We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Zurich City-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Zurich City-West to your Saves list
Novotel Zurich City-West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland (Escher Wyss)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #55 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Modern and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Far from the centre, this hotel has a large parking, is in the quiet area and there is a large square in front of it, with several good restaurants on it (pricey!). The pool is very good. Breakfast area is great, like a zen garden, and the food is good. Good beds, nice rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were all delighted to read your positive comments regarding the indoor pool, our "zen garden" and the "great breakfast area". With sunny weather, we are glad to offer a relaxing time in our quiet terrace and garden, and still in the heart of trendy City-West!
We all look forward to welcoming you warmly very soon.
Arnaud Tourin - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    317
    103
    37
    12
See reviews for
231
124
46
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while with my wife for my honeymoon in switzerland, a good stay conveniently placed next to tram stop & a grand buffet brekky inclusive, was a good experience. Hotel staff were nice. Highly Recommended for a stay while in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
I congratulate first for your wedding, and was very happy to read you had a nice honeymoon in Zurich. We are proud you have chosen our Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again for your first wedding anniversary!
Best regards,
Arnaud Tourin - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kembs, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Honestly I went for the 3rd time to that hotel for a short stay and it is good business hotel. Location is good for a short business trip as it is at the entrance of the city and quite accessible but nothing really special.

But I wanted to write this report to mention the nice lkady who did my check-out in the morning. First of all it was a quite easy and efficient quick process but she was still able to give it a personal touch, very friendly and smiling which is a quite nice start into the day.

I forgot to check her name but the only thing which I could say to her management is that on my bill the cashier code was 2731BIALK 2390

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Contemporary looking lobby ( PlayStation console!) , good spacious rooms, convenient access via Tram (line 14) n enthusiastic helpful staff ( some helpful tips on cab fares etc). hotel also sells a daily local transportation pass. Stayed here about a month back. Drawbacks - surrounding area is mundane looking n no markets in walking distance. we didn't have any meals here except a pasta for my daughter. she Loved it! Overall, I would stay here again esp for business visits.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

hotel location was gud tram jst opp to hotel gate, but rooms r very small room service was not good, biggest complaint i have is from lady at reception she was very rude to the kids,
u r in hospitality business n v do not expect such a behaviour, the way she speaks is not acceptable to anybody,
if u r not polite to the guests u r failed in ur job, very disapponting, i travelled so much in europe but such experience i got frm here only,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to read this misunderstanding with one of our staff, and the way you felt treated. I can assure you that we do our best with a lot of attitudes care, in order to avoid such isolated incident. I remain at your disposal and hope you will give us a second chance to show how important is the customer service in our daily work.
Warmest regards,
Arnaud Tourin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Font desk understaffed and front desk staff inefficient (love to talk for hours, irrespective of number of people waiting). Rooms ok, breakfast average: coffee bad (and machine breaking down several time a day), cheese on a broken plate, low quality ham, staff taking everything away at 10:00AM sharp even in August. 3 stars may be, but not 4 stars. As I said ok only of using the option to have kids stay for free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comment about our children policy, and I deeply regret your impression about the staff being too busy at certain time of the day. Regarding the breakfast, we always inform our clients that they can have access to the buffet before cleaning away, and do not hesitate to ask for more time as we remain very flexible.
Looking forward to welcoming warmly your family during your next stay in Zurich,
Best regards,
Arnaud Tourin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Firstly the good points. Nice new modern decor and it's spotlessly clean from lobby to lifts to rooms and all public areas. Also, on arrival it looks promising. The bed in the room is comfortable and sleep quality is fine and rooms are quiet. The wifi in the rooms is good and it's free. The food quality varied quite a bit from a good lunch to an average breakfast. Also I arrived early from a transatlantic flight and badly needed an early check-in and it was accommodated without fuss.

So to the not-so-good points. The room, which is fairly compact, is furnished very basically for a four star hotel. It's all very IKEA-ish and while that appeals to the eye of many travellers, I just found it a bit 'two-star'.

There were no drawers in my room and just a small narrow wardrobe for hanging with just six hangers. Consequently, I had to store some clothes on the floor.

The staff are efficient enough but are not warm or welcoming and certainly not very personable. It's all quite clinical, but that may be the norm in Switzerland.

The location is in a recently developed area with some nice-looking restaurants within easy walking distance. The No 4 tram is 200 metres walk away and it's fifteen minutes into town.

I stayed for six nights, and it was OK. But that's it. And for the money, it felt overpriced, although everything in Zurich is expensive. My advice for travelling around the city is to take ten minutes and do some research on the brilliant tram system, because taxi costs will empty your purse or wallet, very quickly.

Zurich itself as a city was a very pleasant surprise and if it wasn't so expensive, I would include it in a city break but I would not pay the price for a room in this Novotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnaud T, Manager at Novotel Zurich City-West, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
I read your complete report with a lot of attention. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the location, sleep quality and cleanliness. I will share your others comments with my Team to strengthen our effort in availability and contact, so that we can together reach a full satisfaction in your next comment.
I would be pleased to welcoming you personally very soon.
Best regards,
Arnaud Tourin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Zurich City-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Zurich City-West

Address: Schiffbaustrasse 13 | Am Turbinenplatz, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Escher Wyss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#64 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Zurich City-West 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Zurich City West is a 4 star hotel with 144 rooms in the fashionable Zurich West area. Close to Hardbrucke train station, Escher Wyss Platz tram station and the Technopark. A few minutes from the main railway station and the old city by tramor train. The hotel offers seven modern conference rooms with natural light. An indoor swimming pool, fitness area, bar, kids corner and a restaurant with terrace complete the package. Pay parking garage and airport shuttle (fees apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Zurich City-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Zurich City-West Hotel
Novotel Hotel zürich
zürich Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Zurich City-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.