We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel nearby main railway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel Zurich to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel Zurich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Zurich 8035, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel nearby main railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Third time staying at this hotel within a year. Very comfortable, economical, friendly place. Excellent location, 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. All rooms very acceptable and have all that you need. Definitely worth a try as a holiday vacation or for business stopover with B&B only.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    311
    122
    20
    10
See reviews for
183
160
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tanja australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Can't fault the service at this well located hotel. Nothing was a hassle. The buffet breakfast suited the whole family. The quadruple room was small but perfectly adequate, and
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an unpretentious place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you are looking for a 5min easy walk from the train station and great breakfast - this is your hotel. We travelled with three kids a lot of luggage and stayed only overnight. Small room and small bathroom (shower only) for us 5. Central hating was uncomfortably hot and we had to air the room frequently for heat to escape. Free wi-fi. Basic duvets with flat soft uncomfortably cushions. Fine for 1 night. Given what we got I found the price to be high, but then again when you are paying with ZAR.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Hotel Bristol is a great choice for a moderately priced hotel in Zurich. The location is an easy five minute walk from the Zurich train station. Also, within a five minute walk is old town Zurich with its many shops and restaurants and cafes. Main city Zurich with its huge upscale shopping district is another easy walk across the river - probably a 10 minute walk at a leisurely pace.

Rooms and facilities are clean and modern, with free wifi, a business center, and free breakfast. If Beatrice is on duty when you check in you have hit the jackpot! She is a friendly wealth of knowledge and help for the first time traveler to Zurich. For us, her assistance in keeping track of the status of our lost luggage (courtesy of United Airlines) was invaluable.

We would definitely stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is quite close to the main railway station.
The tariffs are the best in Zürich considering the localization (quite centric) and the quality of the hotel
It is possible to leave the luggage in the hotel while doing tourism and before moving to another town

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been here a number of times over the years and this latest visit confirms my previous thoughts. They can be busy so always reserve of course. The location is perfect for me since my client is very close as is the main train station, and downtown Zurich. You can easily walk to Bahnhofstrasse and see all the expensive stores while walking to the lake front. It is of course also close to the old part of town. Very handy and less expensive than the Marriott which is farther away. I was given a room near the end of the small hall so did not experience any noise from folks walking by which is handy as I am a light sleeper.
Rooms are typically small (mine was a slightly bigger one than usual at roughly 9x12 with a bathroom after that. Showers here are tiny so takes a bit of time to get used to not hitting the taps or wall while you clean. (We North Americans are far used to large places, Europeans of course would not find this unusual at all) . The feather pillows are nice but I like more substance under my head so asked for a second one. They have no restaurant but with so many close by this is not an issue for me.
TV is a problem for English speaking people as they have a couple of BBC channels and about 4 in total that are English speaking. Bring an ipad or something as they do now offer free WIFI

Room Tip: Try and get rooms at the end of the halls for a little extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The rooms are clean, although they are very basic, we don't have any problem with that.
Good breakfast, but the same menu every day. The hotel is a five minute walk from Zurich main train station, located on a quiet street. The staff is friendly and efficient. We would'nt mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Zurich is too expensive. Be careful....lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Zurich

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Zurich 8035, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern facilities and amenities; centrally located, convenient for city exploring; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bristol Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Hotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.