We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that Houses her Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest's House

Save Saved
You added The Guest's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Guest's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Doltschihalde 49 | On Sheraton Atlantis property, Zurich 8055, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 123 hotels in Zurich
India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Hotel that Houses her Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

For an Indian traveller a guesthouse means a kind of basic accommodation offering basic facilities at an economical price. Thus when I opted for this hotel I had this notion of what to expect. I was therefore in for a big surprise. Though hotel's facade is devoid of any adornment or fanciful exteriors, the inside, that is the rooms and its amenities are definitely more than what is expected from a 'guesthouse' in Indian terminology. Rooms are large, with decent facilities and the 'bathroom is a room too'! The morning breakfast was sumptuous and staff quite friendly. Only problem is with the address; as the street Doltschihalde could not be located on GPS with older software. Here again the hotel staff helped by giving clue of a larger thoroughfare nearby, namely, Schweizhof Strasse. In all, Atlantis is a decent place for the one who is looking for economy as well as comfort at a little extra price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
43
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iran
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in mid July , it was the hotel that was supposed to be and completely fulfilled my expectations. It is a value for money hotel in quiet beautiful suburb of Zurich. Don't think it is too far away from the city center, it is just 10 minute by a train running just in front of the hotel to the city center and Bahnhofstrasse. I do not remember the price of the tickets but I pretty sure that it was not too high, the hotel is in the main traffic zone of Zurich so you can use the train thicket with all other transportation systems like tram , boats .... If being in Zurich happen to me again , I will definitely stays in Atlantis guest house again. (see my attached photos to get a felling of the where the hotel is)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We have just got back from a long trip which included two nights at the Hotel Atlantis Gusesthouse. When we booked it we did not realise that it wasnt in the centre of Zurich but it was no problem , just a few minutes on the local train getting off at Triemle. You have to go back on yourself and walk across a crossing on the railway line to get to the guesthouse and then it is just a two minute walk from there, a little steep with your suitcases but if you are reasonably fir it should not be a problem. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine, not an enormous choice but certainly enough to fill you up and very tasty. The lifts were a bit weird and the doors were just like opening a normal door, not automatic so dont just stand ther YOU have to open it. Rooms were comfortableand had tea and coffe making facilities and a fridge which was handy!! Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

In our stay in Zurich, we stayed at Hotel Bristol in old town (Rick Steve's top pick) and the Atlantis Guesthouse hotel, and the difference was the noise! (The Sheraton is being remodeled so it isn't available right now) The food for both breakfast was similar, though I think the Atlantis was better and the servers very friendly, the rooms typically small - expected in europe, but the real difference was the noise. I will definitely choose the hotel Atlantis over any hotel in old town - car noise and people noise go into the night, and you don't hear any of that at Atlantis - just make sure you know where you are going!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed here for a night with family. The hotel is located in the outskirts of Zurich. The entrance is okay and the personnel is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and the bath room looks old but the bed and pillow were amazing, so soft!! Getting to the congress (close to the city centre) house was 27-28 Francs with the taxi and took about 10 minutes. Taxi drivers don't appreciate it when you try to lower the price a bit! At breakfast there was not a lot of choice but the croissants were nice and the eggs were cheerfully coloured. There was free parking and free wireless access.

The hotel is nice but not special but is certainly compared to other hotels in Zurich cheap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Located two minutes from train station .Staff very helpfull. Clean small bedrooms but adequate .Located around green hills perfectly for people who like trekking.Very good restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I was apprehesive when I made the booking because of not being familiar with the area but upon arriving was pleasantly surprised. It is in a very quiet area, it is a very short walk to the station and trains are approx every 10 minutes which takes you into Zurich's main station.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even wrapping my excess luggage to go back to Australia.
The breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was a very pleasant experience.
The room was small but still well appointed with a desk, tv. table and chairs for two plus tea and coffee making. I especially liked being able to open the windows which allowed a breath of fresh air into the room even though it was minus 7c and snowing.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend the Atlantis Guest House and I look forward to staying there again .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guest's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest's House

Address: Doltschihalde 49 | On Sheraton Atlantis property, Zurich 8055, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest's House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Guest's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.