We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very suitable for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heidi Abel-Weg 5 | Zurich-Oerlikon, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #68 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very suitable for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found the hotel most suitable for us, we needed to overnight in reasonable distance from the airport for a very early flight. We used the shuttle both to get to the hotel and then for our flight-both times it worked very well. Check-in time was a very helpful 12:00. Check-in staff member was polite and I was pleased to be told about the free wifi without asking for it. Room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Although there is not much in the immediate area (like most off-airport hotels I've stayed in) a bus/tram ride or a 15min min walk will get you to a quite reasonable suburban shopping area beyond the Messe halle,
Only tip I would give is ensure you have a Swiss power plug (the flat lozenge shape) if you want to charge your laptop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    487
    226
    43
    18
See reviews for
139
323
175
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but provides clean basic amenities. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable, but don't expect to find gadgets such as coffee machines and ironing boards in rooms which are more or less standard in North American hotels. We found the complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport very convenient. The restaurant in the hotel has only limited service. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. Once you get used to the area, public transportation to the city is not a problem. The hotel provides better value for money (provided you don't expect luxuries) compared to some other hotels in the airport area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is truly a traveller's hotel. The shuttle comes early to the hotel for your early flights and is complimentary. The restaurant/bar is open 24hrs/day and made good food. The staff is very helpful. Our room was small but sufficient for a quick overnight before our flight. The bathroom is quite small, so a bit of a challenge for two of us getting ready in the morning. Bed was firm and comfortable. Overall, the whole experience was easy and convenient and just what we needed for our last night before going home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable and certainly represents excellent value for money compared to other hotels near Zurich airport. The shuittle bus too and from the airport is a welcome and useful service which means for people such as myself who are not too familiar withthe area you do not need to worry about finding your way to the hotel or paying extra for a taxi. One small problem my room was directly above the bar area and I could hear noise coming from it until around midnight but thiswas only a minor problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks a lot for this positive comment! We wish you a great time and would be happy to welcome you again soon.
Gisela&team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Im a fan of the Ibis chain but this one was a little on the disappointing side. I feel that it should be marketed under the Ibis Budget brand but I guess the price, expensive for an Ibis, prohibits this. The location is within a reasonable distance of Zurich airport but not close and located in a particularly grim part of town. Rooms were tiny compared to other hotels in the chain. I guess it didnt do much to impress when we arrived to see a large group of rough looking young men drinking beer in the carpark. The only saving grace is the underground carpark and the free shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Buellrider
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that you didn’t like our location which is a 5 minute walk from the exhibition center. As you mentioned the airport can be reached within 10 minutes using our free shuttle.
Unfortunately we didn’t understand your comment regarding the ibis budget as our rooms are standard size for ibis as well as the furnishing is. The hotel has been fully renovated in 2010.
Thanks again for having taken the time to write this review. We would be glad to welcome you again soon.
With best regards
Gisela Bolle & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Not too expensive. Clean. Nice dinner menu. Would give the buffet breakfast a miss. Very clean, helpful staff, no porters but trolleys available if you have a lot of luggage. Free wifi and hotel will print tickets, boarding passes etc. free shuttle bus to the airport too. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear emerald11
We are very happy to hear, that you liked your stay in ibis Zürich Messe Airport. Thanks a lot for your great feedback and hopefully we see you soon again.
With best regards
Gisela&team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were pleased with our room and the hospitality of the staff. The shuttle drivers were polite and helpful with information. The only suggestion that WE would make is to put washclothes in the bathrooms. The soap in the bathrooms was had a pleasing aroma and was easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibismesse, Manager at Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear 2TRAVELERS1234
Thanks a lot for this great feedback!
We hope to welcome you again soon and wish you all the best.
Gisela Bolle & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport

Address: Heidi Abel-Weg 5 | Zurich-Oerlikon, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#57 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Zurich Messe Airport Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from the Hallenstadion and the Zurich exhibition center. There is a free shuttle bus service for hotel guests that runs between the airport and hotel. The recently renovated hotel boasts 252 comfortable, air-cooled rooms, a contemporary restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and private car park (paying). There is free Wi-Fi access and our bar is open 24 hours a day serving drinks and snacks with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Zurich Messe-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.