We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great In Every Way... Except One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich

Save Saved
You added Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Splugenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Hotel Splugenschloss)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great In Every Way... Except One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After looking all over the internet for a good hotel in Zürich, we settled on the Alden. The location was perfect, the staff kind, patient, and efficient, and the room was fantastic. However, while we stayed here (26 to 28 July), there was a massive heat wave in Zürich (all over Europe in fact). The temperatures soared to 36ºC (about 104ºF for my American friends), and it was unbearable. We turned the AC on full blast, but to no avail. After asking around, we found out that they had turned the system off because it was too hot outside. Let me say that again, because saying it aloud defies belief: they turned the AC system off, a system designed to lower unbearable temperatures, because it was too hot outside. There was no local by-law, even though that's what they told us. They were simply too cheap. I mean, come on. I don't like that kind of heat, and to have to come back to my home for three days, and boil in there too, I was pretty frustrated.
Other than that, a fantastic hotel with beautiful rooms. But don't stay here if there's going to be a heatwave.

Room Tip: The Suite is definitely worth the extra $100 a night, up from a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    33
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
77
24
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We're from the US. My husband's company is based in Zurich, so he's there, often, on business. I joined him on his most recent trip, so he decided to book a room at the Alden, based on the recommendation of Zurich based colleagues, Trip Advisor reviews and its great location. When we arrived, we were immediately told our room had water damage, that no other rooms were available and that they'd booked a room on our behalf at a hotel nowhere near the Alden, closer to the airport. We completely understand things happen, but they made no attempt to contact us before our arrival. They had my husband's name, company name, travel agent's contact information, etc., but couldn't be bothered to inform us of the situation before we arrived by taxi from the airport at the hotel. We were given 3 taxi vouchers and turned away. We were just shocked at the complete lack of customer service at such a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Alden is a wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Zurich. Its central location makes exploring Zurich an easy task. The staff were very professional, attentive and genuinely interested in making our stay a most enjoyable experience, starting with the welcome champagne and refreshing drinks, to our suite upgrade, to excellent restaurant and bar recommendations.

Our suite was luxurious, large, tastefully decorated and with a very comfortable bed and a pillow menu. Fruit, nuts, chocolates and mini bar contents are complimentary. The breakfast buffet is well catered and the expresso coffee is perfectly made.

If you are seeking top service, great location and wonderful amenities, you will want to consider the Alden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A boutique hotel with lots of amenities, friendly and alert staff, great location, and spacious suites. And the food they serve...yum. We stayed here nine nights.

They have all the amenities: robes, slippers, all that fancy smelling stuff in the bathroom, fresh fruit, champagne on check in, two Sony flat screens with about a dozen English speaking channels (BBC, CNBC, etc.), shower stall and Jacuzzi tub, heated towel rack, mini bar with free non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and more.

The staff are extra friendly, reliable, alert, and knowledgeable. We were greeted on check in with complimentary champagne. The receptionist reminded me by suite phone that I needed to make Moms Day arrangements as pre-planned by email. The bellhop lugged our luggage to the suite and reviewed all the features: thermostats (one for each room), mini bar, TVs, and lighting system. The receptionist was helpful in acquiring train tickets for a round trip excursion to Geneva. Housekeeping tidied the suite every day, turned down the bedding at night, and ensured all the supplies were well stocked. Upon checkout, as we were piling into the taxi for the airport, the bellhop noticed I had left the carry on luggage in the room...he went and fetched it for us. Had we left it behind with the camera inside, there would have been no pictures of Zurich and the hotel [see below].

Zurich is a gorgeous city...a fair blend of old and new architecture, with lots of quaint winding narrow streets. Alden is located in a quite neighborhood within 20 min walk of Banhofstrasse, the upscale shopping area, and of the Lake Zurich pier where the around the lake boat shoves off about ever half hour. And perhaps the best restaurant in town, Le Rendevous, a pizzeria, is but two blocks away...try the carbonara. Teddy's Souvenir Shop is the best place for finding mementos of your trip to Zurich; it's a 25 minute walk from the hotel.

Although my wife and I opted for the Junior Suite, 1B, our suite was the biggest suite I've ever stayed in...way bigger than Embassy Suites for example. There was even a hallway leading from the entrance door to the living room. The suite consisted of: living room, bedroom, bathroom, toilet room, and hallway. Unless you have extreme claustrophobia, the Junior Suites should be more than enough room. And, most importantly, there were dozens of drawers, hangers, and wardrobe space to accommodate all the clothes and accessories for our nine night stay. Except for an occasional thump from above, the suite was almost perfectly quiet; certainly there was no street noise even during the work week.

The hotel restaurant serves breakfast both buffet and to order every morning. And the hours are long enough that even touring sleepyheads can roust for some eggs Benedict. One weakness in the otherwise near perfect hotel is their limited lunch and dinner menu. Although the food is great and the service flawless, there are but six entrees offered on the dinner menu. And only three deserts are listed. Over a nine night stay, one quickly gets bored with the same food; so we spent most of our meals at outside restaurants, which are excellent for the most part.

There was one more issue...the bedding. They use thick quilts and no sheets. So it turned out to be too warm with the quilt over me and too cold without the quilt. There was no way to layer and find a happy just right medium temperature. But that was just me; my wife loved them and slept like a log. The bed itself was quite large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Even the so-called Junior Suites are large, well outfitted, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a perfect stay. Hotek is prefectly located near city center n a veru quite location. Very good attention and service. Nice restaurant. Is a perfect boutique hotel. Very nice suites, new furniture, nice decoration. No doubt to stay there if you want a quiet and well located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Alden in Zurich - we love this hotel! It is located in a relatively quiet section of the town, yet close to the Bahnhofstrasse area and the lake. The suites are generous and nicely decorated. We opted to take our breakfast in our room - it was excellent and arrived on time; we also love the 24hr room service. The Alden has a great staff, always helpful, friendly and upbeat - most of the people we recognized from our first stay. We will be back in Zurich, and are looking forward to staying at the Alden again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed three nights around easter 1013. Alden is a good hotel in Zurich, location is near the city center, the palace is very elegant, the suites are well furnished, spacious and confortabile. They're very gentle. Anyway, the Ensemble don't deserve such a classification (5 star), it looks like a boutique hotel, than a complex 5 star hotel: the difference is easily visible. Breakfast is not exactly you can expect in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich

Address: Splugenstrasse 2, Zurich 8002, Switzerland (Formerly Alden Hotel Splugenschloss)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Luxury Suite Hotel Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.