We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real a/c and clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coronado Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real a/c and clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Real American-style air conditioning! Not just a fan systems most have. Cleanest room I ever stayed in! Rooms are a little small but they all are in Europe, has everythign you need. I have a bad back and the beds were extremely comfy, great pillows, clean clean. Excellent private bath. Very friendly staff! Not located in the center of the city which is good, quiet! Tram right across the street! Short ride to the city center and the main train station

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for that amazing comment on TripAdvisor! We are happy that we could offer you an adequate standard what you exected.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronao in Zurich.
Kind regards,
You Coroando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
70
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived in Zurich to be met by a heat wave (39ᵒ C., 103 F). To our relief we found that the Coronado Hotel, not only has a free parking and a free Internet, but it has air-conditioning, which is quite rare in Zurich. There is a tram station in front of the hotel, which is very convenient. Our room was very comfortable and clean, especially the bed, though quite small. The stuff was very helpful and breakfast, surcharged, was nice. If I will ever come back to Zurich I’ll be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Buy a daily ticket, which provides a whole day free transportation in all the available facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and we are delighted you had a memorable stay with us! See you soon again.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was grateful for the advice from previous travellers. This was such an easy experience travelling to an unknown city. It is located easily from the motorway ( coming from Geneva). We arrived about 12 and were able to park right in front of the hotel ( where the car stayed until we left). The public transport is amazing here and really would advise not using your car. The tram is a so easy ( once you work out which side of the platform!
TRAM
Get confirmation of my details from the hotel staff! We used the 14 each time - you walk out of the hotel turn right 25m until the crossing. ( do not like we did walk to far) then after crossing turn back along the street about 60m and there is the platform- use the tram to Hup bahn hof( main station) - the one to Seebach is the one for coming home. I think it is the platform on the hotel side to go into town- but check that- the first time we went the wrong way! We simply got on and off each time at the main railway station and everything was near to there. The hotel were brilliant and had a tram card 24hrs for us. You simply need to pop it into the machine on the platform to validate it. We never waited more than 10 minutes for a tram and usually it is shorter- but a sign displays how long before yours arrives. The stop is Milch back or something like that - again displayed and annoucned in the tram- wonderful.
ROOM
small but perfect. HAD AIR CONDITIONING. We have suffered in the July heat throughout Europe in top hotels but with no AC and had terrible nights sleep. This was bliss. Immaculately clean. Had a bath which after long walking days in city is fab.
STAFF
Amazing- even had one who had potential for a comedy show- there English is quite stunning.
BREAKFAST
Wow- what a surprise. From previous reviews I was not going to take it but it was one of the best we have had on our tour. I live in Switzerland now and for here it was SO SO cheap- I think 15 francs. For that we had a cooked breakfast with eggs and sausages, fruit, fruit salad, read and a selection of cheese. There seemed to be everything there to choose from- at the price of a glass of juice, coffee and a cake.
I would certainly go back to this hotel if visiting Zurich again- By the way Zurich is the 2nd best city experience of my life ( after Istanbul) - YOU MUST DO IT! enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing detailed feedback! Wow, very impressive, thanks for your time taken writting such a lovely comment. I am pretty sure that your impressions will help future guests to choose the right hotel in Zurich.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our place!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times and I never regret about the choice.
Here are the different attributes of this hotel:

-Location - for me it is an advantage, it is located in the quit suburb, the public transport is easily accessible (bus and train stops are across the road) and in front of the hotel is the Irchel park. All this makes the location attractive.

-Service - I've arrived late in the evening (approximately at 24:00) and was positively surprised to see two people at the check in, who smiled an greeted me as it is a mid day. Also, the check-in was fast as they were expecting my arrival. Very professional!

-Rooms - After the renovation rooms became better, but still they are a bit old-stylish. I was surprised when i founded a bath (not just a shower cabin) in my room. The overall appearance of the room is very positive, everything is easily accessible and cleaned.

-Breakfast - was good, although the quality was fine - there could be a bit more different food types (ex. omelette or sausages).

-Check out was performed easy and without any problems.

There is a tip - if you booking this hotel from the hotel's web site - you can choose small presents, like free one-day breakfast, which is nice from my point of view.

Summing up, the hotel for me is a good price-value match in Zurich, and the service is even get better through the years. I think, this is one of the reasons why the hotel is quit popular with business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a nice comment to read, thank you! We appreciate it even more as you are a frequent traveller and we can welcome you as our guests.
Thanks for all the mentioned details and inputs, espescially for the kudos regarding the staff.
See you soon again, we are looking forward to it!
Best regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good room, with enough space to fit in family of five. Park across road nice for the kids to unwind and parents to take a stroll. Staff all spoke English and were very helpful on tram tickets and maps. Made our stay easy with tram tickets as we were charged 50 francs taxi to get from train station to hotel and then found out tram stop outside our hotel. Next morning took tram back to station for half the price. Will stay again if in Zurich again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to help you and find the easiest and cheapest way to enjoy your trip to Zurich! We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our place in Zurich.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Second time staying here, choose it because its off the centre but has great tram links to all over, a few nearby restaurants and most importantly - friendly and very helpful staff.

Have also stayed at sister hotel - Allegra in Kloten which is also good but out at the town near the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you as a frequent guest at Coronado Hotel and especially that you dropped by in Kloten at the Allegra Hotel as well.
See you soon again it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very helpful staff with directions etc. Room was clean with fridge and good en suite. Free wifi and loft to our floor was available. Being on the frequent no.14 tram route was convenient for town as well as easy access to the airport with tram no. 10. Perhaps CHF15 for breakfast was a bit steep but coffee is freely available in the reception area. The TV had many UK channels which may help those travellers who are homesick!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Geust,
Thank you for your feedback! Nice to know that we could do something against your homesickness :) Thanks for all the mentioned details, it helps future guests a lot to become a proper view what they can expect.
Kind regards and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#13 Business Hotel in Zurich
#24 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.