I used this hotel when I travelled to Zurich for business. I found it nice, clean, with reasonably wide rooms. Personnel is friendly, and in general the hotel was at the level you expect from the CP chain. It is not in the center, but just in front of the hotel you can take the tram #2, that brings you in the center in a few minutes (and you avoid the trouble of car parking in the center). Inside the hotel at floor -1 there are a very nice fitness (professional level) and a small pool. There are two internal restaurants: one is where you have breakfast in the morning, and it has good food for a pretty reasonable price. The other one "Les relais des arts" is a more formal restaurant, nicer look, more expensive, and also good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for staying at our hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your positive impressions. Kindly let us mention that our fitness and wellness area is undergoing complete renovation until the end of 2013. During the works we offer a fitness room with several machines, daylight, flat screen tvs, etc. We are looking forward to providing extended fitness and wellness services of highest quality soon. The access for hotel guests will be complimentary as well.
We hope to welcome you in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    302
    143
    52
    35
See reviews for
79
189
75
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Hotel was updated and the staff was excellent. A/C was not working well and was difficult to cool room down. Windows opened and allowed a cool breeze in. Very average setup but good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich recently and publishing your review. We have forwarded your comment to the responsible manager and actions have been taken promptly to investigate the problem with the air condition. Kindly let us apologize for the inconvenience. We are sorry to read that you regard the setup only as average. By offering newly renovated rooms and many complimentary services, we are keen to surpass the expectations of our guests.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is a bit away from downtown Zürich, but streetcars are within easy access and get you to the main railway station within some 15 minutes.
Check-in was swift, with a nice touch: a glass of prosecco as a welcome gift.
My room was rather small and, especially the bathroom was really cramped and the wash basin and tap are not all that ergonomically placed. Still, what you need is there, even free internet, if you can stand the really slow connection. Too bad the coffeemaking facility is instant only.
Zürich is ill-famed for its really small and very expensive hotel rooms and this was no exception: I paid around CHF 250 a night. Then again, a collegue paying around CHF 200 in the downtown area had no airco and when outside temps are around 95F this might be something worth considering.
Dining in the hotel restaurant is not cheap, either: a starter, a main course, a dessert and some beer easily adds up to CHF 80. Then again, there’s a really nice Korean restaurant almost next door that is reasonably priced.
Breakfast, too, is fairly expensive (CHF29) but, again, that is normal in Zürich since the Mercure across from this hotel charges CHF 27, and that is definitely a more modest hotel.
Sound insulation is perfect and also the airco is very quiet.
The bar is inviting, with a very friendly staff. Outside seating is available, both for drinks and dining.
Overall this is to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay. Your kind comments are much appreciated. Kindly let us mention that the complimentary internet access is limited to 256 kb/s and we offer free of charge high speed internet in our lobby and the business corner.
Since July 1, 2013 all elite members of the IHG Rewards Club receive complimentary high speed internet (both wired and wireless) in all hotel areas.
We also would like to add that our Deluxe rooms and Junior suites are equipped with a Lavazza coffee machine. (Members of our loyalty programm enjoy complimentary room upgrades as well. )
It would be a great pleasure for us to be your host during your next stay in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The moment I checked in, I realized the fridge is not working, next, the water boiler not only is dirty and rusty, it stinks. I called housekeeping for a change of water boiler, I waited for more than half n hour. Then I called again, it was on the way.. The second boiler came, it was also stinky and rusty! I've attached the 'better' water boiler's picture. Next I've got to wait for the technician to repair the fridge.. Waited until I fell asleep..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We are sorry to read your negative feedback. Our main goal is to provide an outstanding service and we apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
Based on your feedback, prompt actions have been taken to double check the room equipments including the water boilers.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Let's face it: Zurich is a pricy place. And this hotel is no exception. But you get a really nice hotel room for your money. I have stayed in other hotels in Zurich that cost the same or were even a bit more expensive but the Crowne Plaza was the place where I felt that I got the best experience for my money.

The best thing about this place is that it is very close to the the train/bus station "Albisriederplatz". It only takes 2 minutes to get the the station and from there you can catch several bus and tram lines to the city (takes only 10 minutes to get there)

The other positive thing about the location is the grocery store "Migros" right next to the hotel building - very convenient since I prefer to buy water, fruits and snacks etc. else where!

The hotel room is clean and the service is good! They do charge you for a WiFi account though (10 CHF for 24hours). I generally think that WiFi should be complimentary for guests. They do offer a free internet option but that is of no use!!! C'mon people! - it doesn't cost you that much and it would make your guests so much happier. I don't expect a broadband super-highspeed internet connection for free but a decent connection that allows you to check you emails and look up some stuff online.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to read about your positive impressions and appreciate that you took your precious time to share them with other travelers. Kindly let us mention that high speed internet access (both wired and WiFi) will be complimentary for all Elite members of the IHG Rewards Club as of July 1, 2013. During 2014, this service will be also offered free of charge to all IHG Rewards Club members.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here three nights and enjoyed staying at a relatively spacious room. Nice and clean, pretty modern and a good selection of coffee/tee sweets available in the room.
Not a lot of international TV channels except CNN on the TV.
There's free wifi connectivity in the rooms, but the "free edition" is only suitable for emails and surfing....if you want to use it for IP telephony or similar, you will have to pay for a higher bandwidth.
I would have preferred a place to iron your shirts in the room, but this was not available.

They claim the breakfast buffet is "american", not really sure what they mean by that, but the buffet is nice and like any other breakfast arrangement you would expect in this pricerange.

Easy access to public transportation within walking-distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your friendly review, the constructive comments and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.
Concerning the tv channels, we would like to mention that we already offer 68 international tv channels (6 in English) but we take an effort to extend our offer soon.
Upon request, our team is happy to bring an ironing board to the guest rooms.
Kindly let us inform you that American breakfast means a lavish buffet breakfast offering both cold and warm dishes like freshly prepared scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, sweet pancakes additional to a wide variety of bakery products, Swiss cheese, salads, flakes, milk products, etc.
We would be delighted to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Zürich in the future again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Everything in the hotel is good - location (near a tram station), proximity to eateries (good), room quality (good), staff (friendly) - but the bathrooms might be a bit small.
The swimming pool was under construction at the time, so no idea about that.
The staff was quite good - so much so that they themselves offered us the umbrellas when we were going out and they knew that rains were predicted for the day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich and for publishing your kind review. We very much appreciate your compliments and are happy to forward them to our team.
Kindly let us mention that our fitness & wellness area is expected to reopen at the end of 2013 after complete renovation. During the works, we offer a complimentary fitness room providing several training machines, natural daylight, flat screen tvs, towels and water.
It would be a great pleasure to be your host again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich
Address: 420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#36 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel to your Saves list