We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Town location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wellenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Wellenberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Old Town location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed two nights here in late Aug 2012.  Unfortunately the summer heat wave was in full swing and although the hotel willingly supplied a quiet back room as requested, the lack of any air conditioning made sleeping near impossible.  Accepting that the conditions were out of the ordinary, this is a quaint old hotel that looks out over a plaza which comes alive at night with numerous restaurants and bars.  The room we had was comfortable and spotlessly
clean.  The girls at reception were most welcoming and did everything with a smile. 
Situated in the old town, Wellenberg is conveniently close to bars, restaurants, and shopping and is a ten minute walk ( with baggage) to the central railway station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    167
    44
    22
    9
See reviews for
77
124
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located in the centre of the old town. We stayed on the fifth floor in a Deluxe room which was spacious, clean and comfortable despite the slope of the ceiling due to the roof. Our room overlooked the street which was pretty noisy with cafe life in the evening especially with the windows open but this was not a problem for us as we just used earplugs and it was a small price to pay for being in the heart of the old town. We stayed Fri, Sat & Sun nights so things may be quieter during the week. Breakfast was the standard continental style but could have done with more staff at times to get the tables cleared and keep the food replenished. The food was good quality with a good amount of choice.

On the down side there was no air conditioning but there was a fan in the room. The weather was exceptionally hot during our stay, reaching 34 degrees celsius. It would appear that air-con is pretty rare in the old town as we did not see any signs of the usual external eqpt. So this is not really a bad point if all the other hotels in the area are the same.

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of cafe noise and possible food smells rising from the street from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesoya, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Last weekend my husband, my niece and I stayed at Wellenberg. My niece was very happy about her room on the 5th floor and didn't mind it being rather hot with no AC. Ours was on the 2nd floor and overlooking the square. It was not possible to have the windows open and sleep well the first night, due to the noise from the bars and restaurants close by.

However it really got worse and more like a nightmare the two next nights. We didn't know about the old town festival and the main stage being at the square outside our room. The music, house and something very noisy made it impossible to sleep until some time after 2.30 at night, even with the windows closed. In the early morning the people cleaning the streets and the music area came in and the noice woke us up. My niece is 19 and even she became desperate for sleep after 3 nights with little rest. She did not enjoy the music (noise) at all. We felt the hotel should have told us about the festival when we booked, but they did not.

The hotel gets a rating of 3 due to the good service, the wonderful breakfast and the location. However with no AC and all the noise even without concerts close by, we will find another hotel next time in Zurich. It's convenient to travel by tram, or train, and not necessary to stay in the centre of the old town. I would advice others to ask for a room facing the back if they wish to stay at Wellenberg. And also ask if there are noisy events going on!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This nice newly refourbished hotel is right in the city centre. The bedroom and bathroom have a decent size plus all the amenities like mini bar, hair dryier etc...The staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is failry large and of good quality. There is even a small patio where you can have breakfast when the weather is nice. If I go back to Zurich I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Location is great, everything in walking distance. Stayed in a standard room and learned that the Deluxe rooms only have been renovated. Breakfast is ok. Breakfast service not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is well placed for those wishing to enjoy and explore the old city, from the friendly reception staff to the clean well appointed room, with great linen this small european hotel is hard to fault, we did stay during the summer and the rooms are quite warm, but with a rear room, a open window seamed to solve the problem. Front rooms may experience some problems with noise, free wifi was great. For the ladies apparentley the hair dryer isn't that great, not a issue for me. A solid recommendation.

Room Tip: In summer, choose a room in the back so the noise won't be a issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I booked Wellenberg based on trip advisor reviews. What a dissapointment. Hotel in the middle of Zurich has no AC...Staff advised to keep windows open. Extremely noisy, as there are a lot of restaurants located right outside of hotel. For $300+ a night, I expected more. Wouldn't recommend or stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#59 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wellenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.