We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Storchen Zurich to your Saves list
Storchen Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Storchen 3 days - for us it was ideal in location, service, comfort, amenities. The Concierge (Gennaro Archidiacono) was particularly helpful. The room view (of the St Peters Church) was fine - we saw much of the river at other times. For us it was perfect; an ideal hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and of course i will inform Gennaro about your nice words.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    96
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
170
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had the wonderful experience of staying in the Storchen at the end of a two week trip last September-October that started in Munich at Oktoberfest. The hotel is right on the Limmat in the Altstadt close to the tourist action spots. The staff is absolutely wonderful as was the room. We stayed in a double room overlooking the Limmat. Nice size with unbelievably comfortable bed. The view was so relaxing.
The restaurant was excellent. Our stay included buffet breakfast each morning that had a large selection that was very good. The location is great for walking around all of the sites of the old town. Close to shops and the famous Bahnofstrasse luxury shops.
We were driving so finding how exactly to get to the hotel was interesting. It involved driving in a pedestrian only zone (allowed for hotel guests). The valet was very friendly, prompt and had our baggage unloaded and car whisked away in no time. The hotel is a bit pricey but Zurich is on the high end of the scale in that category. The experience was wonderful and we would stay there again if back in Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and it is great to see that we were able to end your trip in Europe with a good Impression. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel right on the river is a wonderful example of class and beauty. Champaign breakfast every morning on the river front and a great location which is close to everything including train station.We loved every moment of it

Room Tip: try to get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Haveing you all the way from Kentucky was a great pleasure and motivating for us to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your kind words and we wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in late September (6 nights) and early October (5 nights) at Hotel züm Storchen. We were consistently pleased with the rooms, breakfast buffet, and responsiveness of all of the staff members with whom we came into contact. Among the hotels at which we have stayed, we deem Hotel züm Storchen among the very best. We thank them for their hospitality and their kindnesses.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Limmat River are great, though they are a bit pricier than those facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for your rating and your kind words. It is great to see that we were able to make your stay as pleasant as possible and this twice in a row. This is what we are aiming that you always feel at home in the Storchen.

We wish you a wonderful fall and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A marvellous experience! The staff at reception, concierge, restaurant and housekeeping are like a family who couldn't do enough to make my stay of a total of 8 days so memorable. They displayed genuine pride and pleasure in their work and attended to every detail. The meals were exceptional and served in beautiful surroundings. Centrally located, the hotel was only steps away from shopping,conducting business or enjoying the many sights that Zürich has to offer. I always looked forward to returning to my tastefully decorated and ultra clean room overlooking the River Limmat--like a sanctuary. I returned to Canada, having purchased one of the Storks--it serves as a reminder of the exceptional experience at the Hotel Storchen.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the River Limmat. If you are tall, you might want to avoid a room on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest !

thank you so much for your kind words and it is so great to see that we made your stay as comfotable and enjoyable as possible. We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel with great views in a great location on the river. You just had to walk across a bridge right by the hotel to get to old town. There were many nice stores right by the hotel. The staff was more than helpful. The rooms were large with large bathrooms and nicely appointed. There was fruit, water and candy in our room. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast buffet. We were very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. It is our motivation to see that guests enjoyed their stay in our Hotel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank God I chose the Storchen!!! Couldn't be more right. I love the old city, the views of the Zurisee, the people, the glamour of these old streets and excellent shops. This hotel has the perfect location.

And of course, the service, my room, the meals... outstanding.

Mariano HM Zwicky (Haiti)

Room Tip: I loved the ones facing the Limmat river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is our great pleasure and motivation to see that we are pushing the right buttons to make you feel comfortable in the Storchen.

Best regards and hope to see you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 132 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Baur au Lac
#1 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#2 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storchen Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.