We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location but management needs to ensure rooms are ready for check in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 123 hotels in Zurich
1 review
“Great central location but management needs to ensure rooms are ready for check in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights prior to joining a bus tour. We were very disappointed that our room was not ready despite a "guaranteed" 2 p.m. check in (we arrived at 3). It was explained that a large number of guests asked for a late checkout, I explained I didn't care and this was not our problem. There were several other guests who were also waiting for rooms, one gentleman offered to clean the room himself! :-)
By the time we arrived at the hotel we had been awake for 30 hours, all we wanted was to take a shower and go to sleep.
We tried being patient, we were initially told it would be about 20 minutes but after an hour I went to the desk and complained rather "loudly". We have traveled all over the world and not had this issue before, usually rooms are even ready early but never this. It seems to me the answer is simple, if you don't have enough staff to get the rooms ready do not allow late checkouts.
The manager finally came out and spoke to us, we were given a very nice room and a complimentary dinner for two at the hotels restaurant which was appreciated.
I rated the service as a 3, if not for the managers intervention it would have been a 1.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Linda0863,
Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. It was indeed very unfortunate that your room was not ready - rest assured that the circumstances last week we very unusual and you are right, this can not be your worry as our guest.
Therefore I am very glad that you had, after a bumpy start, a nice remainder of your stay.
See you next time in Zurich - and your room will be ready on time. Promised.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    477
    121
    23
    18
See reviews for
117
501
155
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

An easy walk from the main train station. the staff was efficient and friendly though they refused to exchange euros for me even though there was a current exchange rate sign at the check in desk. I mean, why put up a sign then refuse to help you?? the single room I had was pretty tiny even by european standards but it had everything I needed, and didn't need, as well as a very comfortable bed. the location was excellent for walking around the city with a tram going right in front of the hotel if you didn't care to walk. I realize that Zurich is a very expensive city but I think the room was way overpriced as was the buffet breakfast of over $30usd.

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear perkins952 ,
Thanks for your comments regarding the exchange rate signage: our guests may settle their bills in different currencies, but we are not allowed to exchange foreign currency at the Front Desk. Unfortunately we missed to inform you about this during your stay, sorry for the inconvenience.
We have rooms in several caterories and sizes and I am happy that your expectations were met.
Our grand breakfast buffet consists of a large variety of high quality products presented in an unique location. Alternitavely we offer a served express breakfast for 16.00 CHF - products most certainly in the same quality.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Zurich.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are new to Zurich, stay here as its very handy to the main station(shops underneath and COOP supermarket opposite) (go out back exit). It was a bit pricey but I was there during a convention time and it is Switzerland after all. I m a Swiss regular and this hotel has all the regular Swiss effficiency and style. Reception area is large but cosy and I never saw any waiting during my stay (it was full). They have a quirkey homestyle free apple juice dispenser by the lift which is appreciated. I upgraded to a superior room which was huge stylish and swiss themed. Free WI-FI worked very well. Nexpresso coffee machine and comp toblerone great. TV big and many ENG lang programs. Clean and quiet room . I appreciatted the 2 welcome drinks as an Accor silver member(yes Ive been given 1 by some accor hotels(WIEN JOSEFHOF) even when room is booked for 2 people. Lounge , Breakfast and bar area comfortable and spacey. Staff helpful and efficient.. We were very impressed. OH BTW nice walk down by the river in front of hotel and strange to see the change from the Bad old needle park days..If you are a tourist go to Sprungli on the Bahanhofstr. for chocolates and to eat Swiss food try Zeughauskeller where you will also see Wilhelm Tells crossbow

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EskoRe, Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Kawa47-sama,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am more than happy to share your excellent review with my team!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Esko Rebstock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight in Zurich in the Continental as part of our journey by train from London to Vienna. It is a very convenient walk from the station to the hotel and back next morning. The staff are very helpful.

We spent the afternoon walking around old town Zurich and down to the lake and enjoyed our brief stay in Zurich in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a quick stroll from the main station (Zurich HB). Our first time in Zurich and my wife and 5 yrs old daughter loved the walk from station to hotel. Plenty of eateries nearby. Rooms were nice, clean, comfortable bed, good closet space, stocked up essentials and mini bar and decent sized. Helpful English speaking Reception staff, receptive to feedback and willing to go out of their way in making your stay comfortable. There was a slight delay in check-in and we're offered free drinks in their bar which was nice, not that we had time for it :). Morning breakfast was good with plenty of options, and they were quick in accommodating my daughters need. We loved the morning walk to the Zurcih HB right after breakfast, anything closer and you wouldn't enjoy; anything farther and you'ld use tram in which case a missed opportunity to enjoy a morning walk in awesome Zurich weather. In all probability, would book there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the M Gallery for 4 nights. We had a King Superior room. The room was large wit ha comfortable bed and nice sitting area. There were a few good TV channels in English (BBC's ITV's CNBC etc...) The bathroom could be a little bigger in compared to the size of the room. Really only one person can use bathroom at a time. This would not really be a problem if they had a desk area with a mirror so one person could use as a vanity while the other is showering. They gave it a feel of a Swiss chalet on the inside, and in the rooms, but the hotel is very modern looking from the street. This is not a big deal at all, just a little quirky. There is not much on the street for dining and entertainment, but the tram is right there to take you here you need to go.
The breakfast was done well, and the food was good and fresh. The service was attentive and the staff very friendly.

The location is ideal. It is not in the heart of the old district, but there is a tram right in front of the hotel that can get you there in minutes. It is also walking distance to the train station - although a hill from train station, so if you are just arriving with your luggage, take the tram.

Overall, it was a nice stay and really no major complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#34 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Continental Zurich invites you to experience the Swiss style of living in downtown Zurich. Ideally located, 5 min. from the main station, the shopping district Bahnhofstrasse and a 15 min. drive from Zurich Airport. The unique combination of Swiss chalet-inspired décor with modern architecture offers contrast and balance typical of the city itself. The hotel embodies that which is expected of Swiss hospitality…understated elegance, comfort and well-being. A charming and elegant retreat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.