We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Zurich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Zurich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed in Switzerland for ten days. Rather than pushing on to our final destination after an 8 hour overnight flight we decided to stay overnight in Zurich. On our way out we stayed again since we had an early flight out.

We chose hotel montana due to it's convenient location, close to the train station and the old city. We were glad we did. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very polite and helpful. Our room had a king size bed with a cot for our son. It was a tight fit what with three full size suitcases but that is what you get for trying to fit three people in a two person room. The room itself was clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable. There is no air-conditioning, but this is Europe several establishments do not have air-conditioning including Zurich airport. Both nights we stayed there it was 28 celcius in Zurich. We opened the windows lowered the blind and slept well. The Hotel has fans if you need them. Was there noise? Yes, but you get noise when you open the window in a busy city.

The breakfast which was included in our stay was very good. There was a selection of cheeses, meats, bacon, eggs, fantastic croissants, coffee tea etc.

We were very happy with our stays at Hotel Montana and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    217
    96
    20
    15
See reviews for
68
152
49
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is ideally located if you intend to travel and/ or just take a stopover in Zurich - it is 5-minute walk from the railway station. Interestingly decorated halls, the room is not big but enough and clean.

Decent breakfast in the charming hotel's restaurant hall.

There could be certain problems when it is hot - as you can't sleep well with the window open due to the street noise, and it's suffocating with the windows closed, so air condition would be nice to get.

And last but not the least - good value for money in Switzerland!

Room Tip: If possible, try to ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Its very clean calm hotel , good location its near to the trains station and shopping street and the river so you dont need a car .... and so helpful employees ,that german girl was so frindly i like the city and walk to the mountian at the top of zurich.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harogate
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is centrally located and perfect if arriving in the city by train, as it's just around the corner. A couple of bars close by, but only a 5 minute stroll and your right in the thick of it. The room we had 521 was very spacious with a refurbished bathroom which was excellent. Even had BBC & ITV channels of the tv.
We opted for B&B and the breakfasts were very good, served in the lovely restaurant. Nice for b'fast but not sure about it as an evening dining area! Staff very friendly and helpful. I had noticed some reviews just before we visited about it being very hot as no air-con. The temperature's were ok when we visited Zurich and the room & corridor's were very warm, so I can imagine during hot spells it could become quite uncomfortable. We enjoyed our stay here and would consider again(outwith very hot weather)and it was priced very well given it's very central location

Room Tip: Room 512 was ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Staff was friendly, the breakfast was good and the room is great as well. Really central and close to the city center and shopping. The only annoying thing was the slow elevator, since there was only one for the entire hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have just left Zurich after a 6 night stay in the Hotel Montana. I have no complaints, yes there was no air conditioning but I knew that before I booked and yes the rooms are on the smallish side but as I was out seeing the sights and not living in my room that wasn't an issue. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the hotel was always spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious and a great start to each day. The location is fantastic and a 5 minute walk to the train station or a 2 minute walk to the bus depot where all sightseeing tours leave from. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Zurich again I wouldn't look past this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I did not realize there was no air conditioning until I read these reviews. Lucky for me it was not too hot - and I had an excellent stay.

I thought with location, room size, comfortableness of bed, and friendliness of staff made it a great value for an very expensive city.

I love how it is a five minute walk to train station because I was easily able to get in and out of the city, (And a 22 min trip to airport.)

I would stay here again for sure, after I check the weather.

Room Tip: book directly on the hotel montana site and get a 10% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, a minibar, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet and small dishes throughout the day. The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.