We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Intransit Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Walhalla Hotel to your Saves list
Walhalla Hotel
Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save CHF10 on select meals
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Roslyn, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great for Intransit Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Needed a hotel in Zurich for one night as we were transiting through on our way to a tour that began in Bern. Only a very short walk rom the train station. Extremely clean rooms, great buffet breakfast and a very friendly staff. The only negative was that we were on the top floor and there was some sort of support column that came through the room and was right next to one side of the bed, Had to be careful getting up at night as to not walk into it. The best recommendation that a traveller can give a hotel is - would I stay here again? Definitely yes.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Wodiczka, Manager at Walhalla Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear GrandPaRuss.
Thank you very much for your positiv feedback. It makes me very proud of my team and shows that we are on right way. Due to the structure of the building we have a few rooms on the top floor that have these supporting elements in the middle of the room. The original premises was built in 1882 and has been renovated a few times already. During the last renovation we were discussing the roof structure and thought we leave them as decoration elements. It gives these rooms a romantic touch and makes us a bit different from all the newly built hotels in our city. Please let me know when you are returning to Zurich. I would be very happy to show you a few more rooms and get your opinion. I'm looking forward to welcome you soon in our beautiful city.

I wish you and your family a nice time and hope that you have the chance to enjoy the summer. We are still waiting for better weather...

All the best
Kurt Wodiczka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    141
    33
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
84
38
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really handy tram just outside door, going into city. Access to train station couldn't be easier.
Lots of places of interest and there is a Botanical garden too-change trams once, get day ticket for public transport from reception. Nice small hotel. Lovely room, really helpful and nice staff. Continental breakfasts self-service, with lots to eat and staff who keep tables clear regularly. Smallish breakfast area, but staff will open other room if required. Safe deposit box in room. Reception staff very knowledgeful for tourist information and helpful generally. Quiet situation. Good large bed. We had a balcony giving an interesting place to sit and have a drink. Bedroom overlooked bus park, with lots to see and giving an atmosphere of involvement with others. Easy to access for a day tour outside city or a city tour, all of which start just across the street from hotel. Trips can be booked through hotel reception if required. Safe area. Hotel provides a good city map and a free bottle of still water welcomes you in your bedroom. There is also free fresh fruit available at reception. Good value for money and would undoubtedly return there on another visit to Zurich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking bus park. Landesmuseum surrounded by lots of trees is als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Minutes from train station. Place is quite clean and is an efficient way if you are passing through. Rooms are tiny but well organized/ space is efficiently used. Free Breakfast and free wifi am added plus. We were traveling with our 3 month old and had requested a cot which was not available when we checked in but staff was responsive and sorted it out quickly. Basically not a luxury stay but a very good option from an efficiency standpoint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel during second week of may2013. Great location hardly 50 mtr from the train station. Walking distance to the old town and shopping area. Excellent service, Good breakfast, clean & nice rooms, good wifi. Starbucks coffee in the same premises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is my second time to stay here. I picked this hotel because it is so close to the train station. Upon arriving in Zurich we only had about 45 minutes to see the Chagall windows in the Fraumunster church before it closed. We inquired at the front desk about directions to the church. Angela, who works at the front desk, said she was leaving and going that direction and we could walk with her. She went out of her way and walked us directly to the front door of the church. She went above and beyond to do this. Rooms are nice as is the breakfast. We were also able to purchase train tickets to the airport from the front desk. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Buy your train ticket to the airport at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its location. The hotel is 2min from the central railway which makes arriving at your hotel from the airport cheap and easy. The bus terminal is right across the road from the hotel which is very convenient for tours. There is also a Starbucks right next to the hotel. I walked acoss the old town and the hotel is situated very close to the old streets, shopping streets, river and the beautiful lake. The staff were very friendly and provided lots of helpful advice. The rooms are small, but not impossibly small, and I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the facilities. Theres even a small bedtime treat on the pillow at night. The wifi was welcome. The breakfast is standard fare, nothing to rave about, but there is also a small shop selling snacks next to reception if you need it. Overall, the ease and convenience of this stay will cause me to book here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Best location , friendly staff ( speacialy Bala ) , been here more than 50 times. They always make small renovation to give a new friendly look. Easily to find. Free wifi and the conference rooms are good for business meeting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Address: Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walhalla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.