We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few hotels have their own mountain railway station - and in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolder Waldhaus Hotel to your Saves list
Dolder Waldhaus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurhausstrasse 20, Zurich 8032, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Derbyshire UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Few hotels have their own mountain railway station - and in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Few hotels have their own mountain railway station! And yet, this rack railway is located within the City of Zurich and included within the ordinary public transport ticket.

This hotel is located in a residential area, on a wooded hillside above the city with outstanding views of the city, the lake of Zurich and across to the Uetliberg.

I had a comfortable, well-equipped modern room with balcony and a spectacular view. Although the hotel does not have airconditioning, the location benefits from any cooling breezes.

Very good buffet breakfast selection to enjoy seated inside or on the large outside terrace.

Although the current buildings date from the 1970s, I was surprised to learn that the hotel will be closing to enable a replacement to be built.

Travelling to your hotel by rack railway is not only a different experience, but the frequent service makes this hotel easily accessible for the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake of Zurich.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and passing on your insightful thoughts.

Being located on the hill, the hotel indeed offers stunning views over the lake side, the Alps and the old part of the City.

Next to the Dolder Bahn, we also offer a complimentary Shuttle Bus, which allows you to reach the city in 15 minutes. Our Shuttle Bus runs daily between 9.35am and 5.35pm between the hotel and the city centre.

Please note, that we do have rooms with airconditioning. Upon your next visit, just ask our Front Desk team, who will be happy to also take note of your request, in your guest profile.

The present hotel building does not meet current operational or energy requirements. There is therefore, a need for renewal. We are planning to replace the present building, which dates from 1972, with a new-build project. The closing of the hotel will start in 2016 at the earliest. Until then, the Dolder Waldhaus will continue to operate unaltered.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Dolder Waldhaus soon and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
34
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel recommended by a colleague.Impressed by the pictures of the view that's the reason I chose it.
Actually the view sitting in the balcony is just breathtaking!Especially if the weather conditions helps early morning or during the sunset everything is dreaming.Stunning view of the lake plus the city of Zurich.If you are lucky also with clear sky,in the far south you can distinguish the Alps.
Location and access to the center (Bellevue or HB) are easy until midnight and do not forget also the extra shuttle service!
Nice and relaxing location in the posh area of Zurich.The garden and the indoor swimming contributed also on that.
Apart from that I have to make a special comment to the very polite stuff starting from the cleaners up to the front desk people.
On the other hand I cannot give a 5* to this hotel due to the interior design of the rooms.The single room was just nothing special and in a quite old style.The apartment rooms were different style but still not a good match to the rest of the hotel.Also quite poor room services (How about kettle - coffee ?)
Breakfast also as mentioned is quite poor but in a reasonable price considering the Zurich standards.Tip that the espresso is just excellent!!(for the coffee lovers)

Despite all the negative I just pointed I am looking forward to visit it again during winter time enjoying also the same scenery in different colours!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and sharing your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to hear, that you appreciated the stunning views from your room, as well as our additional services, like the indoor pool and our complimentary shuttle bus. Our Dolder Sports facilities also offer many other attractions, such as an outdoor swimming pool in summer and Europe’s largest ice-skating rink in winter. So why not try those facilities during your future visits with us, since both of them are complimentary for hotel guests.

We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations in regards to the interior design of our rooms. In order to accommodate most of our guest’s taste we have rooms with different styles (classic and modern contemporary).
Also we are unhappy to hear, that you were unable to enjoy our breakfast buffet. Our new breakfast buffet, which was introduced at the beginning this year, became quite popular. We attach great importance to continued enhancement of the attractiveness of the product and services. Since last week, we also offer crispy bacon as an supplement to our variety.

Please also note, that we provide kettles and coffee machines upon request, so next time just ask a member of staff, who will also be happy to place a note in your guest profile for future visits.

We appreciate your positive overall appraisal of your stay with us, as well as your helpful suggestions and look forward to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Dolder Waldhaus for two nights (in a Studio Superior) while on holiday. The hotel is located on a hill, with a stunning view over Zürich.

The service was great and the lovely receptionist was very helpful. For me, travelling by car, I really appreciated the free parking in the garage (accessible 24h).

The room was nice and clean, with a well-stocked minibar and a balcony with fantastic view over the city. I loved that there was fresh fruit in the room on arrival. Bathroom was also good.

The downsides would be that the room got quite warm (30 degrees celsius outside), even at night. Also, the door to the corridor let in quite a bit of noise, so the cleaning staff woke me up both mornings. Not a very big issue though. The bed lamp didn't work but i could live without that.

Overall I'm happy with my stay and would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr Norlund

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and its positive title.

We appreciate your positive overall opinion and are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. Also, we are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our services, the in-room amenities and the beautiful view from your room.

Please accept our apologies for the high temperature in your room. We assure you, that we have taken note of your requirements and will assign a room with an air-condition during your next stay with us. Please also be rest assured, that with have double checked the lightning in the room, which is working properly.

We continuously strive to meet our guest’s expectations and your feedback will help us to improve our services.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The building does not have character but being tall and set on a hill the views over city and lake are amazing . For Switzerland the room price was not too bad and the service and restaurant were good . The funicular railway up to the top of the Zurich hill made for a good excursion in the small amount of time available .The small balcony was excellent

Room Tip: higher floors had better views . single rooms while not huge were adequate .. great corner balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Madame
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and sharing your positive thoughts with us.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfil your expectations regarding our room rates, service and the restaurant.

Most of our rooms have indeed a stunning view over the old town of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Why don’t you take advantage of our complimentary shuttle bus during your next visit. It runs hourly to the city and back between 9.35am and 5.35pm and just takes 15 minutes.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed on business for three nights. My last night instead of going out to eat, I liked the Hotel so much that I picked up some sandwiches and a bottle of wine and just sat on my balcony, overlooking Zurich. The room was lovely, as was the view. It felt like a real home from home. Despite the fact that it is approximately an hour from the Hotel to my office, I would happily stay there again. The hotel is quite remote, on the outskirts of the city, which depending on your reason for staying can be good or bad. Happily, the Mountain Car takes you to tram 15 in a few minutes and from there you can be near Opera in 15 minutes, so it is perfectly acceptable, I'd definitely stay there again,

Personal experience is that I would avoid room service however.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Zurch facing room, although I think that they all do, and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and its great complimentary title. It was a pleasure to host you and we are pleased to hear, that you liked your room and our services. Most of our rooms have indeed a stunning view, overlooking the old town of Zurich, the lake and the Alpes. We are also happy to hear, that you found our «shuttle bus» to the city centre convenient. It runs hourly, between 9.35am and 5.35pm and takes just ten minutes to Münsterhof.
Please accept our apologies, that our room service facilities fell short of your expectations. We can assure you, that we attach great importance to maintaining and enhancing the attractiveness of our product and services and appreciate your valuable feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Dolder Waldhaus and wish you all the best for the meantime.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Family of three and we were given an apartment on the 5th floor with a great view from the balcony. Professional service staff at the reception, the restaurant and a house-keeping staff who delivered the extra pillows we requested.

The under floor heating in the bathroom was a pleasant surprise.

Free (working) wi-fi was a bonus after having to pay for intermittent wi-fi in Munich Mercure and in Berlin Azimut.

Room Tip: High floor above the trees with a view of the lake and city. (5th floor and above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay the Dolder Waldhaus and your great review.

We appreciate your positive overall opinion and are delighted to hear, that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations regarding the under floor heating in the bathroom and the complimentary WIFI access.

Please be rest assured that I will also forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and perform our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed only one night at the end of March but were quite pleased. Very respectful hotel, friendly staff,spectacular view over Zurich and the lake, located in the forest. Though a bit ugly outside, very nice looking inside. In the room everything looks new (furniture, carpet, wall paper), small kitchen, small balcony. Beds are nice and convinient, bathroom is big and comfortable. Nice presents were made for the children and welcoming fruit plate was fresh.
At breakfast no hot dishes except for boiled eggs though you can order an omlett at an additional price. I think it will suite you if you are travelling by car (which we did) - otherwise would be quite difficult to get there. Parking is free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and its great complimentary title.
We are delighted to hear, that we were able to meet your expectations in regards to the in room amenities, the quality of room as well as the breakfast.
We are also glad to hear that the introduction of our new beakfast buffet variety (which also includes new products such as scrambled eggs), at the same price as before (CHF 24.00 per person) is becoming more and more popular.
It is only our unique location, which can provide guests with the fantastic views overlooking the old town of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Still, we are just a 10 minutes car ride away from the city centre. Our complimentary shuttle bus, running daily between 9.35am and 5.35pm, would be delighted to bring to and pick you up from Münsterhof (city centre) during your next stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Thomas Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolder Waldhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Address: Kurhausstrasse 20, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolder Waldhaus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated location on the Zurichberg yet only a few minutes away from the city centre, the Dolder Waldhaus offers a wonderful panoramic view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. The ideal setting for business trips and city breaks if you wish to combine peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolder Waldhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dolder Waldhaus
Dolder Waldhaus zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.