We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Gotthard to your Saves list
Hotel St. Gotthard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small but ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I will rate the hotel as slightly above average. Very small room but clean and cozy. Location is very good ...just across the station. There was a waiter in a restaurant which I believe belongs to the hotel gave me a very good impression . The restaurant was just by the roadside and he was there doing his chores. When he saw us with 2 heavy luggage bags, he immediately helped us carry them into the hotel. This is what I call ' swiss hospitality'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear jenfoo,

thank you for your kind and motivating comments on Tripadvisor, we forward to our staff with pleasure.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Zürich

we remain, wit our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    170
    103
    38
    28
See reviews for
65
145
68
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed ten days in June 2013 at the Hotel St. Gotthard in Zurich. Apparently, they stole 228.97 Canadian dollars from me (for information, a Canadian dollar is worth the same as a US dollar). Here is what happened exactly: I left the hotel Thursday June 20th, 2013. My bill was 3311.70 CHF. When I left, I specifically asked twice that my bill be charged in the exact amount of Swiss francs, NOT in their "equivalent" amount in Canadian dollars. Indeed these people, like many others in Switzerland, offer you the possibility of acting as a bank "for you" and billing you in your own currency (Canadian dollars in my case) with an exchange rate that is simply prohibitive and scandalous. The person at the front desk, a slavic young woman (blue eyes, blond hair) told me that the transaction was indeed in CHF. I signed the VISA bill on which appeared first the amount in CHF 3311.70 CHF and then their "equivalent" of 3793.68 CAN $. It was clear to me that I had signed on Swiss francs because I trusted her. 

Getting back to Canada, I was shocked to realize, looking at my VISA bill, that the St. Gotthard had billed me an incredible amount of 3793.68 CAN $, that is to say they had applied their own excessive rate of change. In doing so, they actually extracted from me an amount of 228.97 CAN$ which is what I lost by being billed at "their" exchange rate without my consent. To make this precise, the rate that they used was 1.1455 CAN $ per CHF, whereas the rate applied by VISA for the very same day was 1.0764 CAN $ per CHF. This means that they got me by SEVEN cents for each CHF that I spent at their place. Incredible ! Evidently, I am now working closely with VISA to sue that hotel.



Otherwise, the majority of the staff in this hotel is painful: even if your are as kind and smiling as possible, extracting the slightest smile from them is impossible. They just don't like what they do and, instead of complaining to their bosses or changing to a job that they would like, they let you suffer for their unhappiness. They seem uneducated, and have a complex about it. The only people in this hotel who are polite and educated are the cleaning ladies (with one noticeable exception: a large man at the front desk, who speaks all languages with pleasure; unfortunately, he does not run the place and does not work every day....). Outside on the terrasse, there are a few German Swiss servers who are certainly the worst people that I have ever met in my life in a restaurant. One of them in particular, young and tall, with very short hair, is as painful as one could imagine. Again there is one exception: a server, black eyes and hair, speaking all languages and really nice, of Italian origin. He is perfect.



Conclusion: avoid that hotel by all means ! Apparently, they just want to extract as much money as they can from your pockets in the minimal possible time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Francois L.

thank you very much for getting in contact with us per mail. We are glad to know that there was a misunderstanding with the exchange rate. This exchange rates are defined by our credit card company, and not by our staff.

We hope that you or Tripadvisor will remove your comment, because it does not correspond to the reality.

We are very sorry, that our service did not reach your expectations, but your comments help us to improve every day our standards.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my second visit to the Hotel. The location is two streets away from the train station and is a beautiful area for shopping ( Prada, Hermes, etc) and there are many restaurants very near the lake. Both experiences were amazing. At check in , I was welcomed and remembered by the same front desk woman. She was very professional and responded with a yes to all of my request. (I needed an early check in as I was attending Art basel and also requested a larger room than originally booked) She also made wonderful restaurant suggestions on my previous trip. I am a hotel owner in NYC and hope that my staff is as pleasant and accomodating as she was.

Room Tip: Higher floors and request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Eli B,

thank you for your great comments on Tripadivsor. We are glad to forward your motivating words to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What I like:

Location
The hotel is right above H&M shops and located on the main shopping Street across the hotel are Starbucks, Swatch, Swarovski..etc. No need to take taxi to anywhere. From the airport, take a train to Zurich HB or tram, a very short walk from the stations.

Room
Room is average but ample size. Nothing spectacular about. Its ok for us as we spent most of the time exploring the city.

F&B
We didn't try any at hotel as there are so many options in the neighborhood. :)

What to improve
Nothing really major. We didn't expect a lot anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear araiwa,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location and hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived here there was some slight confusion with our booking (made by phone on boxing day) The receptionist overcame the problem and put us in an upgraded room. Very good response and service.
We didn't eat at the hotel because whilst the food looked very nice it was beyond our end of vacation budget.
This is a very professional hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Artsman,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad, that you liked our service and hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

People think from just seeing the pictures the hotel must be a very modern one, but the staff was very unmotivated, the bathrooms where very old, si that's why we had to change our room 3 times to get okay with the siatuation.they didn't even got your packages.
So we ordered a luxury double room and the first time they tried us to get a smaller room eben if we had paid for the bigger one.
For this money we paid, it was really not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Catherinekelevra,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We apologize that our service did not reach your expectations. Hotel St. Gotthard is more than 120 year old, but in several stepps we refurbished all our rooms an also bathrooms during the last 3 years.

thank you for your constructive comments. They help us to improve.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Just a 2 minute walk from the Zurich HB train station, this hotels location couldn't be more convenient. It's also on a street that connects to the Zurich lake (short walk) and has many great shops and cafes! We enjoyed our stay - only negatives were the water pressure on the shower was terrible and the quality of the food that we ordered from room service was average.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Wendy K,

thank your for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location. Thank also for you comments about water pressure and room service, you help us to improve our service.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#52 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Gotthard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.