We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey yet close to the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walhalla Hotel

Save Saved
You added Walhalla Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walhalla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #24 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey yet close to the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Zurich is such an expensive city and this hotel is no different. Other than that it was a very good option for us, specially considering the location, a short stroll to nice restaurants and very close to the train station.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    112
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
63
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

For the price, we got quite a big twin room that was reasonably clean. The reception area and breakfast area was rather small but hey, we weren't spending much time in there. One of the few hotels in Switzerland that provided free wifi in the rooms! Can get noisy at night if we left the window open as we were just next to the tram stop, but it was quite cold so we were happy to close it. Can't imagine if it was summer though...

It was very close to the main Zurich train station but as the station is quite big, we needed directions to get to the side where the hotel was. You will need to follow directions to platform 18, go to the street level and look out for the Starbucks sign that is more visible from the train station than the hotel signage. It is located on the quieter side of the station where there are less restaurants but that's fine with us. The busy Bahnhofstraf shopping street is also on the other side of the station so very easy walking distance. We took a city tour and it was a nice surprise to know that the bus meeting point was just opposite the hotel. Really useful for early morning departures!

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the road unless the weather will be cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked Walhalla for a week business stay in Zurich and it was ideal for what i needed. The hotel has two buildings (main hotel and annex) and I stayed in the annex.

The rooms are clean but very (very) small with 'out of the pack' showerroom, but given the central location next to the main train station and just few minutes to the town centre by tram, it is a good value for money. Breakfast was included in the price and also rather basic, but enough to get me to the nearby Starbucks.

Although I havent stayed there myself, I would suggest to ask for a room in the main hotel building, which looked nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its excellent location. It is very near to the Zurich HB station. Actually there is a subway which connects the hotel and the station.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful with a smile. This made our checkin very smooth
Room was clean and spacious enough for me, my hubby and my 6yr kid. Bed was cosy enough for a good sleep.
There is tram station just below the hotel which was very convinient for us to reach the hotel from any point of the Zurich city. The soundproof glass windows of our room didnot allow any noise of the trams passing by below.
Bathroom was clean and included all that amenities which needed.
The buffet breakfast was standard but fresh.
Would surely recommend this hotel to our friends and families.
Love to stay here again.

Room Tip: As everyone recommends higher floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very good location, close to trams and trains. Walking distance to city center. Nice, helpful staff, good breakfast. Complimentary umbrellas, WiFi, very clean.
The rooms are not big, but this is usual in Zurich at least at this price range. Toilet tight too, but nicely renovated, great shower.
If you like Starbucks there is one right besides it.
I tried a few nearby and in this price range. This one was the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice and clean room, bathroom was cleaned everyday - fresh towels, good hairdryer. TV set with large choice of channels on English and even 2 channels in Russian. I lived on the 3d floor with windows to small patio. No noise outside. Good bed - I'm tall, and usually have a problem with short bedcover - not in that case :D
Breakfast very good - natural coffee from machine (latte, cappuchino, etc), large choice of meats and cheese, fresh fruits - apples, pears; flakes; bread, fresh croissants, pikelets..
Allocation is perfect - 7 minutes of walk from central railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We chose this hotel for one night stay in Zurich for transfer on our way to Spain. The location of hotel is excellent since it takes around 15 minutes to get from airport to the hotel, it is just 2 minutes from Zurich HB. Staff is very pleasant, our preliminary booking requests were fulfilled at arrival. Room was modern, spacious and clean, also very good equipped and decorated. We consider room's standard as very high for 3 star city hotel and price very reasonable for stay in Zurich. All our family including 4-years son very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the only thing we were dissapointed was that our stay was too short. Can recommend the hotel for family stay as well as for business purposes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walhalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla Hotel

Address: Limmatstr 5, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#32 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walhalla Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central location in the heart of Zurich, just a few steps from the main station, we offer the ideal location for you to do business or spend the weekend in Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Walhalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walhalla Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walhalla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.