We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in the first week of August 2013. We walked to the hotel from the Zurich HB train station and it didn't feel too far. The English-speaking staff at the reception was cordial and we were offered a room upgrade owing to availability & our membership of the Accor Hotels. This was excellent and we really loved the spacious room. The bed/bedding were extremely comfortable and the room had a Nespresso machine which was really handy. The hotel is not too far from the Bahnofstrasse and there is a tram station near the hotel. The neighborhood and the hotel itself is very quiet and we had a great time during our stay. The hotel also had farm fresh apple juice (complementary) which was a nice touch. Overall, an excellent place to stay while in Zurich. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear DivyJ,

Fantastic that your stay was so memorable. It was a real pleasure reading your review on tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Continental.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    574
    142
    26
    21
See reviews for
138
605
170
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is located close the the central station.
Rooms are very clean and nice, but, rooms to the front might be a bit noisy from the street and rooms in the rear part of the building don't have a great view. Well, you don't spend all day in the hotel, so that's fine.
The hotel offers fresh organic apple juice in the lobbey (delicious!).
There is a great variety of swiss food offered for breakfast.
My only negative comment would be that there should be more tables for 1 or 2 people, as the staff had problems finding seats for single persons. Also, reception staff was much friendlier than the staff in the breakfast room, maybe they were just too busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Croydon-MrB ,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay on tripadvisor. We are very happy, that you had such an enjoyable time with us.
Your comments about our breakfast buffet and service are highly appreciated. I will follow up on them internally.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good hotel within walking distance of the Bahnhofstrasse where the main shopping district is located. The staff spoke excellent English. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a Club suite which was a nice touch. The room was really large and included complimentary fruit and Nespresso. The hotel is quiet too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear YLH01,

Thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are very happy that you had a memorable stay with us.
See you hopefully soon again.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very comfortable hotel, with a lovely atmosphere, friendly, (patient) staff with excellent English. A lovely room with a kingsized bed- room was a bit small I thought but adequate for using as a base to explore the city- the city is on your doorstop- a brief walk of 5-10 minutes brings you to the main train station, or onto the neiderdorff Strasse where load of cafes and bars are to be found. The food in the mornings was great- a real hi-light of our stay. The Staff organised tickets for a city tour on our behalf as well. a real pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jimi Jam M,

The pleasure was on our side. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are very happy that your stay was so memorable.
For your next stay I suggest one of our Superior rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your room reservation.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here after spending 3 disappointing days at Mgallery hotel in Milan. This was a much greater pleasure - a hotel that does exactly what it is supposed to. We had a comfy bed, large room, great free wifi and the breakfasts are just divine! All those local delicacies - fantastic! Not to mention that fresh apple juice in reception. Convenient location. Some road noise. Lovely staff.
Would be my first choice if I visit again. Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear jsy444,

Great review - thank you very much. Our fantastic "Süssmost" (apple juice) in the lobby comes from a local farm - no preservatives, no added sugar just purely Swiss.
And we sure hope that you will stay with us again. Zurich is always worth a trip.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is not by far my first stay at the Continental Zurich: it is my hotel of choice for now more than 5 years...
Arrived late and got a small room (for some reason, they "forgot" to upgrade me while I am a Platinum member, but they apologised and corrected to my satisfaction). The room had everything one could need, including fast internet, excellent bed, good bathroom amenities and ... chocolates (we are in Switzerland after all). The next morning, after an excellent night, I skipped breakfast (although it is in general very good - but in this case it was sleep or food, I choose sleep).
Bottom line: good as usual, still fabulously located. I'll go back next time I'll spend a night in Zurich!

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms: they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Swissdiver,

We appreciate your kind review on tripadvisor a lot. Thank you very much. Being one of our highly valued Le Club Platinum members gives you some advantages indeed and I am happy that my Front Office team was able to serve you well.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your hotel of choice.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Zurich
#9 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#25 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. From the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. Drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired decor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality...Understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.