We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the heart of Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leoneck Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Leoneck Hotel to your Saves list
Leoneck Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #77 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location in the heart of Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Leoneck is a 5 to 10 minute walk (partially uphill - but not very steep) from the Zurich Hauptbahnhof or Central Station. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel; in fact the 10 line goes out to the airport - very convenient.

As for the hotel, the lobby decor is a bit odd. Front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Our room 416 overlooked the street and was on the corner - lots of light, clean, comfortable and easily accommodated my family of 4. The balcony and small fridge were nice amenities. In spite of the tram lines below, the room was relatively quiet thanks to the double glazed windows.

I don't like spending more than $200 per night on a hotel which is why we often rent short-term apartments when we travel. The Leoneck was 250 Swiss francs per night but given all the positives, I think it was worthwhile and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    122
    77
    23
    7
See reviews for
49
63
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and the rooms were warm and clean and the staff very friendly. Switzerland is expensive, so the rooms are expensive for what you get but if you are looking for somewhere clean and close to everything then you cant go wrong. I thought the breakfast was expensive so we didnt have it in the hotel but then finding a alternative was not that easy either.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor and wasnt too noisy.... we had a family room so plenty room.... Internet VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here about five years ago and were charmed in a strange way by the cow theme at the entrance to the hotel and in each room with cow themed cartoon murals. Now five years on the hotel has been updated and the theme watered down somewhat, with murals replaced by pictures.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but adjoins The Crazy Cow restaurant where a fairly basic breakfast can be obained.
For those visitors with automobiles there is a facility with a garage some two or three streets away providing three or four individual garages allocated to the hotel at a cost of 25chf per day.
The Leoneck is clean and comfortable and located right outside is a tram stop with trams going directly to the centre of the city in one direction and to the airport in he other. For those not familiar with the tram system an wishing to explore Zurich by foot, the main shopping street, the Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) and a number of restaurants can be reached within 10 to 15 minutes.
We probably will go back again at some time in the future for nostalgia's sake.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Pluses: Big 3-bed room - quite a small apartment - generously furnished, 2 TV sets, big bathroom, balcony, lot of windows; nice view overlooking the city. Chocolates on the pillow every day, slippers (that’s nice - and useful as it’s freezing in the room). Transfer to airport in 30 minutes with tram 10 stopping in front of the hotel. Free wireless internet connection, although slow and with interruptions. Good price for Zurich. Not too far from the main attractions of the city when you get used to all the up-hills.
Minuses: NOISY hotel, thin walls and ceiling, trams rolling and screeching every few minutes, church bells several times a day at the cathedral next door - and all these with closed windows, I can imagine how it is in summer. Not mentioning the change of floor carpet in front of our door for as much as two days – but this was just our luck. Housekeeping a bit too early in the morning, though nice lady. Pillows not comfortable at all, too soft and soggy. The staff isn’t the best - they should stay less behind their computers looking busy and be more friendly.
All in all, not the worst experience but next time I’ll choose another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We liked the Cow theme, not sure everyone will like it, but don't think in the worst case it will annoy you. The room and bathroom were ok. Unfortunately there is no view from the balcon, but the hotel itself is located in a good and quite place, 5 minutes from the center of the city.
One day we came back at 0.30 a.m. and the door of the hotel was closed! We waited for 20 minutes outside with +10C, because the responsible staff probably walked somewhere, I found it terrible (good luck if you are goind on the party!). The breakfast hovewer was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

a straircase at the entrance.

smelly room. just basic room nothing fancy. even the furniture looks old i dont bother hang my clothes into it. not to mention creepy weird painting. when at first, i book the hotel, i thought the deco is OK. But when i entered the room, and i noticed a lizard painting on top of the headstand of the bed i was like what was that?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

went there with my gf for a couple of night. Nothing exceptional. The hotel is very basic, as well as the room we stayed in. Early in the morning the housekeeping was talking loudly and it got annoying very quickly, forcing us to wake up. Then they started cleaning and it was impossible to get back to sleep. I understand they need to clean but it was really too early.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leoneck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leoneck Hotel

Address: Leonhardstrasse 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leoneck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Leoneck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leoneck Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leoneck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.