We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coronado Hotel to your Saves list
Coronado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good location, tram station is across the street. Takes 15 minutes to train station and 22 minutes to airport. Clean, simple/modern hotel. Good shutters and curtains on windows in rooms. Complimentary safe and chocolate. Fresh and clean linens and towels. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby. Helpfully staff with recomendations. Room was ready before check in time. They provided umbrellas, when we asked.
Bathroom is small, shower is very powerful, bathtub curtains are annoying. 3 rd bed mattress is too firm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your point of view and I am sure our future guests as well, since your informations are very helpful.
See you back soon when you visit the Zurich area again.
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    99
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
53
83
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good location, not directly in center but excellent tram connections
Friendly staff
Excellent breakfast
Spotless cleanliness
Free car parking, which is a real plus in Zurich, where there is just no free public car parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor are large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely words and your rating. Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the time in Zurich. Thank you for the kudo!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Coronado just drop in, your are warmly welcome!.
Kind regards, your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As we had hoped, our room, 203, was clean, comfortable and quiet eventhough we faced the street. The tram, across the street, had us to the train station in 15 minutes. The staff were always helpful with advice and directions. Remo was especially helpful and had a great sense of humor. Breakfast was good, but not included in our plan. There were 14 in our party and not one complaint was heard. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby free . The bathtub was a bit treacherous to use: slippery and small. We put towel down so as not to slip. Be especially careful when using.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your kind words and your time you have taken to share your impressions with other travelers and thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast and specially about the staff (Remo!). I am please to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff to be very helpful in helping us find places to eat and how to use the tram. The hotel is right outside the tram so it's convenient and a short 5-10 minutes from downtown. Wifi and parking is included which is rare in Zurich. Rooms are a little small but the hotel is very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

We are very happy our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With kind regards from Zurich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Top marks all round. The Coronado is situated in the University district, a very pleasant suburb just 15 minutes by tram from the city centre and 20 mins to the airport. The Milchbuck tram stop opposite the hotel has a service to the city centre every couple of minutes and to the airport several times an hour. The hotel sells 24 hour tram passes - they gave us one free for booking online.
The Coronado appears to have been recently refurbished, is spotlessly clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room are compact but well equipped with pleasant bathrooms, large flat screen TVs with literally hundreds of channels in all the major languages and a free to use safe in every in every room. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice and everything is fresh and top quality. Being out of the centre, although easily accessible, it is significantly less expensive than hotels within waking distance of the Altstadt or Bahnhofstrasse.
Note I don't use the word 'cheap'. Although a vibrant city, which has lots to offer for a short city break, Zurich is very expensive. A simple meal in a Pizzeria can be £40 per head. Wine is particularly expensive - an everyday Italian wine will cost around £30 per bottle in a restaurant so best stick to beer or water.
In conclusion, take plenty of Swiss francs with you but Zurich is well worth a short visit and you'll get a warm welcome at the Coronado.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Coronado. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am please to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We liked this hotel the location is a quick tram trip to city centre the rooms are small but clean and comfortable I would stay here again the staff were Very polite and helpful and zurich is a lovely place to visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your honest opinion and your rating. We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Zurich.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend, as it was our last stop before our trip back home. We reached Zurich from Lucerne and not being happy with our hotel there, were a little apprehensive about this hotel as well, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the place.
The location is not in the center, about 15 mins from the train station and 20 minutes to the lake front but the best part is that there is a tram stop right opposite the hotel which has direct connections to the train station, the lake front and even the airport...wonderful. There is even a coop store on the same street about 5 minutes walk away and a couple of restaurants next door.
The rooms are smallish, but are well stocked with everything that you might need and the bathroom had a bath tub which we were quite happy with after our long day. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had on our trip across Europe and there was air conditioning which we used on one day as there was a bit of street noise if the windows were kept open. The wi-fi is complimentary and was appropriate as this is considered to be a business kind of place. Breakfast was not included in our room, but we had breakfast on one morning (15chf per person) and it was basic and adequate.
The staff at the reception was a mixed bag, on the first day the receptionist seemed a little cold and didn't seem too enthusiastic; however on the next day we were more than compensated as the female on the desk seemed to go out of her way in helping us with everything and even printed out relevant details. We were really impressed with the service and this made us end our trip on a happy note. Will definitely stay here again if we come to Zurich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comment on T/A! What a nice comment with so many facts and inputs, better than a tourist guide, thank you! we appreciate it and our future guests become a proper viw, what they can expect.
We are looking forward to your next visit in Zurich, it would be our pleasure!
Kind Regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.