We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Walhalla Hotel to your Saves list
Walhalla Hotel
Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save CHF10 on select meals
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

fine hotel close to the Hauptboanhoff. It’s ok for business and for tourism too. Not so far form the center of the town. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some noise if your room it is in a lower floor and toward the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr f_reffo.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Our perfect location right in the heart of Zurich gives everybody, business or leisure traveller, the opportunity to plan an efficient trip to Switzerland's most interesting city. I wish you and your family a perfect start for the new year and hope to see you again in the Walhalla Hotel.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    140
    33
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
83
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just back on a honeymoon trip with hubby and we stayed 4 nights there. It's conveniently located near the main train station as well as the most important Bus terminal just directly opposite the hotel. As We had city tours almost everyday and it's always departing from that bus terminal, thus this location was a great advantage to us.
As for the room, it was basic and essential enough, as most of the time we were out of hotel for sightseeing/shopping. In my opinion the size of the room and bathroom were quite big for a 3 stars hotel. the blankets & beds were very fluffy and comfy!
Staffs were very friendly and they allowed us to check in early, we reached as early as 10am and rooms were ready in about 45 minutes. Breakfast was quite good, quite alot of choices of food.
Overall, a very very good hotel! Will come back to this hotel again if i have the chance :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear DesCandy.

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm very happy that the Walhalla Hotel played an important role in your honeymoon trip. For honeymooners or business travellers, the location is perfect. Right in the heart of Zurich. Please join our Facebook community that we always know how you are. Greetings to your husband and the whole Walhalla Team wish you all the best for your future.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is almost an extension of the Zurich main station. It's convenient locations makes it attractive for business travellers with work in the city as well as tourists who are frequently travelling by train to other destinations.

The service standards in the hotel are average and the hotel staff,especially in the breakfast restaurant would benefit from some elementary training. Bathrooms need improvement due to lack of a shower chamber. Unlike other smaller Zurich hotels,no kettles ar provided in the rooms which is not good news for those of us used to a morning cuppa.

Overall,if convnience is your main criterion,Walhalla is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has an enclosed shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Nav1963.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback and the points you mentioned. You are completely right about the bathrooms on the second and third floor and I have good news: We start the renovation of the remaining 24 bathrooms end of this year. On the fourth and fifth floor we already have the new bathroom types with shower chamber, heated mirror pad, hair dryer, lighted make up mirror etc. So I would be more than happy to show you the new rooms in January. Please let me know whenever you are back in Zurich.

All the best
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I just got back from our Europe trip including 2 nights stay at this hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Zurich.

It is very close to the station (Zurich HB) therefore you do not need to spend money for taxi or any transportation. And for the tourist like myself the tour to Jungfraujoch, Mount Titlis and Mount Pilatus start from the bus parking lot across the hotel's lobby.

The room is clean. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom although it is compact still feels modern. I think whoever decide to do the interior design has done a wonderful job.

The wifi is free and accessible from anywhere in the hotel. I got the furthest room the elevator yet still I could connect to the internet.

The staffs at the reception were very helpful. One helped us to book the tour to Mount Pilatus. She helped us choosing the tour by explaining to us the difference between Mount Titlis and Mount Pilatus. I also received recommendation for the best Japanese restaurant and local food nearby the hotel.

The next time I go to Zurich I would definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel offers a family room with 1 big bed and 1 single bed. The single bed is a "real" bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear gmd2002.

Thank you very much for your detailed review. I'm glad you enjoyed the stay with us and I will forward your positiv comments about the interior design to the former management team. We renovated the hotel rooms im 2010 and the bathrooms in 2011 and I completely agree that they made a very good job. The colors are well selected and the room is very functional, ideal for business travellers and tourists. Together with the perfect location a very good package to explore Zurich and Switzerland. We constantly look for opportunities to upgrade the product and in 2014 we will install water kettles in all rooms. Your feedback motivates us a lot and we will continue to make the Walhalla your Gateway to Switzerland and your Business Hub to Zurich.

All the best and again thank you very much
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Traveled mid October. Stayed with my mother on the third floor- elevator available- and we so enjoyed the location and friendly service, we cancelled our Basel and Lucerne hotels and extended for another 3 days. Location: Perfect. Walk from Platform 18 at the Zurich Main train station (ZHB). You can see the hotel sign or the Starbucks sign, or ask directions at the information kiosk. Staff: All lovely; Angela,Toni, Bala Diana, Valentina. Checked in early, were given maps and directions of things to do. Rooms: Compact with 2 twin beds near each other with night stands on outer sides, a safe, big bathroom with 2 large sinks, big bathtub. Mineral water. Kept clean everyday. We asked for a fan and got one. Kept the windows open -directly facing the city tour buses. Only problem: windows open a bit differently to what we are used to. The weather was perfect. Comp. umbrellas at the front door. Free computer to use. The tram stop was right outside. We did not have any major traffic or noise issues. Breakfast: Excellent with lovely servers Vlad etc. Coffee, tea, hot choc, milk, cappuccino, juices, cereals, breads, cheeses, assortment of meats, pastries. The ZHB is a great place to pick up cheap (for Zurich) food. Also walking to the hotel is a small Frische kiosk that sells veg sandwiches for 5CHF. Walhalla has 15% discount dinner coupon for Subito's, which is around the corner. Conclusion: Book directly at the Walhalla Hotel website.It saves them and you money.They also have a guesthouse around the corner which is cheaper.Same breakfast. If you stay here check out the shopping behind the hotel. We walked from the hotel to Lake Zurich a few times.This will always be our #1 place to stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Canaturelover55.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences in the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich with the Tripadvisor Community. For sure our location is unique in Zurich and we are happy to be in the heart of the city, but what makes me proud are your comments about the team. Location is one thing, but the team and their hospitality attitude are crucial. I'm very happy that we were able to convince you and I'm looking forward to welcome you again in the Walhalla Hotel in Zurich.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good hotel in a good location. The rooms and bathrooms can be rather on the small side, but are very clean and comfortable.
I use this hotel for eary morning flights from the airport (15 min by train). The staff give me a packed breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear mrcheddar.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your last stay in the Walhalla Hotel. I really appreciate that you mentioned the connection the the Zurich Airport. From door to door it is not more than 15 minutes. So we call us an airport hotel. With our breakfast boxes we try to make your trip a bit easier. I'm happy that you enjoyed it!

I wish you all the best and hope to see you soon.
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

When i come to Zürich I always try to book a room in this Hotel. Only if it's fully booked go for another one. Nice staff, clean and silently. Wlan for free and rich breakfast buffet! The Hotel is situated in the city center really close to Railway station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Andyt7820.

It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback. Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. This helps us a lot and is a real motivation for the entire team. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Walhalla Hotel or even our Walhalla Guesthouse.

Kind regards
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Address: Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walhalla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.