We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and in the middle of everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senator Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senator Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good price and in the middle of everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Senator Hotel during Freestyle.ch. The event location was about 25' away which is still way closer than having to come from home considering that I had to work at 9 am. All the parties were in a 3' walking distance from the hotel though, so it was perfect. The rooms were nice and clean but a little bit small. I didn't expect much more though and we actually had a balcony! Sadly the breakfast is really expensive but there's a coop near by so you can get your own food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the location
22 CHF is rather cheap for breakfast in Zurich but of course you can also take some food from the supermarket arround the corner.

If your travel brings you to Zurich again we are happy welcoming you
and meet or exceed your expectations from our buffet breakfast.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    95
    100
    26
    19
See reviews for
44
72
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night and thought it was overpriced for what I paid. Rooms are more like 2/3 star hotel and there can be a lot of noise from outside. Also the blinds are sort of non - existent. The upside to the room, a very large TV!. For the rest a very straightforward hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, this might prevent some noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for commenting about your latest stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed the in room facilities, the location and the cleanliness.
Due to the fact the we are in the high season in Zurich rates are increasing.

We are happy welcoming you again when your travel brings you back to this area.

Best regards

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The good: right in the centre of great pubs and restaurants, one stop on the train from Zurich centre, air conditioning, reasonable price, espresso machine in the room, free wifi, clean towels, hair dryer in bathroom.

The bad: very expensive breakfast, staff not great at the tourist advice but friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your nice comments about the Hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

If your travel brings you back to this area we are happy welcoming you again.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is very close to Escher-wyss-platz tram and bus stops. The Hotel is about 20 to 25 min walk from the main Train station Zurich HB. There is a big super market called COOP right across from the train station. If you arrive by train from the airport, (recommended as it is only about 6 Swiss Francs including transfer to Tram) take the tram to the Hotel. The tram leaves across the street from the Starbucks (the Tram stop is called Sihlquai). You may have to ask some one where the Starbucks is as Zurich HB Train station has many exits. When you get off at Escher Wyss Platz stop, the Hotel is 2 blocks away on your left if you are facing the overhead highway. The area is mainly office or residential buildings with some cafes and a bakery (nothing to write home about). The room was clean and comfortable. A little dated. The price was very good on expedia when booked as a blind listing. This hotel is a 3 star at best. Tram access is good, so you can get to anywhere in Zurich.

Room Tip: The rooms towards front may be noisier due to a bar with sidewalk tables. However, despite having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for commenting your recent stay with us.
We are happy you enjoyed the night in our hotel.
Our rooms to the backyard are renovated 2 years ago and meet or exceed your expectations.
We are happy welcoming you again for your next stay.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this hotel a good value for the cost. It is not too far from town , the tram runs just 200 Yds away and it takes 10 minutes to the center. Room a bit on the small side but it is normal in Europe. Very Very clean hotel. The staff at the reception are somehow "cold" but professional and polite and speak all sorts of languages.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and if you get a room facing the street you might have a bit of hard time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your words about the hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed the location and the small distance to the centre.
If your travel brings you back to this area we are very happy welcoming you again.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice, clean hotel! Small but clean rooms with free wifi, nice bathroom and big tv! Great location, it's a nice walk to Zurich center past the river. Helpful staff. Even tho there is a club right next door we didn't hear a thing! (Saturday) car park = bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment about your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the nice walk to the city centre.
If your journey brings you again to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanueva de la Cañada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very old hotel with poor noise insulation. There is some kind of pub/disco zone right next to the hotel, and even having a room in the fifth floor, I had trouble to sleep. Being from Spain, I thought Switzerland was a silence-respectful country, but not in this hotel.

Room Tip: The best room in this hotel is in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fassbind, Manager at Senator Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay with us.
We are sorry that you could not sleep very well.
Please contact the reception desk next time, maybe you are able to move to the backyard.
We would be happy welcoming you again next time.

Yours Hotel Senator Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel

Address: Heinrichstrasse 254 / 256, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Zürich West, the new trendy district of Zurich, the Senator proposes 122 non-smoking rooms. Parking and Garage are available for 20.- per night. The hotel is reacheable by train in only 8 minutes from the Airport (Train Stop Hardbrücke) and in 2 Minutes from the main Railway station by train.All recently renovated rooms are equipped with •Air conditionning•Free Wifi•Telephone with voice-mail•Bathroom•Cable TV•Pay-TV•Coffee machine or a water boiler•Mini-bar•Large safe•Hairdryer•High speed Internet by Wifi or LAN Restaurant & Pizzeria Senator welcomes you in an easy going atmosphere for lunch or for dinner.5 Meeting rooms for up to 80 persons are at your disposal for your meetings, congresses and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.