We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zurich's little beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Storchen Zurich to your Saves list
Storchen Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Zurich's little beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels in Zurich.
On my previous trip while wandering this charming city we happened to stop for a coffee in a nice square. The cafe was attached to a hotel. We wandered in(to use the facilities) and it looked charming.
Had a look at the menu for the restaurant and it looked sensational. Note to self. Give the Storchen a go next time...
My travel agent got onto it. Booked a river front room. Not inexpensive. But I have paid more in other fancy hotels in this city.
Check-in was easy, quick and efficient. The room was a good size with wonderful French doors that opened to a tiny Juliet balcony, right on the river. Spectacular view of the old town and up and down the river.
Beds were heavenly and linen wonderful. The Swiss know how to make a bed.
Location, Food, Charm, Storchen has it all. I’ll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words and it is great to see that you really enjoyed your stay in Zurich and the Storchen.

Hope to see you soon again !

Best regards and all the best !

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    96
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
169
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to Italy. We were very impressed and wished we could stay longer. We will certainly return. A wonderful location on the banks of the Limmat River with so many of Zurich's attractions close to hand. Our room was large, immaculate, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The staff were attentive and helpful in every way. Dinner in the restaurant, overlooking the river, was a real treat with excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words and it is great to see that you plan to come back and that you really enjoyed your stay in Zurich and The Storchen.

Have a wonderful summer and all the best !

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, next to the Limmat River and about 200 yards from the lake front where you can catch a ferry to do a sunset cruise. The hotel is within walking distance to the train station. It is close to the Fraumünster Church which you should see. There are some fancy (and expensive) shops around the hotel. The front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. The brunch and breakfast were great, and so was dinner. The room is on the small size but this is Zurich. In any case, definitely the hotel to stay if you are in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and your comments. As a professional "rater" it is a most valueable compliment we are getting.

Best regards and we are looking forward to welcomeing you soon again

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

nothing is too much trouble ... delightful service and magical terrace on the river
excellent dinner for us when we arrived late .... not at all a problem and were given happy charming service till very late on the terrace
good wine list at reasonable prices
pretty staff on reception
helpful concierge team

Room Tip: take a room overlooking the river ... delightful .... or room 414 overlooking the little squre outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcomeing you soon again in the Storchen.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after 24 hours of traveling. Our welcome was warm and we could not have been better cared for or made more comfortable anywhere.
"A Room with a View" - just perfect!
What a pity we could stay only one night

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and great to see that you had a great start !

Looking forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The service is fantastic, the location couldn't be better, views from the room over the limmat amazing, but i can't remember the last time i came across such a ridiculous sized bathroom - come to think of it - the toilet/shower spa on emirates A380 is bigger!!
Yes, Zurich is expensive but you would at least expect a certain standard when charged 700 Swiz franc for a night.
There are plenty of other great properties in Zurich for the same amount or less - I, for one, shall never return to Storchen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your time to give your comments on our Hotel. I am really happy to see that our Service is fantastic. And of course your remarks on the bathroom is true for some rooms but fortunately not for most of our rooms.
Our Hotel history goes back to 1357 and the building is under monument protection which means it is very difficult to restructure the building always in the way we would love to. I understand that the needs for space of guests have changed in the last years enormously and your standards in Dubai in new build Hotels makes it difficult for us to keep that up.
Nevertheless we try to compensate with fantastic service and lots of details to surprise our guests which makes us proud to have a huge number of happy repeating guests.
I understand your critic points but could assure you a room with a bigger bathroom for a next chance you would be willing to give the Storchen.
Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ultra service, ultra comfort, ultra restaurant. Deluxe suite. Nothing could have been done better. Views out onto the river from restaurant very relaxing. Restaurant seating not cramped. Wide-ranging international menu... not just Swiss specialities. Perfect European experience for this major life occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is fantastic to see that we were able to your so important visit to Zurich to Keep it in positive memories.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 132 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Baur au Lac
#1 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#2 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storchen Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.