We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with friendly ambiance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wellenberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Benoni
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service with friendly ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four days in this hotel where the staff made us feel very comfortable and at home. They gave us assistance on transport as well as good restaurants in the area. They made us feel comfortable and welcome during our stay in Zurich. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    155
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
74
114
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middelfart, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, and hotel is basically nice, but as there is no aircon and windows facing the very noisy street with restaurants, it's hard to get a good nights sleep when the weather is warm (as it were all days) as you will either melt or have to live with the noise (at least until 1 AM)

Pictures are slightly better than reality, specially the carpet in room was a little creapy and bathroom has also not been renewed lately. Bed was a little too soft.

Location is great and more or less just in the hearth of old city and next to the river - Great breakfast and very nice people!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back side of the hotel, as you most likely then will be able to open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in July. It is located in the center of old town close to shopping and lots of different restraunts. The rooms are very large and have a modern decore. I found the hotel very clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The only issue I had was no air conditioning, it made the warm July night's a little uncomfortable. The outside terrace with the fountain made up for the lack of A/C. If your coming from the train station with heavy luggage you will need to take a cab. If your travelling lite then its only a 10-15 minute walk. All in all, the hotel is a very nice place to stay. I would recommend it for anyone's trip to Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times and love it. It is situated in the old part of town which is full of character and packed with interesting shops, good restaurants, and lovely art galleries. We were lucky with weather which was sunny during the day but not too hot at night. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, clean, clean! Love it. Anywhere in Zurich is expensive by English standards, but worth saving up for!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overpriced poor service Tea never replaced no airconditioning and extremely noisy rude staff esp in breakfast room showers are tiny ,rooms are old tired and wifi is like in most ofCH third worldish This hotel gives itself 4 Stars I would give it Negative 10 Stars It is also very overpriced for mediocre poor quality accomodation I just arrived from Hilton Tel Aviv which is 5 Star and much cheaper my suite which was a free upgrade was 5 times the size and MY RATE INCLUDED THE EXOTERIC HILTON BUFFET BREAKFAST FOR 2

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp B, Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your honest feedback.
First of all I would like to expressmy most sincere apology regarding the missing tea replacement in the room and of course the mentioned unfriendly service what both is not our standard in any way. Please rest assured that I will talk to my staff reagarding their behavior.
In additional I would like to let you know that we (hotels in the old part of the town) are not allowed to use air condition due to environmental reasons by the city of Zurich. Reagarding the noise in the center of the city, I think it is quiet "normal" if you stay in the most touristic area of a city?! You booked through a booking portal which is one of the cheapest ones on the market and in addition there was the summer special where you saved 33% but not for nothing Zurich is one of the most expensive cities in the workl.
Dear guest, once again I would like to excuse me that we did not meet your expectations.
All the best.
Philipp Bode; Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for all the restaurants and bars, old town and river. Its a short walk from the Banhoffstrasse, and great too for the lake. All in all, a good location, but if the weather is hot then the noise from the street below is disturbing during the night as the bars below finish late and deliveries start early in the morning! The addition of air con would make this place ideal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very Central with ease to get around.
CHECK-IN: Fantastic! Karen at Reception could not have been more helpful. We were welcomed as soon as we walked in. We were immediately assisted with our bags and even though we were a little early, we were taken straight to our room. Smooth, professional and super efficient.
LOCATION: Excellent! Restaurants, supermarket, fruit store and so much more all on your door step.
ROOM: We advised that we would be 2 adults and 2 small children. Our room was plenty big enough for all four of us. The staff did not mind that we asked to push all the beds together and were very happy to accommodate whatever we needed whilst there. Very clean and well-equipped.
BREAKFAST: Although a small selection, everything was very nice. The croissants were wonderful, the coffee machines allowed you to select whatever coffee in whatever combination you liked.
CHECK-OUT: Again, very efficient and very friendly.
OVERALL: Very positive and very happy with our stay here. Staff were all very pleasant. The short stroll to the lake was absolutely stunning. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wellenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.