We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Montana to your Saves list
Hotel Montana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #64 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised. It is on the 'other' side of the hbf to the Zurich mitte, and walking down the small, dark street was initially quite intimidating. The hotel staff, however, were very welcoming, and the establishment was well appointed, clean and professional. It is a smaller hotel, but funky and new, with an awesome lift. The rooms were spacious and modern, although they use a heating system for the cheaper rooms where you do not have a room-control. It was unbelievably hot over a cool weekend, so much so that we requested a fan in the room and ran it all night and day when home. There was also no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which meant that if you wanted a beverage you had to go downstairs to reception, and they only made one if they weren't too busy, or it wasn't too late. The breakfast selection was small, but great, and the staff were super nice. The location was great in terms of what you pay- you can spend a lot of money and stay bang in the centre where it may be noisier at night, or you can stay here for cheaper, be only 5 minutes walk to the hbf/ city centre, and stay on a quieter street.

Room Tip: Upgrade for your own temperature control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. FelicityH
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and our stay in Hotel Montana. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you have used our lounge where we offer free of charge for all our guests to self-service coffee and tea. Also pleased me to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection. Especially with the cozy breakfast can start a new day perfect. I wish you all the best and maybe next time in Switzerland, we may welcome you again.

Yours sincerly
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    207
    92
    17
    15
See reviews for
65
145
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The receptionist, whom I later found out was the manager, welcomed us to the hotel, took our details, my companion provided his credit card I had my passport handy gave it to her. She scanned it. Standard procedure, all good. She was charming. Had dinner retired early to bed as we had a busy schedule ahead.

The hotel was fine, I particular remember the bed linen was crisp and inviting. The dinner was good and the waitress was particularly nice and friendly. BUT...

At about 11ish, we were woken up by an extremely loud knock on the door. It was the night manager, demanding very rudely to see our documents, threatening me with the police. I gave him all the information required, half asleep, not understanding what the problem was.

It transpired that the receptionist-manager should have scanned the passport of the credit card holder. By not doing so, the police could have turned up!

That is absolutely fine. I have no problem with that. My disatisfaction lies on the way the matter was handled by the night manager Mr. Rozas Rinaldo. He was unapologetically rude, challenging and inconsiderate to his guests. I could not sleep at all after that. So it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mlmena
thank you that you give us your feedback on your stay. Even if your feedback, unfortunately, in some aspects is not positive, but it helps us to constantly improve ourselves in our work. According to your feedback, we have reviewed our internal processes. I'm very sorry that my employee wanted to discuss the situation on the same evening with you. Because of your helpful objection we will now communicate missing data directly at check out. This guarantees a carefree stay at our hotel.

I very much hope that we may welcome you and your husband on your next bike ride through Europe in our hotel.

Best Regards and many greetings from Zürich
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh North Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Selected by our travel agent because of proximity to the Hofbahnhof. ( turn left at end of platform out onto Museum street. Left till you get to some bike sheds then cross the road leaving the trams on your right. Turn Left by a restaurant and carry on down the street past sex shop and it is on your left.
Warm welcome, good room, notice to say that tea and coffee available 24 hours from reception they will bring up if they are not busy. As it happened did not avail ourselves of this service. Would prefer own kettle.
Noise from street in evenings only problem, (we had arrived in sudden heatwave.)
Buffet brekfast with hot bacon eggs and sausages, and cold meats and cheeses, breads croisants, cereals, fresh fruit, unlimited coffee.
Main snag was that the restaurant was not open Sunday evening
We had two nights on the way to a reunion in the mountains and wanted to see Zurich

Room Tip: May be better to ask for one on the back of the hotel. Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. DrTimW

Thank you fo taking time to rewiev your stay. I am very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in our beautiful city Zürich.
I hope to welcome your again and wish you all the best

Best Regards

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely renovated hotel...their breakfast is great..The location is good too (right behind Zürich Hauptbahnhof) its a great place for a one night say for the sake of convenience. finding the hotel is a little bit of a challenge (if you walking from the station) ....theres a big sign on a building saying hotel montana 3 stars followed by 3 arrows....which at the first glance makes you think thats the hotel...only to find out the hotel is just around the corner...(you have to follow the arrows)

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very well located, just steps away from the train station, bus station and a starbucks. Rooms r small as usual in europe, and no airconditioning or fan. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast with veg options. Overall would recommend this hotel. Had gone to Zurich to attend a one direction concert and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was an ok hotel for a 1 night stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was very good - hot food included.
The rooms were very small (and expensive for the size) and hot - we had to have the window open to cool it down.
We walked from the train station.
We really enjoyed the day in Zurich, it was easy to catch the tram and walk around the old part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 122 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, a minibar, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet and small dishes throughout the day. The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.