We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sternen Oerlikon Hotel to your Saves list
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
1 review
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A very good hotel - friendly staff, ideal location, good value for Zurich. The hotel is easily reached by train or tram from Zurich airport. Take tram 10 or 14 (about a minute walk from hotel) to Zurich HB. Breakfast is 18 chf, which is not bad for Zurich standard. Cold cuts, bread, eggs, yoghurt, cereal, orange juice, coffee - quite delicious. We requested for a room with balcony and got just that. The room was a good size and the bathroom was surprisingly very spacious. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sternen Oerlikon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear StefT22

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    75
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
45
15
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel itself is quite average. But several things make it distinctive. Firstly, staff. They are amicable. We find umbrellas in rains, advice for roundabouts and a price reduction for very late checkout. Secondly, location. Its between the airport and city center. So, everything for a short stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Gregory

Thank you so much for your time to share your experience at the Sternen Oerlikon hotel with us and with other travelers.

We are happy you liked your stay with us and that our team could be supportive to you.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

first time in zurich n why i choosed the hotel because of the good review in tripadvisor. Indeed it was good and up to my standard.

Breakfast was good and fresh. welcome drinks upon arrival and you may choose to have it at the bar.nearby to coop supermarket and also tram/train. The staff was helpful and definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Miko C

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was comfortable in regards to amenities. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the shower was large and the bathroom modern. Even though the air conditioning worked we still found our room quite stuffy.

House keeping always did a great job at cleaning the room!

This hotel is located close to transport both trams and trains.

Staff were friendly and welcoming but weren't able to assist us in planning day trips outside of Zurich and we had to manage this on our own.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear chef8627

Thank you so much for your review and your time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's great to hear you liked our beds and pillows and thank you for the compliment to the housekeeping for doing a great job.

I'm very sorry we weren't able to help you with the planning of your day trips. It's good you tell us, so we have the possibility to improve our service. We already had an in-house training for this with our front office members.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcoming you again at our Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid July 2013, and was thankful for the room AC as we didn't realize how hot it was going to be during our stay (upper 80's). We booked our room through Priceline and they offered two room types, a street side room and for a little more money they offered an inside room facing the courtyard. This is misleading as there is no courtyard. We stayed in room 416 which was not on the street side and was very quiet but the view was of the back of other buildings. This was no fault of the hotel, just misleading information from Priceline. We arrived around 1pm and was allowed to check in. During our stay the staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean with a queen size bed instead of 2 twins pushed together which was nice. The bed was on the firm side, not hard but very firm. The shower was incredible and included shampoo and body wash. You would never know by the size of the shower that you were in Europe, you could bathe without touching the walls or the curtain. They also provided face cloths which you don't usually get in Europe. The room was equipped with a hair dryer and a safe and for an additional fee you could get a fridge and/or coffee/tea making facilities in the room which would be great for an extended stay. They had a good sized elevator and in the lobby there was free access to a computer. Breakfast was included in our room rate and we also received two free welcome drinks and two free 24 hour public transportation tickets which was above and beyond what we expected. Breakfast was a variety of cereals, breads, chesses, meats, yogurts, juice, fruits, and one nice additional touch was they cooked to order eggs per your request. This is a great location, Tram 10 is a direct 15 min. to the airport at no additional cost and the old town is about 10 min. in the opposite direction and the tram stop is a block away from the hotel. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and the local supermarket is Coop which is a 3 min. walk from the hotel. Compared to the prices at the down town hotels, this hotel is by far the best choice for Zurich. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tacobob

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with other travelers.

We are very happy you liked your stay at our Sternen Oerlikon hotel and it's great we could surprise you with our summer package offer.

Providing perfect service for a fair rate is one of our important ambitions.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again at our house.

Sincerely yours,
Susy Pfister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Three of us stayed at Hotel Sternen Oerlikon between 5 July and 8 July 2013. The hotel is easy to arrive just take the city tram no.10 or no.14 from Zurich BF to Sternen Oerlikon station. Hotel is small but triple room is very spacious,clean and comfortable.We stayed three nights and paid 591 CHF(room rate including breakfast). In Zurich, I think it's a very value-for-money place.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear JupingWu

Thank you so much for your review and for the time doing so.
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel Sternen Oerlikon and that you had a great time in Zurich.
It's important to us to offer great service and hospitality with a reasonable price to our guests.

We hope to see you soon again and wish you all the best.

Sincerely yours
Susy Pfister
your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night before catching my flight back home, primary reason for choosing this hotel was the amount of good reviews I read about the place and I was definitely not disappointed.

So what does this hotel offer overall.

A good location - check.
Excellent tram and train connectivity - check
Shops and food joints at close proximity - check
Comfortable rooms with central air conditioning - check
Hot and cold running water - check
Iron board on request, converter plugs on request - check check.

So yes it will offer you most of the facilities you are looking for, however personally for me what really turned it around was the service and in particular front office attendant Ms.Zoey speck, now these are the kind of people that any hotel who wants regular clientele should hire. Warm welcoming informative and professional is how I would describe the front office behaviour top this off with a smile and you have a great reason on why tourists should stay at the sternen oerlikon hotel, this was my first visit to Switzerland and I don't speak German or French and understandably it's a great comfort when communication is warm and welcoming.

I had an early flight and did not stay back for breakfast but they do serve breakfast from 6 to 11 on weekends. Standard breakfast is 18 chf per person and express breakfast is 8 chf per person.

The room was very comfortable, reasonably spacious and had a road side view, i personally prefer roadside views, beds were comfortable just one small complaint is my bed in room 308 was creaky and would creak pretty loudly each time i turn, luckily for me i don't toss and turn much and hence slept blissfully.

If you want tram or train tickets you can inform the front desk and they will provide you with the same without any extra charges, i got my tram tickets to the airport from the reception.

additionally do ask and check with front office for recommendations on nearby restaurants you are bound to get some good inputs.

All in all a good stay and recommended to future travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your lengthy raport about your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

We are glad to hear, that you had a great time at Zurich and that we could be part of your nice experience.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon during your next visit to Switzerland.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
#18 Family Hotel in Zurich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.