We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dolder Waldhaus Hotel to your Saves list
Dolder Waldhaus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurhausstrasse 20, Zurich 8032, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CHF255 (CHF)
Ranked #53 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Mittelwihr
1 review
“Great service & very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We will definitely return. The staff at this hotel are very courteous, professional and friendly, aiming to please. The location is beautiful, high above the city, just down the road from the Dolder Grand and there are many possibilities for walking outdoors in the adjacent forested area. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the choices included traditional Swiss specialties as well as lighter fare. Overall, we were very pleased with the experience and found it to be a very quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and your kind message.
We really appreciate that you took the time to express your experience.

At the Dolder Waldhaus we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to forward your positive comments to our entire staff.
It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and that especially our food choice in the restaurant was to your liking.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
28
18
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed here several times and I really enjoy the view of the lake and city from the small balcony off the room . Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms have always been clean and well equipped. The hotel offers a free shuttle into the city that runs hourly during the day but I usually take the Dolderbahn which has a station at the hotel. It is a unique cog wheel tram in the public ZVV transportation system. Once you understand how that public transportation system works you can get around the entire city and area very quickly and rather inexpensively.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to hear, that we were able to meet your expectations during your past visits and appreciate your overall positive review.
I have passed on your very kind words to the staff and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love this hotel. Have stayed in many upscale hotels throughout Europe, but we always love to come back here. It is not the same ornate lobby and bustling 5-star service, the Dolder Grand is all that. Yet, we have never felt the lack of opulence leaves anything missing here. This hotel is like having a studio flat with a breathtaking view and amazing balcony. It is spotless clean. The pool is nice. Everything is very high-quality with a a clean and efficient vibe, without being cold. We wish every city we like to visit had a place just like the Dolder Waldhaus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your wonderful comment. We are very happy to hear, that we have convinced you throughout the past years of our product and services.
Please be rest assured, that we will pass on your great review to our colleagues, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to carry out daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I attended a conference at the Dolder Grand just up the hill from Dolder Waldhaus and I have to say the Dolder Waldhaus was a great place to stay. It easy to get to from the Zurich Airport by public transport and they also provide a free shuttle to city center. The room was very comfortable and had all the amenities I needed - even air conditioning. The view from my balcony was even better than the view I had from my balcony up in Dolder Grand. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had actually researched this hotel prior to booking and after reading several reviews, I booked my reservation and recommended them to at least 8 other people in my group who all booked reservations there with me.

-Ann A

Room Tip: I read some reviewers saying they didn't have A/C in their room. Not sure why my friends and I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and your compliments.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and valued our product and services. Please be rest assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to carry out our daily duties with enthusiasm.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your colleagues soon again to the Dolder Waldhaus and wish you all the best for the meantime.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Few hotels have their own mountain railway station! And yet, this rack railway is located within the City of Zurich and included within the ordinary public transport ticket.

This hotel is located in a residential area, on a wooded hillside above the city with outstanding views of the city, the lake of Zurich and across to the Uetliberg.

I had a comfortable, well-equipped modern room with balcony and a spectacular view. Although the hotel does not have airconditioning, the location benefits from any cooling breezes.

Very good buffet breakfast selection to enjoy seated inside or on the large outside terrace.

Although the current buildings date from the 1970s, I was surprised to learn that the hotel will be closing to enable a replacement to be built.

Travelling to your hotel by rack railway is not only a different experience, but the frequent service makes this hotel easily accessible for the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake of Zurich.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and passing on your insightful thoughts.

Being located on the hill, the hotel indeed offers stunning views over the lake side, the Alps and the old part of the City.

Next to the Dolder Bahn, we also offer a complimentary Shuttle Bus, which allows you to reach the city in 15 minutes. Our Shuttle Bus runs daily between 9.35am and 5.35pm between the hotel and the city centre.

Please note, that we do have rooms with airconditioning. Upon your next visit, just ask our Front Desk team, who will be happy to also take note of your request, in your guest profile.

The present hotel building does not meet current operational or energy requirements. There is therefore, a need for renewal. We are planning to replace the present building, which dates from 1972, with a new-build project. The closing of the hotel will start in 2016 at the earliest. Until then, the Dolder Waldhaus will continue to operate unaltered.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Dolder Waldhaus soon and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel recommended by a colleague.Impressed by the pictures of the view that's the reason I chose it.
Actually the view sitting in the balcony is just breathtaking!Especially if the weather conditions helps early morning or during the sunset everything is dreaming.Stunning view of the lake plus the city of Zurich.If you are lucky also with clear sky,in the far south you can distinguish the Alps.
Location and access to the center (Bellevue or HB) are easy until midnight and do not forget also the extra shuttle service!
Nice and relaxing location in the posh area of Zurich.The garden and the indoor swimming contributed also on that.
Apart from that I have to make a special comment to the very polite stuff starting from the cleaners up to the front desk people.
On the other hand I cannot give a 5* to this hotel due to the interior design of the rooms.The single room was just nothing special and in a quite old style.The apartment rooms were different style but still not a good match to the rest of the hotel.Also quite poor room services (How about kettle - coffee ?)
Breakfast also as mentioned is quite poor but in a reasonable price considering the Zurich standards.Tip that the espresso is just excellent!!(for the coffee lovers)

Despite all the negative I just pointed I am looking forward to visit it again during winter time enjoying also the same scenery in different colours!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and sharing your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to hear, that you appreciated the stunning views from your room, as well as our additional services, like the indoor pool and our complimentary shuttle bus. Our Dolder Sports facilities also offer many other attractions, such as an outdoor swimming pool in summer and Europe’s largest ice-skating rink in winter. So why not try those facilities during your future visits with us, since both of them are complimentary for hotel guests.

We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations in regards to the interior design of our rooms. In order to accommodate most of our guest’s taste we have rooms with different styles (classic and modern contemporary).
Also we are unhappy to hear, that you were unable to enjoy our breakfast buffet. Our new breakfast buffet, which was introduced at the beginning this year, became quite popular. We attach great importance to continued enhancement of the attractiveness of the product and services. Since last week, we also offer crispy bacon as an supplement to our variety.

Please also note, that we provide kettles and coffee machines upon request, so next time just ask a member of staff, who will also be happy to place a note in your guest profile for future visits.

We appreciate your positive overall appraisal of your stay with us, as well as your helpful suggestions and look forward to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Dolder Waldhaus for two nights (in a Studio Superior) while on holiday. The hotel is located on a hill, with a stunning view over Zürich.

The service was great and the lovely receptionist was very helpful. For me, travelling by car, I really appreciated the free parking in the garage (accessible 24h).

The room was nice and clean, with a well-stocked minibar and a balcony with fantastic view over the city. I loved that there was fresh fruit in the room on arrival. Bathroom was also good.

The downsides would be that the room got quite warm (30 degrees celsius outside), even at night. Also, the door to the corridor let in quite a bit of noise, so the cleaning staff woke me up both mornings. Not a very big issue though. The bed lamp didn't work but i could live without that.

Overall I'm happy with my stay and would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr Norlund

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and its positive title.

We appreciate your positive overall opinion and are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. Also, we are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our services, the in-room amenities and the beautiful view from your room.

Please accept our apologies for the high temperature in your room. We assure you, that we have taken note of your requirements and will assign a room with an air-condition during your next stay with us. Please also be rest assured, that with have double checked the lightning in the room, which is working properly.

We continuously strive to meet our guest’s expectations and your feedback will help us to improve our services.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolder Waldhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Address: Kurhausstrasse 20, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#35 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolder Waldhaus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated location on the Zurichberg yet only a few minutes away from the city centre, the Dolder Waldhaus offers a wonderful panoramic view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. The ideal setting for business trips and city breaks if you wish to combine peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolder Waldhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dolder Waldhaus
Dolder Waldhaus zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.