We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Hotel definitely describes it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heidi Abel-Weg 5 | Zurich-Oerlikon, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Airport Hotel definitely describes it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when our flight schedule gave us a 24-hour layover in Zurich. It was tiny but clean (except for a stale body odor smell in the entrance to the room) and we weren't in the room except to sleep. The wifi worked fine and we were not around for breakfast. I haven't stayed in many rooms with all the usual toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, ear swabs, toothbrush, etc.) only available in a vending machine in the hall. You are provided with a generic soap/body wash/shampoo to bathe with. The free transfer to/from the airport was a little stressful as so many people were trying to cram onto the bus that we were afraid we'd miss the shuttle). The hotel is located close to the city center but far enough away in an industrial area to feel a bit lifeless. This hotel was fine for a one-night stopover but otherwise I'd get something closer to the city center with more atmosphere than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    486
    226
    43
    18
See reviews for
139
323
175
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel has shuttles to and from the airport. Very small room but fair enough to just take a shower and fly. Didn't opt for breakfast as we had a 7 am flight.
10-15 mins walk to a tram station which takes you to zurich downtown. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My second time staying here . The rooms are tiny but clean and they have airport shuttle.i think the price is too high for such a hotel.
Staff is very friendly.Its in industrial park so no other rester aunts in area but I saw a train stop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I`m not usually a fan of these kinds of hotels, and I`m not saying it was a luxury stay, but for 98 CHF in Zurich, it was great. best of all, the staff, especially Florien and Vivian, were friendly and extremely helpful (and Florien was funny!!!) The restaurant staff was very good also, The room was clean, water pressure good, the food in the restaurant was quite tasty (especially the soups) and we were able to leave our luggage in the locked storage room until we return - for free! Free shuttle to the airport every half hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A decent business hotel upto the mark, but not tourist hotel.

To begin with
Location :- a bit far from main city but very convenient from airport . They provide free shuttle service from Zurich airport to ibis messe hotel to and fro.

Room :- a bit small but air conditioned and double bed provided. Bathroom are decent as per room.

Staff:- friendly and helpfull.

Hotel :- they provide good variety of breakfast, free wifi ( we go it , don't know about others.)

Its a decent hotel who have work around that area but as a tourist I would not suggest as its a bit far from main city , if u have connecting flights early mornings and travelling back home early then it's a good bet. Otherwise travelling in the late hours will be a trouble from Zurich lake to this hotel takes at least 20 mins or more by a tram.

Overall a decent hotel value for money.
Note:- you buy anything in this hotel better pay in franc as currency exchange of euro to franc in this hotel is very poor. Better get it done outside. Variation of more then 30% . Big difference.

Good part:- free shuttle service from airport to hotel and tram station near by.
Free wifi, decent breakfast, air conditioned room.

Bad part :- small room, no tea coffee maker in room, far from main city.


Thanks.

Room Tip: Note:- you buy anything in this hotel better pay in franc as currency exchange of euro to franc in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Unexpectedly nice and elegant place, with beautifully designed lobby, very convenient modern rooms, good restaurant, great coffee machines, fulfilling breakfast.

Proximity to Zurich airport makes this place a very attractive option to those who needs catch up with early flights (hotel's shuttle will bring you to the airport).

Besides, service are exceptional in every meaning, pleasant and helpful stuff, willing to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Irina F
A big thank you for your encouraging comment. It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest with us at ibis Zürich Messe Airport and we hope to welcome you again when travelling in Switzerland.
All the best,
Gisela Bolle and the ibis team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I missed a connecting flight. The room was small bit clean. The restaurant staff were friendly. The morning check out staff were friendly. The night reception team were rude, unfriendly, and treated arrivals with the shortest possible level of friendliness and attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Lalaland 0815,
thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that the night staff did not give you the warm welcome you deserve whilst staying with us. Please be sure that I`m going to talk to them. Anyway I very much hope, that we will see you again at our hotel. Kind regards from Zurich Natalia Prange & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Address: Heidi Abel-Weg 5 | Zurich-Oerlikon, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Zurich Messe Airport Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from the Hallenstadion and the Zurich exhibition center. There is a free shuttle bus service for hotel guests that runs between the airport and hotel. The recently renovated hotel boasts 252 comfortable, air-cooled rooms, a contemporary restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and private car park (paying). There is free Wi-Fi access and our bar is open 24 hours a day serving drinks and snacks with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.