We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Storchen Zurich to your Saves list
Storchen Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On a business trip, stayed here just one night. Very nice hotel, friendly staff and convenient location. Room was just right. The breakfast was nice with freshly squeezed orange juice and a nice spread of fruit and baked goods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind rating. It is a great pleasure and motivation receiving such a judgement of a well traveled man.

I wish you all the best and kind regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    91
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
147
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In previous visits to Zurich we have always admired The Storchen's excellent location on the river in the old town, and we resolved to stay at the Stork's Nest when we planned a short break to take in the New Year holiday. We found the hotel to be the most fabulous and friendly establishment with great food and amenities, and all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable experience.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Storchen to anyone thinking of staying in Zurich, and my wife and I are very much looking forward to our next visit.
Shaun Smith

Room Tip: We found our room with a view overlooking the river to be very comfortable and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Smith

thank you so much for your kind words and it is always our great pleasure to give our best and see that people like you honour our efforts.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Storchen is a fabulous hotel and our address in Zurich every time that we stay there. The service is incredible, the location fantastic, and the food wonderful. Their concierges are particularly helpful.

-Brian Rose

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words. Words like yours are the best motivation for my staff to continue in their daily challanges to do the best possible.

I wish you all the best and kind regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Hotel has been consistently, over the past 10 years, a great experience in hospitality, friendlyness and travel assitance to us. Top location in the middle of the CBD in Zurich. A great stop over in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and your fidelity to the Storchen. We are happy to be able to have your confidence over all these years.

All the best to you and best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel's location is excellent. The room was fabulous and spacious, and the staff were all exceptionally nice. Impeccable service from check-in to check-out. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. My recommendation - thinking of staying in Zurich - Storchen is the first and best choice !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and your rating. It is our daily motivation to surprise our guests with great quality and perfect services.

Thank you indeed and we wish you a fantastic 2013 and hope to welcome you soon again in the Storchen.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I did not know what to expect from this hotel, and in my mind "took a chance" because of the excellent reviews here. I was NOT disappointed, and so happy that we stayed in this hotel. The location could not be better; right across the river from old town, and right in the middle of world-class shopping within blocks of the hotel. Literally 100+ restaurants to choose from within a 5-10 minute walk all around the hotel.

We had the corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the river and with a beautiful view of the lake and alps. Everything in Zurich is VERY expensive so we decided to stay in one of their best rooms, since we wanted a memorable experience. We certainly got that and more! I still think of the amazing breakfast with what was equal to the best, if not the best, croissant I ever had....equal to the best in Paris, and that's saying something! They had an automatic orange juice machine, which I have seen on cruise ships, and I saw my first honey dispenser.... Very cool! Choice of (3) different honeys....leave it to the Swiss!!

The room was spacious and newly redecorated with perfect furnishings, amazing linens and beds, and they even had a separate walk-in closet with Nespresso machine. We had a sofa, lovely desk area and wrap-around views of the city. They refreshed our coffee/tea machine daily as well.

My ONLY complaint is that I smelled cigarette smoke out in the corridor and I had to put a towel down at the bottom of the door to keep the smell of smoke out of the room at night. I am so accustomed to hotels being non-smoking that I did not think to ask about it. I will definitely stay here again even if it remained smoking/non-smoking, however if they want to get an absolute perfect score from me the only thing they will have to change is the smoking status. The lobby looked quite dated too, but it's Europe and an "old world" hotel so I guess it fits that description. Our room was rather modern, however and quite inviting.

Room Tip: Splurge for a junior suite with balcony or a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very detailed rating and your nice words. It is indeed a daily challenge and commitement trying to fulfill the expectations after so many good ratings. But it is our motivation to give our best every day. Thank for the input about the smoke smell.

Thank you very much and we all wish you a fantastic 2013 and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The room drives the 3 rating - rooms are small, bed/pillows/decor nothing special - I'd compare to most Marriott Courtyards in the US, but at a much much higher price (that's Zurich for you). Unfortunately, this last time I was stuck with a smoking room (always request NON); had to open the window to sleep. Perfect location, excellent service - always personally greeted by every single staff member, and each proactively seeks to make your stay in town more enjoyable. A darn good breakfast - great selection of breads, cheeses, meats, salmon, and the orange juice tower is entertaining to watch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating.

We wish you a great 2013 and all the best to you and your family.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Despegar.com so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storchen Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.