We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
Nordstrasse 88, Zurich 8037, Switzerland (Hochschulen)
+41(0)43 5369381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 1,247 restaurants in Zurich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hochschulen
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great brunch, cosy atmosphere and a nice mix of people. The service is friendly and welcoming. Always nice to come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Small cafe with a big outdoor area tucked into a residential area. The vibe and the ambience are really good. I had the Quiche Lorraine. It was well prepared and tasted great. Opted for a couple of draughts to go with it. Believe it was Appenzeller, but can't remember for sure.

The downside was the service. I get that I don't speak the local language, but I still felt totally ignored. No one really seemed interested in waiting on us.

Perhaps if I had been with a local my experience would have been different.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cute little café, good food - service varies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to the Café des Amis mainly for brunch on Sunday. The brunch food is very good - get the full brunch if you are hungry and you get a tasty of everything, but if you like smaller items by themselver, that's also possible. It's a good mix between bacon/eggs/bread and some French crepes, fresh cheese, fruits...

Another reviewer has commented on the supposedly "high" prices - I am sure he/she did not realize that for Zürich, the prices are actually quite decent and totally adequate.
In summer, you can sit outside. There is a big road right next to it, but the terrace is a bit lowered and it's not noisy (well, at least not Sundays around noon).
Only thing that could be improved is the service - sometimes it is very good, sometimes unfortunately it is the opposite. On my visit yesterday, the service was excellent so I hope it will stay that way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Drinks after a movie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stopped off at Cafe Des Amis for some drinks after the cinema. This is a good bar, decor is very impressive as are the staff. We took a look at the menu, it looks good and would like to sample it some day/evening. We will return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 
Zurich, Switzerland
Zurich, Switzerland
 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Des Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.