We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Elegant in the same time!!! Excellent Location, Nice friendly Service and Beautiful Rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Storchen Zurich to your Saves list
Storchen Zurich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and Elegant in the same time!!! Excellent Location, Nice friendly Service and Beautiful Rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We ALWAYS stays at Storchen when we are in Zurich! It´s our Favorite!!! Cozy and Elegant at the same time! Feels like Home! With an excellent location in the hart of Zurich. Really friendly and service-minded staff, who will do everything to make you feel at home! Clean and Beautiful rooms! Especially if you ask for a room with a French Balcony facing the River! The view is Magnificent!!! The River Limat is just below your feet. And the big shoppingstreets and most central-located offices in Zurich in perfect walking-distances, just minutes away. Really Great Breakfast on the Veranda over-looking the River, and a wide selection of Superb Breakfast-food and minute-maid fresh orange-juice. They also have a Nice Lunch-place out-side at the opend square right out-side the hotel. And a small bar at the River-side, where you can enjoy a drink. And a Wonderful Restaurant is also located in the hotel, where you can enjoy the Lovely view over The River, when you are having lunch or dinner. Other-wise you have a LOT of other Restaurants all around the hotel, if you would like to have other options. We do recommend Storchen, with all our harts! It´s BOTH Really GREAT for Business AND Romantic Couples! AND also a wonderful Place to go when you are solo or if you travel with friends! = THANK YOU Storchen - we will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Especially the rooms with a French Balcony facing the River is just LOVELY!!! (4´th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you so much for your wonderful words for the Storchen and our staff. We are so happy to make your stay a great experience and are very much looking forwar to welcomeing you soon again.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    78
    8
    8
    0
See reviews for
53
132
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The true reason to choose the Storchen--if you can get a river view room--is the location. Staff are efficient and generally friendly. Again, the dining location on the river is superb, but the food and service were good but not great. Rooms are fairly small, but very clean; perhaps a bit dated.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating. It is our goal to make your stay to a great positive experience and all my staff are motivated to do so.

We hope to see you soon again and wish you all the best

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only had time for two nights in Zurich, the Storchen was a perfect choice, our room had great view over the river, the staff were alwasy friendly and service impecable, excelent breakfast, lovely courtyard for light lunch and drinks, dinner on the terrace with view of river and the city as dusk falls is the perfect romantic spot, and the food is superb!

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest
thank you so much for your lovely words and the great rating. The Storchen employees are daily giving their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible and evalutations like yours are giving us the motivation to go on like this.

Thank you so much and best regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel, cafe and restaurant has got to be in one of the nicest locations in Zurich. The cafe has 2 areas outside, one with stools directly overlooking the river and the other on a courtyard. They serve a variety of Movenpick ice cream, which is lovely.

The decor inside the hotel is also nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest
thank you so very much for your kind evaluation. We are very happy that you spend a excellent time in the Storchen.

We wish you all the best and send our best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I'd like to thank Mr. Gennaro at the hotel Concierge especially, who was so friendly and provided us with free soft bedroom slippers after we had tried every stores in the area but failed to find one. It surprised me and made me feel warm at that moment, since it's not just about the slippers themself, but about the professional and considerate attitude to the guests, which makes travelers feel home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your kind words and Gennaro is very proud to be named even in your rating.

We are happy to have been able to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

BEst regards
Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at this very lovely and old hotel. I had a room over looking the river and situated not only on the river, but in part of the old, historic town.

Not only was the hotel perfect in every way, the staff were everything you would expect (and more) from such an hotel. I can recommend it for everything - food, service, hospitality, cleanliness, comfort and situation.

I will stay there as many times as my travels permit, and look forward to each time with great joy and anticipation.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the river and I loved it and the peacefulness of the whole experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest

I could like to thank you very much for your kind rating and the most charming words.
My staff and i are happy to have been able to make your stay a plaisant one.

Have our best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We dined at the Storchen Zurich - on the terrace, looking down upon the river Limmat and across to the fairytale-like twin towers of the Grissmünster. The setting on a warm summer evening is as good as it gets.

But of course, it got better. The food was excellent and the service not simply good, but also friendly and personal. We dined with family and experienced the perfect evening.

Room Tip: We only ate here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest

I like to thank you very much for your kind words and the great rating about our services and location. My staff and I are proud to be able to have made your stay such a plaisant one.

Best regards and all the best

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#2 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storchen Zurich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.