We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind your head ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Mind your head ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I used this hotel for the first time in Feb. 2013 for a fast overnight after a late meeting. Reception was polite and friendly. The room was kind of old-fashioned, but there was a reason for that ...

What I hadn´t realised is that the hotel is in the middle of a very substantial re-build. I was awakened in the early hours by the sound of the plumbing making a machine gun sound, but this was nothing to the drilling that started around 7.30am. Ok, I might need to get up earlier, but it had been a long night, and I wanted some more sleep. That was not to be. So until they finish the repairs and rebuild, it pays to get up early. Breakfast was good and service excellent, so no complaints there.

But maybe I look for somewhere else to lay my head next time.

Room Tip: Wait until the rebuilding has been finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel Opera. I was very pleased to read that you did appreciate our friendly reception and were satisfied with our breakfast buffet.
Concerning your comment about the noise of the rebuilding: Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I am pleased to announce that the noisy work is finished and the rebuilding will be finished by March 10th 2013.

It would be great to welcoming you once again to show you that we can do better.

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    81
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
50
22
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If the reader is American and you are travelling alone, I recommend you select a double room for single occupancy. These rooms are spacious and worth the slightly higher price. The Opera Hotel (together with it's sister hotel, The Ambassador across the street) are just behind the Zurich Opera House and very close to the Lake. Restaurants and shopping are within minutes as is public transportation. Everything works like a Swiss clock (of course). -- Both hotels are highly recommended. --

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your comment! We are pleased that you appreciated our location next to the Opera house, the lake, restaurants and public transportation.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us in Zurich!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Helpful staff, very nice feel, pitcher of fresh juice in the lobby... Good restaurant and great location for exploring old town from, just outside of the busy tourist zone. I was there with my 17 year old son and we both enjoyed the visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our hotel Opera. We are pleased that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our helpful staff, our restaurant Opera and the location next to the old town.

It would be great to welcome you soon back in our Hotel.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location, just behind the Zurich Opera. "Tadellos" as Germans would say - wifi, bed, bahroom, everything: not quite cheap, but meets every expectations and beyond. The shore is just a few steps away so if you want to walk or run on the coastal way, no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, Geschäftsführer at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for rating our hotel with Swiss perfection and “Tadellos”. It is great to hear that we met all your expectations and even more! The lake side promenade around the corner of the hotel is indeed the perfect place for a morning jog or a leisurely stroll and in summer time you can even swim in the lake! We hope to welcome you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Opera Hotel for 4 night's in late October/early November. We received a very warm welcome at reception and throughout our stay the service was friendly and impeccably efficient. Our room was comfortable and spacious and very quiet, and the bathroom large and well appointed. The breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice of hot and cold food. We particularly liked the hot water and tea, and also wine, available in the lounge which we were able to take up to our room.

The hotel is well located, just a few minutes walk to the lovely opera house where we saw an excellent performance of Jenufa, and a fairly short walk to the centre of the city.

We had a good meal at the restaurant of the sister hotel just across the street.

We would definitely choose this hotel for a return visit to Zurich. A special thank you to Martin, the Resident Manager, for his help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for this great comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the warm welcome and the friendly and efficient service throughout your stay. Moreover, it was a pleasure for us to hear that you were happy with your room, breakfast and our free tea station in our lobby. Furthermore, we are pleased that you esteemed our location next to the opera house and the city center.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel.

Best regards from the heart of Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in October and loved it. It's a beautiful boutique hotel, modern and full of amenities (free glass of champagne at their restaurant across the street!). It is right behind the opera house and within a couple of blocks of the train station.
As we wandered around, we discovered so many shops and restaurants within just a couple blocks radius. And if you don't mind a bit of a longer walk, the beautiful old town is right nearby as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the free glass of champagne and our location next to the Opera house, public transportation, shops and restaurants.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice hotel, located in the centre of Zurich. It is near the train station Stadelhofen, just behind the Opera theatre and one block from the lake. You can reach in 15/20min walking the main station and almost all the Zurich attractions. The room are new and confortable, the bathroom is not so big but it is clean. The breakfast is normal, you can find salt or sweat food as in all european hotel. I think is a good solution in Zurich especially if you dont spent a lot of money (Zurich is very expensive).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It was great to read that you appreciated our location next to the Opera house, the lake, public transportation and sites. Furthermore, we are pleased that you were happy with your room and our breakfast.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel in Zurich!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#9 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Seefeld
Ambassador a l’Opera Small Luxury Hotel Zurich
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#7 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 132 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Zurich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.