We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great swiss hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 2 Enjoy 3 !
Ranked #23 of 123 hotels in Zurich
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great swiss hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great location no more than 5 mins walk from the main train station and a tram stop just 50 metres from the hotel. Lobby had a bit of swiss charm and even had some complimentary swiss apple juice. Staff were helpful with information - giving recommendations on where to have some traditional swiss food. Rooms were clean and comfortable but fairly compact. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi lexi_m2011 ,

And we hope you will stay with us again in the very near future. Thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor. I recommend for your next reservation to book one of our spacious Superior rooms - contact us at any time for more information.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    524
    126
    25
    20
See reviews for
130
553
162
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved this hotel: large, charming room in a very convenient location. Not the loveliest street, but just a few minutes walk from olde town and has some interesting restaurants. The staff was warm and friendly. We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Walking distance from both the train and olde town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear laikador,

We truly enjoyed reading your feedback on tripadvisor! Thank you so much for this delightful review.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay here last time I was in Zurich, I made sure to rebook and once again was not let down. Customer service is efficient and attentive everywhere in the hotel. The hotel has its history and quirky elements of the region are subtly present throughout the décor, giving it a distinct, welcoming feeling. The room itself was large, clean and spacious and I even got a turndown service with a chocolate on my pillow.
Clean, distinct, welcoming and comfortable, and only a short walk from the station and other sights...what's not to like!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear SallyOday,

What's not to like? Nothing, we surely liked your feedback.
Thanks a lot for your nice review, recent stay and most certainly future stays.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location - easy walk from the train station. We also walked to major sites. Exterior of the hotel is non-impressive. Hotel has nice traditional decor but lobby is a tad worn. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet with a big comfortable bed. There is a large spacious lounge (seating area) on the first floor - good place to get an after dinner drink and catch up on e-mail etc. Check-in was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear slowcyclist,

Great that your stay was so enjoyable. Our "Living room" area on the first floor is truly nice and welcoming.

With kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights prior to joining a bus tour. We were very disappointed that our room was not ready despite a "guaranteed" 2 p.m. check in (we arrived at 3). It was explained that a large number of guests asked for a late checkout, I explained I didn't care and this was not our problem. There were several other guests who were also waiting for rooms, one gentleman offered to clean the room himself! :-)
By the time we arrived at the hotel we had been awake for 30 hours, all we wanted was to take a shower and go to sleep.
We tried being patient, we were initially told it would be about 20 minutes but after an hour I went to the desk and complained rather "loudly". We have traveled all over the world and not had this issue before, usually rooms are even ready early but never this. It seems to me the answer is simple, if you don't have enough staff to get the rooms ready do not allow late checkouts.
The manager finally came out and spoke to us, we were given a very nice room and a complimentary dinner for two at the hotels restaurant which was appreciated.
I rated the service as a 3, if not for the managers intervention it would have been a 1.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Linda0863,
Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. It was indeed very unfortunate that your room was not ready - rest assured that the circumstances last week we very unusual and you are right, this can not be your worry as our guest.
Therefore I am very glad that you had, after a bumpy start, a nice remainder of your stay.
See you next time in Zurich - and your room will be ready on time. Promised.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.