We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, easy access to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heidi Abel-Weg 5, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good value, easy access to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This hotel was just renovated. The rooms are pretty small, but very modern and clean. Overall, the atmosphere is very nice. The breakfast has plenty of variety.
Although it's slightly outside of Zurich, it's very easy to get to downtown easier with the tram or one of the trains running from the nearby train station.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the price is a bargain for Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    509
    238
    46
    19
See reviews for
146
337
178
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orbe, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I was booked to stay in this hotel before flying from Zurich the next day and was expecting a hotel AT the aiport, not 15 min drive away ! when we arrived it was dark and it was hard to find as the signs for Ibis were rather small.
The evening staff was very friendly and welcoming and the room was - as expected - to Ibis standard (clean and roomy).
However, the morning staff was the opposite. Nobody greeted us when we came down for breakfast, the tables were not cleared up and the buffet was not very well furnished. When my son asked for cold milk for the cereals (the jug was empty) he was told to just use hot milk ! we eventually got what we asked for though...
The shuttle to the airport is very regular and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for just 1 night as we had an early morning flight and wanted to stay close to the airport.
This was a very basic room with no frills. The room itself was so small that it had only space to walk besides the baed. We couldn't even take our luggage to the other side of the bed.
There is a shuttle service provided by the hotel, which was very useful. It runs twice an hour from the airport. However, if you have a really early morning flight, check with the hotel staff regarding the timings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Hotel is close to airport n there is a shuttle service. nice clean rooms. rates are reasonable. Good breakfast. can take shuttle n go to the airport where you can take a train to the city. very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

During a flight stopover in Zurich, I was looking for a place near the airport to spend the night and found this hotel to fit my needs.

It's a fact that the location is bleak: an office neighbourhood, far away from any entertainment.
But as far as I can tell through my own experience, the same can be written about "airport hotels" in most cities, so this was not a surprise to me.

The thing is that this hotel is good at what it's designed for, i.e. it’s not targeting people who'd like to visit Zurich and enjoy an entertaining atmosphere, but provide cheap yet clean and comfortable accommodation near the airport.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to and from the airport every half hour.
Please note that this shuttle doesn't run 24 hours a day: check with the hotel before booking, in case your flight arrives/departs at night.
Finding the IBIS van upon my arrival in the evening was easy and I was lucky to meet a nice friendly driver, speaking Swiss German, but also English since married to a Sri Lankan.

The hotel was the usual IBIS scene: well-organized and perfectly maintained, but unfortunately in this case, with nothing more than a polite welcome and a room with a surprisingly tiny bathroom (see pictures).

But for only 60 EUR, the hotel offered me a hassle-free stay and quite a lot of value for money (especially since I stayed away from its somewhat overpriced restaurant).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Rooms are very small. Although the room was clean , it was not very familiar and friendly place at all. Breakfast can be told "average" for Switzerland. Parking place was large enough .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurzach, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

On my second stay, I was given an old worn and smelly room. I asked to be chaged but was confronted my a general manager with an attitude. He had no concept that he is in a customer relations role. Never again will I stay at this Accor property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Address: Heidi Abel-Weg 5, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Zurich Messe Airport Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from the Hallenstadion and the Zurich exhibition center. There is a free shuttle bus service for hotel guests that runs between the airport and hotel. The recently renovated hotel boasts 252 comfortable, air-cooled rooms, a contemporary restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and private car park (paying). There is free Wi-Fi access and our bar is open 24 hours a day serving drinks and snacks with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.