We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - close to main rail station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Gotthard to your Saves list
Hotel St. Gotthard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location - close to main rail station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Using a Swiss Pass for our recent trip to Switzerland, we chose hotels within walking distance of the stations. St. Gotthard's was our choice for Zurich and it met all expectations. Warm welcome, room ready on arrival around noon (not always possible, but nice when it happens after an overnight flight). Comfortable and quiet room, very clean. When the front desk gentleman saw on my passport it was my birthday, he offered me a complimentary breakfast the next morning. I would be happy to stay there any time we are in Zurich. Rates seem to be better the further ahead you book, true with many hotels these days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Traveldream,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear, that you had a warm welcome and a great Birthday. We will pass on the compliments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you soon in Zürich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    170
    103
    38
    28
See reviews for
65
145
67
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a perfect place, close to the main attractions and services of Zurich. The service is great, good food, clean, cozy...

As being so close to the train station, it allows to easily travel to other cities.

Recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Erika P,

thank you for your great comment. We are very pleased that you liked our location, service and food. Thanks to our Restaurant guest comments, our French Lobster and Oysterbar - Restaurant is actually top rated on Tripadvisor Restaurant-section on place Nr. 2.

We are looking foward to welcome you during your next trip to Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Starting with a friendly receptionist, having our luggage taken to the room and getting the car parked, the St. Gotthard is a Top class hotel! The rooms are modern, extremely clean, bathroom has everything one could wish for, shower and bathtub, beds very comfortable!

The Hummer Bar is a real treat, with wonderful food, superbly presented, the service was second to none! The waiter knew what he was doing, topping up wine when needed, serving very pleasantly and being very attentive. A wonderful experience!

We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Susu G

Thank you very much for the excellent comment on Tripadvisor. We will pass it on to our staff and are glad you had a gread time in our Hummer & Lobster Bar, which can be rated seperately as well.

We are looking very much forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When we arrived, we were given an upgrade room which was unexpected. The room was very nice with king bed. Everything looked very clean and fresh with a nice size bathroom. The staff was outstanding giving us directions, etc. Even though there was a lot of activity in Zurich at noght, the room was very quiet. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to others.The location is perfect for the train as it's right across the street with easy access to airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear beve69

thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff and look very much forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were traveling from Interlaken back home and wanted to stay one night in Zurich. Location of this hotel made us to book it. It was really close to the railwaystation, where we arrived and also took a train to the airport. Staff was really friendly, especially the guy who was in the reception when we arrived. We got our room earlier than it was supposed to get and we even got better room than we booked. Price of the hotel is high, but so is everything else in Switzerland. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Zurich. Room was spacious and clean and top quality as well as the hotel although it seems to be built in the old building. Only problem was that our window faced the main street and it was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Minna H

Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you liked the service of our staff, the location of the Hotel and the size of your room. Hopefully we can provide you with a quieter room at your next visit.

With best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived and left Zurich with too much luggage. The hotel is so near the station, that it was a big relief. The decor is a little outdated, but everything was in order and clean. Staff was friendly and the hotel was little too expensive for what it offers, but i think that Zurich usually is. We had a spacious room, not so common in Europe with a flowery balcony!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Cecbi,

thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor, we appreciate very much. We are very happy that you liked our location and service.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izeult
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for business recently and while the hotel is nice and clean and the staff are helpful it's very strangely put together.

Firstly, I was given a twin room - where the pillows were like sleeping on marshmallows they were so soft, so I'm not sure what you'd do if you had neck problems and needed a bit more support! The curtains/blinds are a strange arrangement, so there's thick curtains in strips, and net curtains in between these strips, the net curtains are backed up by a black out plasticy feeling window covering. Up shot is that it's not very effective at blocking out light if you are a light sleeper like me. I just didn't understand it.

Bathroom is well stocked, a bit dated but very clean. I've never seen a weighing scales in a hotel bathroom before, so that was interesting!

Also, my room was very noisy, this was my first time in Zurich so I'm not sure if the tram could be heard from every room but mine was quite noisy.

The included "breakfast" was a cup of tea/coffee and a croissant - for a price which came to about 300CHF, the entire experience was a bit of a rip off.

Location is great, very central but while I know Zurich is expensive it just seems that for what you're paying it's just not worth it.

Room Tip: Look for a room that isn't on the train station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear izeult,

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and we are glad that you liked our location and weighing scales in the bathroom, usual standard in Swiss hotels.

The world famous "Bahnhofstrasse" is certainly noisy, but all our rooms are air-conditioned and have double isolated windows.

With our best regards, we remain

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#52 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.