We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercon high standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Jakarta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
4,304 helpful votes 4,304 helpful votes
“Intercon high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hello,

Stayed at Crowne Plaza, Zurich for 4 days in the end of February 2012 and was pleased to find it actually much better than we expected. This is my second experience with this property.

1/ Rooms are spacious enough ( for Europe), well equipped ( LCD TV, tea/ coffee making facility, mini bar), nicely maintained and pleasantly decorated. We booked twin beds, high floor, non-smoking, and they met all our requirements without questioning. Frankly speaking the hotel has no harbour view at all - you have a choice between street view + tram line or backside yard. But it`s hardly a problem at all or nuisance that can influence or disrupt your stay...

2/ Hotel is renovated 2 years ago and still has fresh/ clean (one of the major advantages on my esteem) look in all public area and guest rooms. Nicely furnished, well maintained. Room service is efficient and unseen in the same time. Bathroom is nice too, new modern and clean with full number of bath amenities - body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, bath robes, slippers and shower cap.

3/ Hotel stuff is polite, check-in/check-out - swift and friendly. Our luggage was lost by the airline, the reception staff took all the pains with contacting the airline and collected our bags when they were delivered in the next day. The help was greatly appreciated by all members of my traveling group.

4/ Gym is OK and open 24/ 7 for the staying guests. At the time of my visit their swimming pool was closed for renovation with promised reopening in the second half of 2013. All info about this inconvenience was available on the hotel official page in advance,so it was no surprise.
The only thing that the gym definitely lacks is scales...

5/ Wifi and LAN internet is free at the speed of 256 Mb, the high speed is also available but for extra charge. City tax - 5 CHF/ room/ day will be added to your total bill.

6/ One complimentary bottle of water is replenished daily. Tea bags and coffee sachets are also changed on daily basis. They also have pillow menu and sleeping solutions kit - a pillow spay and roll-on for the wrist. Pillow spray indeed WORKED wonderfully.
Turn down service is available on request.

7/ If you have any questions , i`ll answer gladly.............

8/ As mentioned above this is my second stay at the property... Will i stay there again???? DEFINITELY and without doubt.



regards


Schonefeld

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same quality..........chose a family room if you travel with kids, extra bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking your precious time to publish your detailed review about the Crowne Plaza Zürich. We are delighted to read about your positive experience and impressions and are already looking forward to being your host again. Kindly let us ensure you that we will do our utmost to provide you with a first class service.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    327
    158
    57
    36
See reviews for
86
215
80
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed two nights on this hotel and had booked a family room, which looked quite spacious in the photos on the hotel website. However, the room we got was very small and there was barely space to walk around the beds. The pillows were awful and gave no support at all. There were only a couple of hangers for our coats, but no closet or drawers so we could not unpack the suitcases. Luckily we were not staying longer and did not spend much time awake in the room. The breakfast was very good with plenty alternatives to select from, but we had to pay a higher price to have it included to the room. It was practical to have the parking garage under the hotel, but parking was quite expensive.

Staff was friendly and helpful and it was convenient that we could buy the tram tickets for adults at the reception. However, they did not have children's tickets so that we needed to buy at the tram stop, which was only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We are sorry to read about your negative impressions and would like to ensure you that we provide a wide scale of bedding options. Kindly let us mention that the family rooms in our garden wing offer more space. It would be a pleasure for us to host you in one of these rooms next time.
Parking in our garage costs CHF 27.00 / 24 hours on working days and CHF 15.00 / 24 hours on weekends.
Your constructive comments regarding children’s tickets for the public transportation have been forwarded to our responsible manager. Also your kind compliments have been passed on to our team. Thank you again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located a little away from the centre and near the business districts. Room was nicely furnished - althougn not particularly large. Good facilities - coffee/shampoos/Hairdryer etc etc and everything was in good condition. One downside for me was the pillows which were large/square and more show than comfort. Overall good business stay hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zürich as well as for taking your precious time to publish your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated. Kindly let us ensure you that we offer a wide range of pillows. If you mark your preference in your reservation we will be pleased to prepare your bedding according to your needs next time.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel offers value for your money for Zurich standards. The room was gorgeous. The shower was to die for, after three weeks of backpacking. The location was average, about 8 minute walk to main Tram lines. The staff were friendly and helpful. Worth a stay for sure, for travellers who are not opposed to paying a little extra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review as well as for choosing the Crowne Plaza Zürich for your recent stay. We are very happy to read about your positive impressions and your compliments regarding your room, the shower and our team.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you in the future again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

nice room, nice breakfast. The location is a bit off if you are a tourist but if you are on a business trip with work in that area it is nice. The East European feeling is high with all concierge and taxi drivers having a nexus. Claimed the place I had to go was not reachable on foot or by public transportation and had to take a taxi. All baloney! That was the only bad feeling in an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich recently. Kindly let us mention that our concierge team is happy to help you with arranging your visits in the city any time – the public transportation offers many alternatives and connects all parts of Zurich with our hotel.
We would be very happy to be your host again.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meltham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located on Badenerstrasse - a fair way out of the centre on one of the longest roads in Zurich but don't let that put you off. Primarily pitched at the business user due to it's location although seems very popular with airline cabin crew as well. Walking distance from two tramstops on the number 2 tram route so very handy for the city and therefore worth considering for tourists.

Great bar, great breakfast and the real gem is the restaurant. Much better than you might expect in a hotel of this type - great food and reasonable value. Staff are really nice and very helpful.

Rooms can be on the small side but they tend to be in Zurich so try and get an upgrade to one of the larger rooms if possible.

Only two gripes - really shouldn't be charging for WiFi in this day and age - come on guys it's 2013! and what is it with Swiss pillows?? How about breaking from Swiss tradition and offering a 'pillows from around the world' service to offer a bit of support for the old head.

Room Tip: Rooms on the small side so choose or try for an upgrade to a larger one if spending any time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review and the constructive comments.
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Zürich!
Kindly let us mention that we offer complimentary WiFi Internet up to 256 KB in all guest rooms and public areas of our hotel. Unlimited connection is available against a small fee.
Regarding the pillows, we would like to ensure you that we offer a wide range of bedding and are happy to provide you with different pillows upon request any time.
Our returning guests, when participating in our Priority Club program, receive complimentary room upgrade upon availability.
Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Pros:
1. Nice spacious room and toilet facilities
2. Decent Gym Facilities
3. Access to public transport , Taxi and Restaurants.
4. Nice Bar and Food with Room Service
5. You can store luggage if you returning the next week

Cons:
1. The internet is not fast enough
2. The pillows provided are very soft
3. No breakfast included in the room rate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Zürich as well as for publishing your feedback. We are pleased to read your comments and would like to ensure you that we will do our utmost to make your stay a pleasant one again.

Kindly let us inform you that we offer a wide range of pillows and are happy to provide you with different bedding upon request. Concerning the internet, let us mention, that the connection with a speed of 256 KB is complimentary. Unlimited internet access is available in your room against a fee of CHF 09.95 / 24 h / gadget, as well as in our internet corner in the lobby.


Best regards
Serena Dadon
Resident Manager in charge of Sales and Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Address: 420 Badenerstrasse, Zurich 8040, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Zurich
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.