We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sternen Oerlikon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland (Oerlikon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Mathod
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

He loved this hotel in Zurich. It's near Hallenstadium (tranway 10 the next stop, tranway 11 deux stops). The room are design, clear, I loved the bed. Your hotel in Zurich oerlikon (near airport). EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Traveller

We thank you very much for your time to share your experiences with other travellers.

It is nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Zurich.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    67
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
39
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
729 reviews 729 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located outside of the city center but is easily reached by the Oerlikon train station. It is the same train line that runs constantly between the city and the airport.

The hotel is located about 200 meters from the station on a well lit street. There is bus transport on the street if you desire to wait or have large bags you cannot carry.

The hotel rooms are clean and modern in design. The beds are comfortable and the location is quiet for a good night sleep. The WIFI is included in the room price and works well. For the price offered this was a great hotel to base yourself in Zurich whether on tourism or business. There is enough desk space to work at your hotel and the convenience of the train makes easy access to the city center. The train ride is about 10 minutes at the most to the main station.

The staff was kind welcoming and helpful. This is also a good hotel to use if you need a stay the night before an early departure at the airport .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear traveller

Thank you very much for your time and your great feedback about your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon. We are lucky to read that you could enjoy your stay at Zurich.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay.

Best regards
Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A good quality, clean and modern hotel in the Oerlikon area of Zurich. It is a convenient solution for a business traveller and would be suitable also for personal travel. Other areas of Zurich, including the airport can be reached conveniently by train or tram. The personnel at the reception and in the breakfast room are friendly and courteous. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished with modern design features and clean. I would definitely recommend staying here to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and not looking over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon. We are happy to read, that you apreciated our service and that you had a nice stay at Zurich.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was the first time I stayed at this hotel. We went to see two concerts at the Hallenstadium. A great discover in Oerlikon. The staff at the reception, bar and restaurant were helpful and friendly. They provided all the necessary information without having to ask them. The room was modern, simply and tastefully decorated. We had a superior room and there was plenty of space. Good wifi connection too. It was clean and had all the necessary comforts such as a good sized TV and complementary water. Upon arrival we were all given a coupon for welcome drink of our choice. The beds had nice white starched linen sheets and were very comfortable. Despite the hotel being right on the road the place was very quiet. Nice menu and good food at the Brasserie. I would recommend it to anyone going to the Hallenstadium to stay there and that is where I will be returning to when I go back to see another concert.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the road but despite that the rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Traveller

Many thanks for your time to write a long report about your experience at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon. It is very kind of you to share those great experiences with other travellers.

We are very happy to hear that we could offer you a pleasant stay at Zurich Oerlikon.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent mid level hotel. Courteous staff, good simple breakfast, convenient to all types of local businesses and restaurants, and a tram stop just one block away. You can take a tram from the main train station and be just steps from the hotel. Totally refurnished hotel rooms are like brand new. Nice, clean, comfortable. Sweet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Travellers

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

We are glad to hear that we could persuade you with our hospitality and service and that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

“ Very Clean and morden. The location is good, a bit far from city center, but Zurich is not a big city, the hotel is nearby the Tram station and makes easy to go to anywhere. Very good hotel, i will definitely come back again. ”

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your stay at the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay.

It would be a great peasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Susy Pfister
host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellence quality / price ratio for Zurich. It's not in the center but it's really easy and quick to get there by bus-train. Nothing to complain. Service is more than good and breakfast is very complete.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsternenoerlikon, Manager at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Travellers

Thank you very much for your time to share your experiences with other travellers.

We are very glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that we could persuade you with our hospitality and service.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Sternen Oerlikon.

Kind regards

Susy Pfister
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sternen Oerlikon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sternen Oerlikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sternen Oerlikon
Sternen Oerlikon zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sternen Oerlikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.