We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glimpse into Alstadt Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #68 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Glimpse into Alstadt Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is more like a pension rather than a large hotel, yet the rooms were clean, organized well and fairly spacious. The proximity to both the train station and Alstadt (Old Town) made it the perfect location for our visit, yet the real treat here is the staff...Christophe was superbly helpful and offered assistance with everything, from parking my daughter's car to helping source reservations for dinner. The breakfast was scrumptious and bountiful!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    220
    98
    20
    15
See reviews for
70
153
49
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located just a few blocks from the railroad as well as the Old Town, this hotel needs some tweaking....
Breakfast time the dining area was packed with hungry people and at about 10 a.m. ran out of bacon, meats and flatware. We'll try to get down earlier tomorrow morning so we can relax and enjoy our food.
The promised WiFi in our room is less than intermittent and very annoying as it is on for a moment and then disconnects.
The room is small but clean. the water in the sink takes forever to drain and the pop-up doesn't lock. One compliment... The people at the front desk could not be nicer and were very well informed.

Overall, next time i think I'll spend a little more and go up a level in class.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the hotel is a two minute walk to the museum and also the train station and the shopping.it is about a 10 minute walk to the old city . the people at the front desk are very accommodating.the rooms are okay the breakfast could be a little bit more organized we got there at 930 in the morning and they stop having the buffet at 10 so it was crowded and it was also running out of food.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were really impressed with the cleanliness, & overall look of the hotel. However, when it came to checking out my family were charged extra, after having already paid for our 2 rooms for 2 nights stay! When showing the proof of payment to the women (who barely spoke english) behind the desk she admitted there was a mistake, however, still made us pay an extra 700 francs due to a human error on their part. She then continued to be condescending and un helpful, as apparently she was unable to complete refunds on her own. And we would have to wait until after christmas to discuss the issue. I cannot fathom why someone on there own in a hotel was so unhelpful, and also why they took more of our money even when we had evidence of our previous payment. I could go on but won't. After witnessing other issues regarding payments and human error of hotel employees I do not recommend staying there.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night at Hotel Montana. Immediately after we checked in, Marcus at the counter
was quick to offer information on the vicinity and interesting places around the city. He also drew on the map how we could get around and stop at interesting places. He was helpful throughout our stay and gave good advice on how to get to the airport. We would recommend staying in the hotel for those who want to stay near Zurich main station. We also got connecting rooms and after travelling through Vienna, Munich and Lucerne, we are very pleased with the strong wifi reception! Also five star for Marcus's good initiative and service!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night here purely because we had to be near the train station .

The walk is manageable but if you arrive at night, there is a quiet stretch (past an erotic shop) that look daunting .

The Main restaurant was cosy . Rooms are small and probably needs a refresh. Wifi access is ok . Location is good as it is walking distance to the main shopping belt and Lake Zurich .

What I learnt from this very short stay at Montana boils down to this - it's the people that makes a difference to the hotel . . We were warmly- received upon check-in . Marcus at reception was friendly and helpful and it helped overlook the gaps in the hardware of the hotel . This was our last stop after 10 days in Austria, Germany
And Switzerland -and it was the first time we felt welcomed upon checking in !

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Registration at the reception was done by a very friendly women. Unfortunately the room was a big disappointment. Very cheap basic furniture that was damaged in several places. Wifi most of the time not working. Uncomfortable bed. Water pressure too low to rinse the soap out of my hair. Irritating noise during most of the night. Breakfast very basic. Only positive: location close to train station and city centre is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, a minibar, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet and small dishes throughout the day. The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.