We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Hotel to your Saves list
Opera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tokyo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Totally enjoyed my stay here, nice large quiet clean room, friendly staff, good location near trains, nice breakfasts. Very charming old world feel but all the new facilities. Made me very relaxed while on a business trip. Could not recommend more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in a nice, large, quiet and clean room. Furthermore we are delighted that you appreciated our location next to the train station Stadelhofen, that you liked our breakfast and that your stay with us made you very relaxed.

It would be great to welcoming you soon back again in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
49
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JHB, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is well located in Zurich, but the bathroom was very small. Renovation took place during my stay which did not influence my review of the hotel. The breakfast was basic, but the service made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel. It was great to read that you appreciated our location in Zurich and that the renovation taking place during your stay did not influence your review of our hotel. Concerning your comment about the size of the bathroom: our Hotel disposes of different room categories with different bathroom sizes. Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

It would be great to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on business. I was upgraded from the single room to another with a queen size bed, which was a nice surprise. The room overlooked an internal parking space that serves the whole block so it was really quiet and nice. Bed was very comfortable. Shower excellent and a great hair dryer (essential for the ladies). As they are making some works, the breakfast room was closed but coffee, tea, juice and croissants were offered at a room next to the reception (those who opted for full breakfast had to cross the street to the restaurant). Room service was very good. Reception staff was efficient, friendly and always ready to help. All in all, great experience. I will be certainly coming back next time I go to Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the upgrade in the queen size bed room. Furthermore we are delighted that you were happy with the comfortable bed, shower, hair dryer and room service and would like to thank you for your comment about our efficient and friendly staff.
Due to renovation work we had to close our breakfast room for a few days but we are happy to inform you that in the meantime our guests may enjoy their breakfast again in our breakfast room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This charming Hotel in the Opera district is a perfect example of what can be achieved when the management and staff care. It is set in a quiet street beside the opera and one street back from the lake. It is a fair hike to the main station and main shopping area but the regional train line runs a street behind it and the tram a street in front of it.

It is pricey, but for special occasions or when you have had enough of roughing it, it is worth every penny (or Euro or Frank as the case may be).

This is our third time at the Opera and if in Zurich again, we'll be back.

The room was large, clean and beautifully furnished. The bathroom was spotless. The public areas are furnished to a high standard and the staff are friendly, efficient and make you feel that you are the only person that matters to them at this time.

Beware their restaurant across the road is expensive and the service patchy. The breakfast is one of the best you will find in Europe.

Room Tip: The front rooms are best but you pay a premium for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your great comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted that you appreciated our location next to the opera house, the lake and the regional train line stations. Furthermore, it was a pleasure to read, that a stay with us is “worth every penny” and that you will be back for your fourth time in our Hotel.
Concerning your comment about our Restaurant: please accept our apologies for the patchy service you experienced. This is of course not our standard and I immediately informed the responsible department to avoid such service in the future.
Many thanks also for your comment about our room, our breakfast and staff. We are pleased that you appreciated our friendly and efficient staff which made you feel that you were the only person that matters to them at this time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This boutique hotel is the perfect place to stay for those wanting to explore Zurich on foot. Due to an early flight we arrived to the hotel at 8am. They had our room ready within 2 hours (which was wonderful since we had been traveling for close to 20 hours). The room was large, beautiful, and refreshing (loved the striped wallpaper). The bed was incredibly comfortable... almost to the point of not wanting to leave the room. I loved the design of the bathroom, very functional and modern with a dual shower head. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, and had great variety; however, it was quite pricey (about $25 per person). We loved how central the location was as we could walk everywhere and the train station was 1 block from the hotel. Although the hotel is pricey, I highly recommend it to tourists wanting to explore beautiful Zurich! If we ever get the chance to visit again, this is definitely where we would stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Wow! Many thanks for this nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our central location so that you could explore Zurich by foot. We are delighted that you liked our large, beautiful and refreshing rooms with its comfortable bed and that you loved the design of our bathroom. Furthermore, it was great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with its fresh variety.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coaster
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived early after a long overnight flight and were very pleasantly surprised that the hotel had a room ready for us (8:30am). This is perhaps the first time we have every had this experience and we were most appreciative. The check in people were very nice and efficient, and because the hotel was under renovation, they gave us free breakfast coupons (this can be very expensive ($25/pp). The room was small, as was the bathroom. However, it was well appointed and completely served our purposes of transitioning to southern Switzerland.

We went to the sister hotel restaurant for dinner that evening and had an excellent dinner. A very good menu was supplemented by nice local wines.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the early check-in on your arrival day. Thank you also for the comment about our nice and efficient employees.

Concerning your comment about our room size: we have different room categories with different sizes. Our reception would be pleased to help you to find the right room category consistent to your wishes and needs.

Furthermore, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant Opera and that you appreciated our range of local wines.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A small hotel in a quiet road a few steps from the lakeside promenade of Lake Zurich. 10 minutes walk to Banhoffstrausse and also the two historical churches. Not too many activities in the immediate vicinity.
I had a single room which was clean and small but acceptable for a city like Zurich. Breakfast spread was limited. Will stay again if on leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our location next to the lake and just a 10 minutes walk away from the Bahnhofstrasse and other sites. Thank you also for the comment concerning the single room. We do have different single room types and on our homepage you can easily find the right room depending on your taste and needs.

It would be great to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Zurich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#45 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.