We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ascot to your Saves list
Hotel Ascot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Ascot Zurich was a nice surprise, especially after reading some not so nice things about it. It's located just opposite the Enge train station, and tram stop, a very convenient location, yet quiet. The hotel is a typical 4 star business hotel, with a bit old fashioned rooms, but equiped with everything someone might expect, and with touches normally found in 5 star hotels, like welcome amenities, turn down service and bathrobes and slippers. Our junior suite was quite spacious, and very clean, and we did not might the 90s style interior. Service at the property was really nice and very kind, and we left with nice memories from this property. Breakfast is a nice one also.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
54
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Very comfortable and friendly staff. Central location close to the tram lines. Good breakfast. Reasonable rates.

Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

this hotel is in a very good location in front of the Enge Rail station and 10 minutes from the lake.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

well, shame on this hotel which I could not get any sleep as the room on top of the kitchen was extremely noisy til midnight and early in the morning...complete waist of money and not up to 4 stars + they pretend. I have been proprely had

Not recommending that place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Although we heard pretty decent things about this Hotel it turned out to be a nightmare! When making reservations we triple checked this Hotel has Air Conditioning as the current temperatures in Zurich easily reach over a humid 90, and AC is not standard. After assuring us that the entire Hotel has AC we booked 2 rooms; the high price seemed worth the comfort of a 4 star Hotel. What a dissapointment! Our rooms had no AC, just like half the other rooms in the Hotel; the 4 stars must have been awarded in the last century because that's how old and used the rooms and furniture looked like. Then there was noone to help us with the lagguage, the bell boy must have gone to cool off from the stifling lobby heat. Even the reserved breakfast was never served or delivered and we took to our flight starving. But to top it all, the Hotel car wouldn't move from the entrance when I tried to load my car (myself) and then I got yelled at from the receptionist for blocking a rail line the porter informed me is never used and could be parked on! It was just terrible attitude. There are plenty of other, up to date 4 star Hotels in Zurich where the staff is at least trying to serve the well paying customer. Dont repeat our mistake!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ascot, Marketing & Sales at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
Dear guest (name of the guest is known to Hotel Ascot)

Thank you for posting this review on tripadvisor.com.

Please, accept our apologies for the room service breakfast which was indeed not delivered. We have already improved the procedures and intensively trained our front office and service staff in order to avoid this from happening again.

As you stated, there is a/c in half of our rooms, those with a view to the city and balcony. All other rooms with view to the inner courtyard do not dispose of a/c. We would have loved to offer you rooms with a/c but accept that you did not want to move from the rooms you were first brought to.

It surely is a standard of Hotel Ascot to always have a porter available in the hotel lobby during daytime. We regret this was not the case upon your arrival but were confident it would be acceptable to you that your luggage was brought to your rooms a few minutes later by a front office staff member.

Concerning the rail line, we would like to apologize for the oppositional statements of our staff. It is indeed prohibited to park on the rail lines though they are rarely ever used. We will ensure that in the future every staff member gives the same information. We would like to apologize for you feeling that one of our staff members adopted the wrong tone.

Once again, thank you for giving us the possibility to reply to your review. We take your impressions very seriously and would be happy to welcome you back to correct your impressions of hotel Ascot.

Hotel Ascot
Verena Kern, Sales & Marketings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

A warm reception awaits every guest. Repeat visitors find their desired pillows already in their room, along with chocolates and sparkling water gratis. The valet, like the rest of the hotel staff, is efficient and caring. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, and quiet. The bar is one of the best in Zurich, as is the restaurant, which has outstanding food and service. It is the only place we ever stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

A nicely positioned (for business) commercial hotel - a short walk from the lake.

Don't be fooled by the snappy Website for this "four star" hotel. It is is small establishment with a little reception area and one bar/restaurant - a bit limited in this regard. If you are not expecting a lot, you won't be disappointed because the staff are friendly and most things work (apart from the mini safe in my bedroom).

Other facilities (business centre - swimming pool etc are non existent)

Like most things in Switzerland - its expensive - I paid Swiss Francs 402 per night for an ordinary, but comfortable room. I feel I could have got more/better for my money if I had really tried

The bar is popular with locals after work but is quiet and cosy most other times. Food in the Colonial Restaurant is good and worth a visit - excellent wine list as well.

My conclusion? Its acceptable but if you want a view and 4 star facilities, look elsewhere

  • Liked — Its convenient to the town
  • Disliked — Pretty basic (and pricey) for a "4" star hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ascot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.