We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Save Saved
You added Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 123 hotels in Zurich
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great hotel of classic tradition, directly across from Rail Station; easily spotted by doorman sporting scarlet livery - so smart! Exceptional staff & service with an attention to detail that is such a credit to this hotel. Welcomed with refreshing wet towel, glass of juice & genuine smiles. Room compact but perfectly formed, luxurious furnishings & smart bathroom with a fabulous extensive range of toiletries (truly everything a girl could possibly need!) Good old fashioned turndown service, meant a return after evening out to find bed & room all nicely laid out with refreshments tray & few sweets etc. Delightful. Breakfast was served in bright airy room with starched white linen & more charming staff, produce was fresh, delicious & very good selection. Check-out efficient, friendly & again great attention to detail, train ticket to airport, bottle of water for journey & little gift of a few Swiss chocolates! And suggest the following demonstrates just how great the staff are... admired chic walking umbrellas in room & receptionist advised they were for sale, mentioned I'd rather like one but concern was perhaps an issue for airport security/hand-luggage on plane & she immediately called both the airport & the airline to check! No fuss, just did it... 10/10

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    99
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
85
200
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here on a Railbookers train trip from London to Venice. We were very impressed with the welcoming service - we were met at the station by a hotel porter and received at reception with a room upgrade, offers of drinks and hot towels. Best of all, as it was my husband's birthday, not only were we greeted with "Happy Birthday" but there was a homemade cake (which was very tasty) and hand-written card in the room. There was also a bowl of perfectly ripe fruit and bars of chocolate, subsequently added to by the trolley service. The personal service made us feel like honoured guests rather than just another couple of punters - the latter being generally the experience that seems to be the norm irrespective of the cost of the hotel. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean and breakfast the next day was excellent. From going with the view of Zurich and the hotel being little more than a convenient stopping off point, we came away with a very positive feeling for both the hotel and for Zurich and a desire to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Schweizerhof, Zurich. We were made to feel welcome from the start. We were given a room upgrade which was very much appreciated. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. Service was excellent in all areas i.e. at reception, room service and restaurant service. The hotel is centrally located. Walking distance to everything. Close to public transport. It was the little touches that made it a standout experience- chocolate from the butler in the evening, bottles of water to take with us on our departure. Ensuring our transfer was organised. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff.
Jennifer and Geoff Morris, Redcliffe Qld Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kremenchuk, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during my business trip to Zurich in September. I just don’t have enough words to describe it. Amazing hotel, nice and calm atmosphere, cozy rooms, and the most important thing - pleasant and welcoming, always ready to help staff. Thank you so much for your service and readiness to help!
It is also worth to mention –the location is very suitable, because as it is located just opposite main railway station – it is easy to get anywhere you want, and all shopping centres are located so close to hotel (same street). If you walk just few minutes from hotel –you can find as well there Zurich lake, what I consider to be wonderful, old town with its welcoming small cafes and narrow streets.
I hope to come back to Zurich, and I definitely know at which hotel I will stay!

Room Tip: I liked my room very much, though windows were facing central railway station, but I didn’t hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business in September and really liked this place. I drove to Zürich by car but recommend everyone to use the public transport as the Hotel Schweizerhof is located directly opposite the Zürich Main station. My room was looking to the train station but I was not disturbed by any noice. The breakfast was just perfect. The witer brought fresh orange juice without asking and the range of food at the buffet was perfect. I can highly recommend this place and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex geezer
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

we were travelling Europe by train for the fist time and RailBookers who prepared our itinerary suggested this hotel one advantage is its 20 metres from the main railway station and it was receiving excellent reviews. it lived up to its reputation in every way, staff always helpful, and fluent in English as sadly our german was almost non existent, we dined twice in the hotel main bar and had excellent food and drinks , even Hendricks gin for the much beloved, and the Bar manager was charming efficient and very friendly and helpful bedroom was as we wished, fruit, chocolates and a weather forecast, and a very wide range of food for breakfast walking into Old Zurich town and the Lake was quick about 15 minutes down the main shops-street

we would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Met by a porter at the station, two glasses of bubbles at check in, a lucky-dip gift for our 6yo, and so on.... the service and welcome was just perfect. And this continued for our whole stay. In the resturant for breakfast they went out of their way to all of us feel a special. And even on departure as we waited for our car to the airport (which they arranged without hassle); two more glasses of bubbles and some water bottles for the trip.

We had one of their new rooms; large for Zurich and very modern. The beds were spectacular (fully adjustable).

Room Tip: Ask for one if the inner new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich

Address: Bahnhofplatz 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#8 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Schweizerhof Zürich, part of WORLDHOTELS, is an exclusive 4* superior Hotel with an excellent 5* service at the best central location in Zurich. Opposite the main railway station and at the beginning of the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Shoppingstreet, financial district, the lake and the old town within walking distance. Every 10 minutes direct train to the International Airport of Zurich (12 minutes journey time). Very quiet thanks to triple glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Zurich Hotel
Schweizerhof Zurich zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.