We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Glaernischhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Glaernischhof to your Saves list
Hotel Glaernischhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Claridenstrasse 30, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Enge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my family in August. Despite the fact that I am frequent visitor to Zurich, but that was my first stay in this Hotel. It was far better than what I expected. Very good location near Zurich Lake, big rooms, nice furniture, great breakfast and friendly staff. Many thanks to everybody in this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Menani

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guest everyday and to improve our service quality.

Through your comment we trust that the Hotel Glärnischhof is on the right track and carries weight to many of our guests.
Even though our valuable location and propinquity to the lake is one of our attribute that makes us very attractive, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and service as well.

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back soon in the future.

Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    51
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
38
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a value proposition. Its just a few mins from barnhoffstrasse and is as central as can be -- the lake is a few minutes too , and the train station is a short ride away -- buses are round the corner -- and the cost half of pricey counterparts. For short business trips where one has no time for the resort and ambience , its ideal.

Rooms are small but very clean.

The food is good to above average. The restaurant is small but functional. A requirement if one wants to get something quickly and retire.

Service is with a smile.

The wifi is excellent and serves good purpose - a must indeed.

Lots of attractions all around.

Its the balance between price and location that makes this a good deal.

Recommend strongly.





Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Glaernischhof, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel Glärnischhof in the heart of Zurich.

We are always happy to receive feedback - also constructive feedback as it is very important to satisfy our guests everyday and to improve our service quality.

We love to hear that you were able to take an advantage out of our central location. It is one of our benefits and equally is our service.
Thank you also for visiting our restaurant. We trust that our improvements in cuisine and service was for your satisfaction, specially now when our hotel restaurants are awarded as Best Hotel Restaurant in "World Luxury Magazine".

We nevertheless hope you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.


Best wishes from Zurich


Christian Schübert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Zurich for two nights for our honeymoon. The staff at the hotel were wonderful particularly Denny who looked after us and organised for gifts on arrival. The gym just up the road (1 minute walk) is great with everything and the price for a room is reasonable for Zurich. The location is more in the business area of the city but is close to the water and the trams make it extremely easy to travel around. We ended up with two single beds pushed together into a queen which was probably the only negative about the visit. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groningen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a very pleasant week in this hotel. Only good things to talk about! For Zurich standards it is a midprice hotel and it certainly delivers a lot of value for money. Very, very friendly and efficient staff, nice rooms, adequate airco, good breakfast menu, free wifi of good quality, free usage of the gym nearby, nice gestures such as a fruit platter as a welcome gift. We stayed here during the Street Parade, when Zurich seemed overcrowded by drunken youth. The staff kept us well informed about this event. We found the location of the hotel perfect. It is in a quiet neighborhood but very close to the lake and you can easily walk to the city center in about five minutes. A minor discomfort is the tiny breakfast room, which can be crowded when many people want to have breakfast at the same time.

Room Tip: Our room was at the backside of the hotel. We did not have much of a view, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel is located very close to main bahnstrasse, old city, and the lake. It is not in central street, but the rooms are clean, plain design, that keeps things simple suited for short stay.
The room had coffee machine with tea and coffee capsules, which is nice, you can have coffee before breakfast.
Toilet and bathroom is separate, which I really consider thing to think when you are two people.
Breakfast was plentiful, and reception was friendly.
Overall I enjoyed my 2 day stay in this hotel with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Glarnischhof for two nights in July.

I walked from Zurich HB with cabin baggage but I'm not sure I would want to do this with a large case. It took about 20 minutes.

Room on 2nd floor overlooking the street. It was quiet. Double room with two single beds upgraded from a single booked.
Late evening check in handled quickly by friendly staff. Free welcome drink in the bar (wine or beer only)
Effective air conditioning kept the room cool while it was 31deg outside. Free fruit and water (Valser). Bed and pillows lovely and an option to change from a wide range of pillows. Room very clean. Espresso type coffee machine in room. Not overly generous with the cream though, just two small pots and no milk for tea. This was a very minor matter.

Flat screen TV , BBC 1, BBC News. So much better than CNN. Couldn't avoid the royal birth though, :-(

The batteries in the Air Conditioning remote were dead and couldn't switch off the AC at night, it was a bit noisy but putting my own batteries in got it working fine. Plenty of mains sockets and free WIFI which worked well.

Breakfast was OK, not a big choice but good. 3 hot items and a small selection of cold cuts.
Efficient maid, room made up while at breakfast. There is a free gym next door but didn't have time to go. Not all that much around the immediate streets but the centre not far and the lake just a few minutes also. A couple of clubs around the block and swimming in the lake is just minutes away.

Highly recommended for business or leisure but it seems to be primarily a business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this very well located hotel. It is within easy walking distance to the old town and also to the lake where many people gather after work. We found the staff to be knowledgable and friendly. The breakfast which was included in the price, was of sufficient variety to enable a change of menu on the second day. Our room was a little on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the aircon worked. Off site parking ( at a not unreasonable price) was an advantage. The only drawback, was that the sound proof windows didn't drown out the street noise on Friday night/ Saturday morning. Still on balance well worth the money and we'd stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Glaernischhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaernischhof

Address: Claridenstrasse 30, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glaernischhof 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant four Star Hotel Glarnischhof is situated in the City Centre of Zurich. Nearby the Financial district the Bahnhofstrasse, the Kongresshaus, Tonhalle and to the lake of Zurich. Each and every room in the Hotel Glarnischhof is furnished stylish and contemporary. In all the rooms, our rich breakfast, the minibar selection, the whole Pay TV range, our Coffee and Tea assortment with our Tassimo Coffee machines and WIFI access are included in the room rates. Our 62 rooms are equipped with our comfortable and adjustable Airlux - Deluxe Mattresses and are responsible for a good and healthy sleep. To welcoming you at our hotel, we offer you a welcome drink upon arrival. On Top of that, you will find a plate with fresh fruits and a bottle of Mineral Water in your room. In add to make your stay even more remarkable, you have got free access to the adjoining Squash - and Fitnessclub "Luxor" inlcuding the use of sauna and steam bath. For guests who would like to make culinary experiences, we've got 2 different kinds of restaurant. At our "Restaurant Glarnischhof", you may enjoy our local cuisine with products from the region. This is where you will find delicate local food same as " Zurcher Geschnetzeltes " which is sliced veal served with Rosti, a potato specialty. In our Gourmet Restaurant "Le Poisson" we serve exquisite seafood and fresh fish courts. In case you don't want to eat fish, we of course also serve excellent meat menus. In the Restaurant Le Poisson, you receive 15% reduction as our hotel guests. The cozy ambience in our hotel bar, invites you to linger with a small snack, an aperitif or cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Glaernischhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Glaernischhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.