We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sorell Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Sorell Hotel Rex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the Rex Swiss Quality Hotel last week and had a nice stay. I had a room in the back, which was not only quiet but quite spacious by European standards. Wifi worked well, which is always a huge plus for me, and the breakfast was also nice. Although not in the city center, it is very close by and a short tram ride (or slightly longer walk) away from the old town. The only real drawback was the relative lack of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but you're only a short tram ride away from having many good options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Paul,
Thank you for your time to write a review about your stay. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoy staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    108
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
56
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have just stayed in the hotel for a few days and can report that the wireless internet works perfectly and is fast enough for "normal" use.
As other reviews have mentioned, the rooms are small (and noisy at the front due to the trams - lines 7 and 15) but clean and functional. The breakfast is more than adequate and, overall, the price is quite reasonable.
Recommended for short stays.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room that is not at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel REX. We are happy to hear that you can recommend us to other travelers. We always do our best to satisfy all needs of our customers so whenever possible we provide rooms regarding the requests mentioned in reservations (for quiet rooms for example). If you want to come back one day just let us know in advance what you prefer and we fulfill your wishes if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at the Rex Swiss Q Hotel two days ago and it was quite the surprise! My colleague had booked the hotel and I had no clue about it. The pictures on the website weren't too convincing either. But it was a pleasant surprise to say the least. Considering how expensiive Zurich is, it was reasonably priced, very clean, decent breakfast, free wi-fi, quite small but a single room is good enough for two people and the best part of it all was the tram station right outside the hotel. Overall, I was pleased and would totally recommend for anyone visiting Zurich on a budget!

Room Tip: The rooms on the very top floor have a balcony with a beautiful view of Lake Zurich and the city aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your very good review. We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and recommend the REX to other customers.
We do our best to improve our standards and services constantly to make every customers stay comfortable! Maybe we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

service is good, reception is friendly, and there's free parking. (for just a few cars).
The breakfast is not special, but good enough with fresh baked bread, cheese, lunchmeat etc. Surprise was the fantastic espresso machine that's free to use!
The room is small, but has everything you need; small desk, minibar, safe, TV.
The bathroom is the only negative, this is just too small. (but clean)

Location is perfect: it's a 15 min walk to a million bars/restaurants and the lake. If you don't want to walk, just take the tram that's steps away from the hotel.

I recommend this hotel, as the price is good for what you get in this expensive city!

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, you better ask for a room on the back. (although for me the trams in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel.
Our standard double rooms are not huge but do have a decent size for what we charge, the bathrooms are rather small in some rooms but we also have rooms (family, comfort and superior rooms) which have bigger bathrooms. The best is to book directly and let us know your requests.
Maybe we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel was decent enough and the breakfast was good. But the internet was awful. It disconnected every 2 mins. My wife and i both have iphones so we were disappointed. Good wifi is more important to me than good breakfast so that's why I dinged the rating of the hotel. Overall my experience wasn't bad. If wifi worked, easily a 4.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our internet connection but we were aware of that problem and changed our provider. We are happy to tell you and all other future customers that our new provider is working properly and is even faster as the old one was. So you are very welcome to come back and check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I checked in a single room. I was expecting it to be really small, but it was spacious enough. The bedroom, linen and bathroom were immaculate. A good diverse breakfast buffet, included in the single room price. It is only 10mn nice walk to downtown but if you feel lazy, you can always take the tram, which stop is like 200 meters distance. My only 2 negative comments are: the way my room was organized was very weird. When you opened the door you ended up in the bathroom (sink first, then shower and the toilet) and after that you could access the bedroom, but I know that other single rooms are not set up like that. So maybe you can double-check with reception before getting the room. Second negative comment is that the walls are paper-thin, so if your neighbor's tv is on, or he is walking with his shoes, you can hear that. This being said, I really recommend this place, as the price is pretty low for a city like Zurich and it is much more comfortable than a hostel (and some hostels in Zurich are more expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that do not open on the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive comment about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you would recommend the REX.
Regarding the type of room you are right; we only have 3 single rooms which are set up like this so usually it is no problem to request another type of room before checking-in but nevertheless the standard is the same in all our rooms: shower, toilet, minibar, TV, radio, free wifi connection, minibar and coffee- and teamaking facilities.
We hope to welcome you another time in Zurich soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very good value, slightly outside the center of Zurich, but still very central. Well run, tasteful place. Would come back when in Zurich.

Location: not in the center, but still very central in a residential neighborhood. Abt 15 min walk to the city center. Connected by 2 trams lines which go to the 2 locations ones generally wants to go:. One goes to the train station and down Bahnhofstrasse, the other straight to the lake.

Rooms: Medium sized rooms, nicely furnished. Tea/coffee making facility, nice bathroom w good towels, very good lightening in rooms ad free wifi.

Service: very nice Swiss style breakfast, breakfast room very tasteful and light, staff very helpful and hotel sells daily tram tickets, some free parking spaces

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your good review, we always love to hear comments from satisfied guests. We are happy to welcome you or friends and family of yours in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Zurich
#39 Family Hotel in Zurich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.