We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Save Saved
You added Storchen Zurich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A very elegant hotel, matching the entire old town of Zurich.

It certainly was impressive - grand breakfast room where you could have breakfast overlooking the river (and breakfast was good too). The rooms were reasonably spacious, bed is electric that sits you up to read or lifts your legs.

Bathroom felt a touch dated and small given the size of the room. Finishes were good, but you can see it hadn't been renovated for some time.

Staff at the front desk had remarkable memories, we were never asked for our room number after check in to collect our key. Impressive.

Tiny bit of constructive advice - if guests have had their luggage lost by the airline don't charge 9 Francs for a toothbrush and the same again for toothpaste. For the price you charge it should be complimentary. A small detail, but it's those small acts that really make a hotel memorable.

Its a pricey hotel, as most things in Zurich are but for a short stay we enjoyed it

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. I do appreciate your comments and take them very serious in order to improve our services - and we have always space for improving as you mention the situation with lost luggage.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    68
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
44
117
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want elegance, comfort, pleasant staff, and a perfect location then this is the best hotel in Zurich. The location on the river is unmatched, the staff are super friendly and polite. Stay in this boutique hotel and you will not be disappointed. The restaurant was the best on my trip! but make reservations. You will really absorb the flavor of Switzerland here. The shopping on the Bahnhofstrasse is literally two blocks away, the train station is a 10 minute walk (close yet far enough away). BTW, the women in this city are stunning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words and i do really appreciate them as you seem a absolute pro in traveling.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want to stay at an elegant, small boutique hotel in Zurich, where the service is flawless and your every need is catered to, then the Storchen is your hotel.
For nearly the past 40 years I have been coming to Zurich. Over the years, I have stayed at most of the nicer hotels in town. Without any question, the Storchen stands out from all the rest for the quality of the experience they deliver. Some of the reasons I just love this hotel are, besides those already mentioned:
• Great location right on the Limmat river, a couple of hundred meters from the lake.
• The rooms are elegant and nicely furnished.
• All rooms are air conditioned by a system that is absolutely silent.
• The concierges always seem to find everything I want.
• The restaurant is very nice and they have a great dining terrace which looks out over the river, just perfect for business entertaining.
• Nothing has ever gone wrong during a stay.
• The hotel is small, quiet and absolutely free from tour groups.
Some reviewers have pointed out that the Storchen is expensive. The first thing travelers need understand is that Switzerland is very expensive. This is especially true for North American travelers who come with their devalued USD and CD. To have a good experience in Switzerland, as soon as you arrive you need stop thinking in terms of your own national currency. Otherwise, you will not have a nice trip. The second thing travelers need realize is that the top hotels in Switzerland – and all of Western Europe for that matter – are expensive. The people that staff them are professionals. They receive real wages and real benefits, all of which cost. Hotels like the Storchen are not staffed by people – as often is the case in North America – waiting for a “real job” to come along. This is their career.
The Storchen is not for the budget minded. There are many other hotels in Zurich for that. The Strochen is for the sophisticated traveler who wants to stay in a small quite hotel, right in the center of old town Zurich and receive perfectly customized service.

Room Tip: We have never been in a "bad" room; We always stay in a suite or Jr. suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Alisa

thank you so much for your most loving words, for your fidelity and your loyality to the Storchen. Our daily professional life is all about such great comments and make us feel good. Thank you !

We all do look forward to welcomeing you soon again !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel Storchen was at the end of a a two week trek across Europe for us so, perhaps my average assessment of the property is relative and a reflection of having stayed at some very extraordinary places during our trip. The pros of this hotel are first and foremost the location. Right in the heart of the old city and on the water, it's close to everything. Other great features included a lovely breakfast and the rooms have well-renovated bathrooms. Like other reviewers, we stayed during Zuri Fascht --- what a wild event that is (and well-described by M-man11)! The hotel staff were kind enough to write to let us know we'd have difficulty getting to the hotel by taxi during the event, so we were prepared for a walk from the train station. We took a taxi part of the way and walked the final couple of blocks.

The biggest con for me was the price/quality ratio. Again, given the timing of our stay we were prepared for high prices and smaller room accommodations, but I found that the 500 SF price tag for the very small room with average decor just didn't add up for me. It left me feeling like I'd overpaid for what I got, even with the consideration of a major city, high season, water view, etc... The second con was an experience we had with one of the staff. We had just arrived and were looking for a place inside to have a drink. We went to the second floor to see if there was a bar area. A woman who appeared to be running the restaurant very quickly and in an unpleasant manner shooed us away and made it very clear we were not welcome. Perhaps she had many people wandering in from the street with the festival, but regardless her demeanour was rude and she was unhelpful or friendly once she knew we were hotel guests simply looking for a glass of wine. It wasn't a huge deal, but as a first experience upon checking in didn't leave us feeling particularly welcome.

Overall, my assessment is that this is a hotel in a great location with small rooms and average accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Rating and your comments which i appreciate very much. Indeed the Zurifest Weekend is totally out of the normal and fortunately for us only every three years as we are really in the heart of all festivities with all disadvantages ....not many advantages.

Thank you indeed and all the best

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Old world elegance sums up Storchen. Before you even enter the porter addresses you by name. I prefer floor 5 rooms with awnings and balcony, but the best views are on the opposite side facing the canal. All the beds have electrically adjustable mattresses and very importantly all have clearly marked US/Canada 110v outlets in both the bath and atop the desk. You won't see that anywhere else in Switzerland. Afternoon tea is served in the quiet lounge/library with over stuffed wing chairs and coffee tables, or outside on the Wienplatz itself under an umbrella. Excellent Food is served in the Rotisserie where again you have a choice of indoor or terrace dining on a beautiful rooftop of the pedestrian causeway running the length of the hotel overlooking the canal. At night it can't be beat - the view is stunning and food first rate. i would never think of staying anywhere else when visiting Zurich. This was at least my tenth stay. Storchen is small but the ambiance and location rate #1 with me.

Room Tip: While I love a balcony with table and chairs, you will have better views from the opposite side faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for your loyalty and fidelity. Your kind words make us move forward every day in order to give our best to satisfy the needs and wishes of our beloved guests.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is about a kilometer from the Zurich train station and just next to the river, which was great place to stroll when the weather is good. The room was quite spacious with comfortable bedding and a large full size mirror. There were also two types of complimentary mineral water, handful of chocolates and three different fruits. There was no tea or coffee making facilties in the room. The accommodation package we purchased (about CHF 435) also included unlimited wifi access with strong signals, and breakfast. There was not much choice of items on the breakfast table. Overall, this is a good hotel if you have the budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Rating and Kind words. We do apreciate very much your comments in order to improve our Services.

I wish you all the best!

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wow! Last year we knew we had to revisit the Zum Storchen, where we first stayed some 20+ years ago. I wrote asking about availability and when we could reserve. What transpired was amazing. We had no idea, my wife and I, that our stay would coincide with Züri Fäscht or Zurich Festival, which is held every three years during the first weekend in July. This is no ordinary festival. New Orleans has its Mardi Gras, Obergammergai has its Passion Play, but Zurich has its festival. Think of 2 million revelers descending all over Zurich with bands (a huge number), food stands (almost every restaurant is represented), tight-rope walkers between the towers of the two churches, and those fireworks! And these are amazing fireworks perfectly synchronized with a huge speaker system. 45 minutes Friday night, 25 Saturday night.

And we're right in the middle of it all, complete with noise (management's word), crowds, food stands, and even the fireworks. We were warned right from the start that there would be plenty of activitiy that would last until 4 AM Friday night and Saturday night, and until midnight on Sunday. But the Storchen got it right. Everyone still managed to come to work to prepare that delicious breakfast spread, a champagne welcome, chocolates each night. Everything! Including their smile. They also included earplugs each night with turndown service. (I personally think noise-cancelling Bose systems might have been better.) Our room, 315, was a smallish corner room with a spanking clean bathroom and huge TV screen. We could not have asked for a better room.

Were there any problems? Yes. We asked numerous times how to arrive at the hotel on Friday. We were told everything starts shutting down around noon. So I wrote back a couple more times. How do we get to the hotel? Sad to say, here was the only major lapse. No one responded. We have our hunch that perhaps no one from the hotel actually ever tried to arrive from the train station. A taxi took us four blocks until we realized that we could not move. We had to walk the rest of the way, bags in tow. Had we known, we would have walked directly from the station. That was a 20SF lesson that could have been 200SF had we allowed the taxi to complete the trip!

Ironically, Sunday night's jam session was the loudest. Even though it ended around midnight, we thought of what it might be like with triphammers digging up the pavement (those drums were punishing!) But we both laughed through it all, and, to our amazement, vowed to return in three years to the same hotel! We are definitely not young or party types but we became converts of the vibes that descended on Zurich. Thank you, Zum Storchen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and indeed you had Chosen the Weekend which is the loudest every three years ! The Zürifest ! Next one is on the first Weekend in 2016 !

And still you seemed to enjoy your stay. I apologize for the bad instructions to arrive that Special Weekend to the Storchen.

I wish you all the best and thank you again !

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storchen Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.