We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it was because this was the last day of the trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Alexander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niederdorfstrasse 40, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CHF20 off room rate
Ranked #35 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe it was because this was the last day of the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Maybe I was tired because ot was the last day of my trip, but this place bothered me. Their driving directions were not so good – fortunately my gps proved reliable. It was very expensive, but not that great of a room – no AC, for one thing (make sure to ask for it – some rooms have it). The windows open on a loading dock for a supermarket! The driver blew the horn at about 6:30am! The block has two nudie bars on it. The whole city (including the confusing high-rise airport) felt like it was designed to sell you something at double the normal price. For instance, the pizza place across from the hotel charged 4 euros to give us two plates for the one pizza we ordered to share and, of course, charged 2 euros for water -- a 23 euro pizza for 29 euros. That got old fast. In the hotel, the walls were thin. But there was good wifi. The parking was great (not free, of course). The Nigerian bellman was very pleasant. Otherwise, this was a rude enough experience to make me be sure never to stay in central Zurich again.

Room Tip: Get AC. Ask for the Rick Steves discount (supposed to show the book). Book parking in advance. Learn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear splanknon

We would like to thank you that you have chosen Hotel Alexander and that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay.

We apologize for the bed impression you have had from our town.

Your right not all our rooms have AC. For environmental protection reasons the AC starts working only if it’s more than 18 degrees outside.

Antonio our bellman was very happy reading your compliment about his service.

We wish you a nice day and hope you come back to Zürich one day to explore also it’s beauty.

Kind regards

The staff of Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    115
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
90
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My colleagues and I are visiting Zurich for business every few weeks. We chose Alexander to be our hotel in Zurich because it's a great combination of lovely small hotel, personal service, for reasonable pricing for Zurich and great location of 5 min to Zurich main station. In addition even the single rooms are specious (well, not to golf but clearly to move around :) ) and the breakfast is good and also vegeis have enough options to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Avichai E

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Alexander. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your compliments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards

The staff from Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I spend 2 nights here. It is reasonable walking distance from the main train station, and as well as the main shopping areas. Coop is not too far away as well. Breakfast is adequate. Room has free wifi :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear S C

Thank you very much for having had the privilege to be your host.

We appreciate your affirmative and very motivating estimation. Those are important indications which support us in regard of our strategy and our decisions.

We are thankfully aware of our privilege of being located in the beautiful historic city center of Zurich. Most places of interest are within walking distance like the main railroad station, cultural sites, restaurants, the river Limmat and the Lake of Zurich. It is a town that knows how to keep it’s many secrets. Even the local people discover new things time and again. It’s Zurich, the arcane treasury.

Best regards from Switzerland
Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotels aren't cheap in Zurich and this was one of the cheapest we could find that was still centrally located. All sights for tourists are within easy walking distance. Rooms are very modern and clean. Wifi Internet is fast and free. Breakfast is simple but nice, the lady there each morning was friendly and helpful. Recommended, I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Danovich

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback following your stay at Hotel Alexander. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback about our staff. We have informed the ladies in the breakfast room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

The staff of Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent four nights for business. Very easy access from Zurich HauptBahnhof (main station). Just five-minutes walk! Located on narrow and clouded street, very convenient for shopping, eating or sightseeing. Staffs were polite but not so friendly. You can enjoy free Wi-Fi.Breakfast was traditional swiss style and tasty enough. I recommend this budget-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Reed&Shiho

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to thank you very much that you recommend our hotel.

We shall be giving the topic called friendliness our best attention and assure you that every endeavour will be made on our side to prevent such evaluations from appearing again. We apologize that you appear to have been attended to without due friendliness.

We wish you a nice day and hope we can accommodate you soon again.

The Hotel Alexander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This cosy refurbished hotel is located in the heart of Zurich, about 10 minutes walking distance from the main railway station.Situated on a pedestrian only road, it is quite near the river , Bahnhofstrasse-the main shopping street and other places of attraction . There are several nice restaurants near the hotel. Breakfast was sumptous and staff very polite.

Good for overnight stay or business trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Daer sreedevi_palit

We thank you very much for your kind review on you stay in our hotel Alexander.
It is a pleasure for us to hear your compliments about our staff. Your good compliments do encourage our team to do their best work each day.

Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you soon again.

We wish you a nice day.

Kind regards

The hotel Alexander team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived Zurich unwell after fight from Australia, staff very kindly provided room at 7am & sought medical help for me, the room was comfortable & quiet which I needed. We returned to the Alexander in January & it was nice to be welcomed by the staff asking after my health. It was lovely to be treated unobtrusively & made to feel that nothing was a bother, would definitely stay at the Alexander if we return to Zurich. Location couldn't be more convenient & staff couldn't have been nicer, once again a big thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Wandy A

We thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your evaluations have an enormous motivating effect on our team, and they support us in our daily work. We will share you commendations with all the staff.

We wish you to have a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours truly

Hotel Alexander’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 40, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Family Hotel in Zurich
#48 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our owner-managed hotel is ideally located in the middle of Zurich's Old Town - at just 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station.Virtually everything of interest is within short walking distance. Not just only Zurich's well-known landmarks but also the business quarters with the banks and shops, the high-end shopping district «Bahnhofstrasse», the university quarters, amongst them the ETH «Federal Institute of Technology», the car-free lake- and riverside promenades and many Cafés, bars and restaurants.The Hotel Alexander, renovated in February 2012, has more than 41 lavishly appointed and well tended non smoking rooms. Energy saving LED bulbs, a much enhanced panoramic view of the historic center thanks to its new windows, comfy beds and bright modern bathrooms turn your stay into a very enjoyable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.