We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls, over priced like most of Zurich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dufourstrasse 4, Zurich 8008, Switzerland (Seefeld)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Thin walls, over priced like most of Zurich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

OK, it's Zurich, but this hotel should lower prices based on the rather thin walls where you hear every movement in the other rooms. Otherwise, not to confuse you, it is a fine location, and cute place with excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    36
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
44
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very nice hôtel, well situated, of course the shower are sometimes a little too little but having set-up the whole hôtel with shower is a good sign of environment protection. I really appreciate that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Third time staying here, first since the renovations, and I was a little worried the quirky charm and the incredibly calm and friendly atmosphere would have gone. Needn't have been. This is still the same wonderful, slightly old world but now with all mod cons (free wifi - in Zurich - a miracle!) joy it always has been.

As ever my trip was for the Opera (for which this place could not be better placed, my balcony looked out over the back of the House). As ever the staff were as nice and friendly as you could imagine. The rooms are wonderfully updated. It still feels like the old place but now everything is up-to-date. OK it's not cheap by rest of Europe standards, but then nothing in Switzerland is! But if you are in town for the opera and looking for a calm and relaxing atmosphere with all mod cons and welcoming staff, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexia H, Director of Sales at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for this great and detailed review! This is always a positive sign of our skilled performance and the only way we can improve steadily.

The Hotel Europe has undergone an extensive renovation in 2011. Carefully matched fabrics and wallpaper borders were arranged with antique furniture and chandeliers what the distinctive charm of the late 19th Century house built in stresses. The technical infrastructure with the highest standards was implemented after the conversion. So your new favorite room is waiting to be discovered by you!

We agree that the prices in Switzerland, especially in Zurich, are higher than in other European cities. The Hotel Europe provides very high quality, class and a very personal guest service.

We'd like to thank you for recommending our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Europe Zurich.

Your Hosts

Eria Kramer & Mustafa Tuerker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

After searching for various hotels this was booked by the production house we did not come across it in our search online. Fra Krammer has done an excellent job on all counts. It was a pleasure to be greeted with such a personalized service and a genuine smile.
Free wi fi and complimentary water all part of the service. The bistro is also very good.

Room Tip: Very happy with our double room as we also looked at the junior suite but our bathroom was a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Colombia, Venezuela
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Was here for a one night business visit to Zurich, loved the hotel. Samll personal and great control by the owner Mrs. Kramer. Though missed my daily swimming routine

Room Tip: Take top floors as view of the lake is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice, small boutique hotel - you feel like at home. Everybody very friendly, but never too personal. rooms very cosy and very clean, food great, location perfect - we love the rooms under the roof with view on the alps... our favourite hotel in Zurich - by far.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a nice few on the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My family stayed a couple of nights here. It has a good value for money if you are looking for something city centered. My kids loved it as they could go shopping in the globus 2 blocks away from the hotel. As the opera housen was that near we baught tickets on the day of the arrival and the show was great! If you are not sure of what to see in zürich the staff of the reception give you interesting locations/exhibitions to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian_Kramer, Manager at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We have recently launched our new hotel website europehotel(dot)ch where you receive our breakfast buffet free of charge. This offer is solely available on the hotel website and not available on booking(dot)com nor Expedia or any other travel agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: Dufourstrasse 4, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#19 Business Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Hotel Europe is located near to the famous Bahnhofstrasse, the Paradeplatz with its banks, the picturesque old town and various places of cultural interest. Situated in a central location right next to the Opera House and Lake Zurich, the hotel combines stylish interior and individual charm with state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel zürich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.