We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coronado Hotel to your Saves list
Coronado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 126 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, comfortable, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean, comfortable, friendly and modern. Very good value for money. Minor minus the location. 20 min away from city centre by tram, but there is a tram stop right next to the hotel. Worth staying.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, many thanks for the time you have taken to rate our hotel. We appreciate real statements, so it makes it easier for prospective guests finding a good value hotel in Zurich. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind wishes, your Hotel Coronado Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    108
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
53
87
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

As others have noted the room (at least mine) was not large, but adequate for a night's sleep, and some time to work at the small desk. The decor is "utilitarian spartan". It was a decent place to sleep and close the University of Zurich, so very convenient that regard. Breakfast was indeed pleasant, and the staff efficient and helpful. If I had to return to visit the university I would be happy to stay here, especially with the Italian restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Dear Joel,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate real statements, so it makes it easier for prospective guests finding a good value hotel in Zurich. It is nice that you especially liked the central location of our hotel. We hope to welcoming you soon again in our hotel. Until then we wish you a good time.
Kind regards, your Hotel Coronado team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

we spend new year in zurich and we have been alocommodated in this expensive not worth price hotel!
we paid 145€ per night, we know in zurich its normal price but pay this money for winter hotel without hiter its a shame!!!
they left in te room just a small hiter but you cannot go out and leave it working...so when we came back we had a cold all night! outside was -8C so its not normal sell rooms like a 3 stars hotel for this price!
room is very simple and for a tram to the center one day ticket even if you go once we paid apx. 15€ and if you return after midnight you have to pay extra 5€ per pax
! only one good think is a free parking and friendly reception staff...working till midnight only...;-(

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Natalia,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. As you may know, we are very sensibly to bad reviews, but we do not want to miss the good ones, either! The sale of tram tickets does not fall into our area of ​​responsibility. Our reception is operated 24 hours 7 days. Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Coronado.
Kind regards,
Hotel Coronado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

This is my second stay at Coronado Hotel, and for the value and service you couldn't ask for anything more. Parking is included, wifi is included, and the great service is free of charge. Hotel is located on tram line that takes about 10-12 min. to city center, front desk will even sell you a ticket (add it to your room if needed). Cost for 24-hour ticket is same as a return ticket to city center ($8.20 CHF). I'm one to always try to stay within walking distance to the city center, but Zurich is one of those places where you have to weigh cost vs. value (read: everything is expensive). For me it's worth it to stay a 10min. tram ride from the city center to save hundreds of dollars. I did not get the breakfast so I can not comment on it, but coffee and tea are available in the welcome area.

Always a pleasant stay, when visiting Zurich and wouldn't hesitate to stay her again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your lovely and detailed feedback as well as your perfect rating. It means a lot to us that you are satisfied with our service like for example the free Wi-Fi and the free parking space.

We would be pleased to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Clean hotel with free private parking. Very good breakfast. Rooms could be bigger would. Receptionist always helpful to help solve various problems - ticket booking, restaurant recommendations, etc. in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you've enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Coronado in Zurich. It's nice to hear that you've liked the good breakfast and the free private parking. We noticed your comment regarding the room size. We will forward your compliment to the responsible receptionist.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Hotel Coronado.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed here one night and the only negative I can say is it is a bit out of the center of town. However, it is right on the tram line and the hotel will sell you the tickets you need and explain everything you need to know about using the tram. The office personnel are as helpful as they can be and will go out of their way to make you stay enjoyable. Our room was clean and modern and looked just like the pictures on their web site. The WiFi is free and good and the only negative is the breakfast is a bit expensive, but it is easy to go to town or even just down the block. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your perfect rating and your lovely and honest feedback. We are very glad to hear that you've had a memorable stay at the Hotel Coronado. It's nice to hear that you've enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, we would like to forward your compliments to the rest of the team.

We appreciate that you'd stay here again and look forward to welcoming you back for a second stay with us.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We have stayed in room 304, which is very comfortable for two people but maybe a little bit tight for three (one of the beds is a mobile one so that a third person can come).

Staff is really friendly and helpful, this is the most notable characteristic of this hotel.

The breakfast is also very nice.

Don't worry, Coronado is a very good option for your stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Eduardo,

Thank you very much for your honest and lovely feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear, that you've enjoyed our comfortable room as well as the breakfast. We will forward your compliments to the whole team, I'm sure they will be very happy to hear such a positive comment about them.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Zurich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.